We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo to your Saves list
Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   S. Croce 2063, 30135 Venice, Italy (San Polo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

we, a family of three, stayed in the new addition of the hotel, the room was charming, the building has been recently renovated, the room has high ceiling, classic furniture, nicely done bathroom, also the room has a private connecting room for my son with nice balcony, the neighborhood is quite and charming, and very convenient access to the vaporetto and grand canal, 10 minute walk to Rialto bridge and 20 minute walk to St. Marc Piazza, you can also walk to the main train station but not recommended at night it is hard to see the street signs. hotel offered good breakfast with freshly baked croissant and bread, very friendly staff, the only drawback is that it doesn't have an elevator, our room was on the second floor and the hotel attendant helped bring our luggage to our room, it was very enjoyable stay, highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmezens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My wife and I had three nights and enjoyed every minute of it. The water taxi from the airport was a great start, and dropped us right at the door of the hotel on the canal. Our room was in the main hotel, big high ceilings with old wooden beams and really comfortable. All of the staff are helpful and friendly, especially the breakfast crew who can't do enough for you. The wifi isn't the most reliable, but that allowed us to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet all the more. Thank you so much Valter and Sandro!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed 4 nights and had a very good time staying in the annex. A good location and easy walking to all sights despite what other previous visitors have said. Good breakfast and very friendly staff.

Unfortunately I has having to do some work and the few Wi-Fi was not always reliable and took ages to sign into.

The room was very clean and cleaned daily. Would stay again. Would have been 5 stars if not for the internet.... Shame

Room Tip: Catch a Vaperetto to S.Stae when trying to find the hotel for the first time... You will soon find y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights. After a very long flight from Australia, we arrived at the hotel by water taxi - what a great experience and definitely worth the money.
The staff at the hotel were very helpful and no request was too hard.
We stayed in a large room in the annex which was perfect for our family.
The room was very quiet and we slept with the windows open each night.
The hotel is pefectly located - easy to access all the tourist sites, but in a very quaint and quiet area, surrounded by great restaurants and small shops.
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The annex was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Work477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This was our third visit to Al Ponte Mocenigo. We loved it the first time and even more each time since. The hotel itself is comfortable and beautifully decorated, with outstanding service. We especially enjoyed the breakfast courtyard, very old and charming, its walls decorated with sculptures and ancient architectural fragments. And the cost is very reasonable.
We love the location of the hotel, only 50 meters from the S. Stae vaporetto stop and close to the old sestiere of S. Croce and S. Polo. The beautiful Ponte Megio is just around the corner and lovely Campo S. Giacomo is three blocks away. This is the real Venice, the one the guidebooks say doesn't exist, with full-time residents living their daily lives and dancing in the Campo on summer nights.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StanleyPalombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Staff - excellent and friendly.
Hotel - ok
Location - felt uncomfortable walking around the area later in the evening when dark
Room - big, room sloped but was ok
Breakfast - naff
Was disappointed a bit following the rave reviews on here. Went to Venice for my 40th and this just didn't make me go wow. Preferred where I have stayed before in Venice.
Would I stay here again - no

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Millie_Molly_Mandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Having heard horror stories of how Venice is way overpriced, was extremely surprised to find such a reasonably priced beautiful hotel. Can totally see why its rated so high on TA.

We traveled as a couple and just finished a 12 day med cruise with Celebrity. Landing at the cruise port, walk to the People Mover (basically a train) which will take you to the bus station for only 1.5 Euro. If you take the water taxi it costs something like 12 Euro. Once you arrive at the bus station its about a 2 min walk to where all the water taxis are, I believe you take #1 and the hotel is located at S. Stae, 3-4 stops away. The backdoor of the hotel is literally 1 min away from where you get off the taxi, located in a very narrow alley, you will have to look for the sign but its easy to spot.

The hotel itself is small, about 6-7 rooms. We stayed in the smallest room on the ground floor (there are no elevators by the way). And to be honest it was really small! But being in Venice we didn't plan on spending too much time in the room. It was located behind the front desk, and we had no problems with any noise. The bathroom was big and new, no problems there. TV with lots of channels but most in Italian.

All the hotel staff were very friendly. One of them kept apologizing to us regarding the room size, but its not a problem as we booked it for it being about 50 Euros cheaper than the other rooms.

Breakfast is the real highlight of the hotel. Its a buffet platter and you can eat in the charming courtyard. Out of all the similarly priced hotels throughout Europe we've stayed at, this one had the best breakfast. Fresh fruits, pastries, cheese, cereal and cold cuts. There were even 2 ladies there to make and serve you cafe quality coffees and you can get refills. The hotel seems to really cater to the American customer. I would put the value of that breakfast at about 12 Euros.

As other have said, ask the staff for restaurant recommendations. Our favorite was Restaurant Rialto Nuovo, which is right by the Rialto Bridge. They did set meals for 15 Euros with no service charge and even threw in 2 glasses of white wine. There was more than enough food in the package. We ended up having 2 meals there in 3 nights.

Some words on the location of the hotel. 10 minute walk to Rialto Bridge, another 10 minutes to St. Marks Square. 2 stops by water taxi to the train station.

So to sum it up, I'd probably not bother looking for other hotels the next time in Venice. Good price point, great breakfast, charming. Won't get ripped off for staying here, unlike everything else in Venice :)

Oh and Free Wifi that actually works.

Room Tip: Small room on the G/F is cheapest, but its just a bed and a bathroom, a nice bathroom though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank superwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 2,911 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#1 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 1,296 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal Grande
Hotel Canal Grande
#10 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#47 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,461 reviews
Cannaregio
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
#2 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 1,023 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#13 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo

Address: S. Croce 2063, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Venice
#8 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#16 Business Hotel in Venice
#26 Best Value Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Mocenigo Venice
Al Ponte Mocenigo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing