We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo to your Saves list
Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   S. Croce 2063, 30135 Venice, Italy (San Polo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

If you want a reasonably priced, excellently-located, friendly, comfortable, clean hotel in the centre of Venice, though away from the crowds of San Marco and the Rialto, you really MUST book this hotel. I am not exaggerating when I say that this place really does live up to the positive reviews it has received on this site - it is an absolute godsend!

I have stayed in Venice before and I know that price and quality usually don't go together - in the case of Il Ponte Mocenigo, however, you get MORE than you pay for. The hotel owners are EXTREMELY friendly and helpful, speak excellent English, appreciate and anticipate what visitors to Venice may need (help with finding places, providing guide books, an umbrella, wellies for the frequent acqua alta conditions, maps, advice on where to eat, what to do, what parts to visit, general local knowledge etc.) and make your stay as comfortable as possible. This was our experience anyway and we weren't in the slightest bit disappointed.

One complaint I have read on here about Il Ponte Mocenigo is the extent of the breakfast they offer. All I can say is that it is perfectly adequate for Italy and especially for Venice. They offered exactly what you would normally expect in Italy, or indeed in most southern European countries. In any case, for the price, it was fine.

The hotel is a little tricky to find at first, though once you get your bearings, you will find it easily. It is no more than a few minutes' walk from the San Stae vaporetto stop, which is conveniently on the vaporetto route number 1 which plies the Grand Canal from Piazza San Marco to Piazzale Roma and back again. It's very useful to get to basically all the important places in central Venice.

The area around the hotel is more typically Venetian than around San Marco because it is not a tourist hotspot, meaning that the prices of bars, restaurants and shops are lower than in other places and the atmosphere is a bit more authentic than elsewhere. We would recommend a retaurant on Salizada San Stae (the road behind the hotel, where the vaporetto stop is) called Osteria Mocenigo (not associated with the hotel - the name Mocenigo is derived from the Palazzo Mocenigo, next to the hotel). The food was excellent and the prices were very reasonable - around 20-30 euros per head including a bottle of house red, which was fine. You can get cheaper, but beware of the quality at many places.

I really have nothing negative to say about the hotel myself, it was wonderful. The bed was comfortable, the rooms were warm, they had satellite TV (not that you will spend much time in the room anyway, there is too much to see in Venice!), the rooms were fully and newly renovated with modern bathrooms as well. What more can you ask for?

So, all I can say is go ahead and book and have a great time in Venice!!

  • Liked — location, comfort, friendliness, price
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,743
    281
    34
    5
    3
See reviews for
348
1,286
54
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keene, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

What a great place. The location was great - within walking distance of everything (although what place in Venice isn't). The owners were very nice, the breakfast in the courtyard was heavenly. Our room was nice and incredibly clean. The AC was wonderful. We would totally stay here again if back in Venice. Two big thumbs up!!!

  • Liked — Wonderful Hospitality! Clean and spacious rooms.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2009

Stayed here from 3-5 Feb 2009 for 2 nights with my girlfriend. Based on the reviews and the hotel's website, we were expecting a nice and cosy place, probably a 3-star B&B type for EUR95 a night. Firstly, the location is unbeatable. Extremely easy to find once you get off at the San Stae stop and there are 2 entrances. It's also very central to the attractions etc. but Venice isn't very large in the first place so. Walter and Sandro and all their staff are very friendly and you do feel welcomed immediately. We stayed in the new building on the 2nd floor, and apart from the climb with the heavy suitacases, it was a lovely room with ample space. No view to speak of but that wasn't a problem. Free wireless service and breakfast included. The breakfast spread wasn't huge but whatever there was, it was excellent and there's always a ready smile from the staff. I would highly recommend anyone to stay here and I'll not hesitate to be back the next time I'm in Venice. This should be a 5-star B&B.

  • Liked — The friendly staff and great central/easy to get to location.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2009

We stayed at Hotel Al Ponte Mocengio for three nights in their renovated annex and enjoyed our time there.

Good points:
1. Very friendly staff, particularly Carlito who was on at night and was incredibly helpful and made us feel right at home and also the ladies who served breakfast in the morning.
2. Our room was nice and big for the price, with very traditional Venetian decoration.
3. We appreciated little details like the stacks of guidebooks and also the umbrellas by the door that were left out for guests to use - we needed the umbrella while we were there.
4. The hotel is located in a quieter area but the main attractions are still walkable, which would probably be good during the busy tourist season. It was also easy to get to from the airport.

Bad points:
1. Bed were very, very hard. I like firm beds but this one was just too hard for me. I had to shift a number of times in the night as my sides would get sore. My husband said he slept fine.
2. Limited hot water. On our first day the hot water ran out after I had a bath so that my husband had to wait to have a shower and it was still just warm.
3. The breakfast is mediocre. They could make a bit more of an effort with it. The warm croissants were nice but the cheese is of the processed triangle kind and the rolls the cheapy white kind. To be honest though it did keep us going for the morning.
4. No Turkish bath. This was broken while we were there and the owner admitted that it had been like that for a while and they didn't know how to fix it. It's a pity as we were looking forward to it (we love saunas), especially after reading about it on their website. In fact it was one of our main reasons for choosing the hotel.

Restaurant tips:
Go to Pizzeria Ae Oche, it's close to the hotel and has the best pizza we've ever had (and we've eaten our share of pizza!). It was also very reasonably priced. There was a nice buzzy feel to the place.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, good location and very clean room
  • Disliked — Mediocre breakfast, turkist bath broken and hard bed
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

We had a wonderful week in Venice staying at this hotel just after it opened. I should have put a review on here much earlier as Walter and Sandor deserve it.

The rooms are beautiful, the location perfect if you want to be close to everything without the noise.

Venice is one of those places that you have to see before you die... and there isnt a better place to stay unless you are a millionaire!

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

This hotel is located away from the tourist traps and will really make you feel like a local. The surrounding campo's have some great restaurants. the rooms are small but very well kept. Breakfast was good and the patio where it's served is even better. I would stay here again no doubt!!

  • Liked — I couldn't ask for a better location
  • Disliked — nothing!!!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American in Holland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

Our family of four (two adults, two young children) stayed here in August 2009. We had a wonderful room with a separate room for the children. Lovely furnishings and wonderful air conditioning. The staff went above and beyond duty -- on the last day of our stay, I accidentally lost an earring in the bathroom sink. It lacked monetary value, but had great sentimental value and I sheepishly asked the manager if he could possibly summon a plumber on a Sunday before we checked out (and I offered to pay for it). He told me that he'd have a look himself and even though it was breakfast time, with guests coming in for the meal, he found an assistant to cover the desk and within 15-20 minutes, my earring was retrieved. I couldn't believe his kindness.

There were several guidebooks in the stairwell outside our room and we really enjoyed borrowing them during our stay as well. Breakfasts in their tranquil outdoor courtyard were delicious.

While this hotel would make for a great romantic get-away, we felt equally welcome with a 6 and 3 year old. We had an unforgettably magical time.

  • Liked — incredible rooms and extremely helpful staff
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo

Address: S. Croce 2063, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Venice
#9 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#12 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Mocenigo Venice
Al Ponte Mocenigo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.