We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo to your Saves list
Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   S. Croce 2063, 30135 Venice, Italy (San Polo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 382 Hotels in Venice
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Simply Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My wife and I had three nights and enjoyed every minute of it. The water taxi from the airport was a great start, and dropped us right at the door of the hotel on the canal. Our room was in the main hotel, big high ceilings with old wooden beams and really comfortable. All of the staff are helpful and friendly, especially the breakfast crew who can't do enough for you. The wifi isn't the most reliable, but that allowed us to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet all the more. Thank you so much Valter and Sandro!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,635
    260
    30
    5
    2
See reviews for
334
1,196
47
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed 4 nights and had a very good time staying in the annex. A good location and easy walking to all sights despite what other previous visitors have said. Good breakfast and very friendly staff.

Unfortunately I has having to do some work and the few Wi-Fi was not always reliable and took ages to sign into.

The room was very clean and cleaned daily. Would stay again. Would have been 5 stars if not for the internet.... Shame

Room Tip: Catch a Vaperetto to S.Stae when trying to find the hotel for the first time... You will soon find y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights. After a very long flight from Australia, we arrived at the hotel by water taxi - what a great experience and definitely worth the money.
The staff at the hotel were very helpful and no request was too hard.
We stayed in a large room in the annex which was perfect for our family.
The room was very quiet and we slept with the windows open each night.
The hotel is pefectly located - easy to access all the tourist sites, but in a very quaint and quiet area, surrounded by great restaurants and small shops.
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The annex was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This was our third visit to Al Ponte Mocenigo. We loved it the first time and even more each time since. The hotel itself is comfortable and beautifully decorated, with outstanding service. We especially enjoyed the breakfast courtyard, very old and charming, its walls decorated with sculptures and ancient architectural fragments. And the cost is very reasonable.
We love the location of the hotel, only 50 meters from the S. Stae vaporetto stop and close to the old sestiere of S. Croce and S. Polo. The beautiful Ponte Megio is just around the corner and lovely Campo S. Giacomo is three blocks away. This is the real Venice, the one the guidebooks say doesn't exist, with full-time residents living their daily lives and dancing in the Campo on summer nights.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Staff - excellent and friendly.
Hotel - ok
Location - felt uncomfortable walking around the area later in the evening when dark
Room - big, room sloped but was ok
Breakfast - naff
Was disappointed a bit following the rave reviews on here. Went to Venice for my 40th and this just didn't make me go wow. Preferred where I have stayed before in Venice.
Would I stay here again - no

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Having heard horror stories of how Venice is way overpriced, was extremely surprised to find such a reasonably priced beautiful hotel. Can totally see why its rated so high on TA.

We traveled as a couple and just finished a 12 day med cruise with Celebrity. Landing at the cruise port, walk to the People Mover (basically a train) which will take you to the bus station for only 1.5 Euro. If you take the water taxi it costs something like 12 Euro. Once you arrive at the bus station its about a 2 min walk to where all the water taxis are, I believe you take #1 and the hotel is located at S. Stae, 3-4 stops away. The backdoor of the hotel is literally 1 min away from where you get off the taxi, located in a very narrow alley, you will have to look for the sign but its easy to spot.

The hotel itself is small, about 6-7 rooms. We stayed in the smallest room on the ground floor (there are no elevators by the way). And to be honest it was really small! But being in Venice we didn't plan on spending too much time in the room. It was located behind the front desk, and we had no problems with any noise. The bathroom was big and new, no problems there. TV with lots of channels but most in Italian.

All the hotel staff were very friendly. One of them kept apologizing to us regarding the room size, but its not a problem as we booked it for it being about 50 Euros cheaper than the other rooms.

Breakfast is the real highlight of the hotel. Its a buffet platter and you can eat in the charming courtyard. Out of all the similarly priced hotels throughout Europe we've stayed at, this one had the best breakfast. Fresh fruits, pastries, cheese, cereal and cold cuts. There were even 2 ladies there to make and serve you cafe quality coffees and you can get refills. The hotel seems to really cater to the American customer. I would put the value of that breakfast at about 12 Euros.

As other have said, ask the staff for restaurant recommendations. Our favorite was Restaurant Rialto Nuovo, which is right by the Rialto Bridge. They did set meals for 15 Euros with no service charge and even threw in 2 glasses of white wine. There was more than enough food in the package. We ended up having 2 meals there in 3 nights.

Some words on the location of the hotel. 10 minute walk to Rialto Bridge, another 10 minutes to St. Marks Square. 2 stops by water taxi to the train station.

So to sum it up, I'd probably not bother looking for other hotels the next time in Venice. Good price point, great breakfast, charming. Won't get ripped off for staying here, unlike everything else in Venice :)

Oh and Free Wifi that actually works.

Room Tip: Small room on the G/F is cheapest, but its just a bed and a bathroom, a nice bathroom though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The previous reviews were great and totally accurate. This hotel fully lived up to our expectations. We were tired after our flights from Canada and booked a water taxi to take us directly from the airport to the water-door of the hotel. What a great way to arrive and fully worth it. The hotel is in a perfect location. Away from the crowds of Rialto and the square, but they were easy to get to on foot. We didn't bother taking the Vaporettos. They are too crowded and walking was easy for most of the sights in Venice. Some amazing local restaurants that were recommended by the hotel were less expensive that those around the tourist areas and served excellent local food. We even met people who were staying near St. Mark's square who were travelling to our area to get to eat in the restaurants around the hotel.

The hotel owners made us feel very welcome. The breakfasts were great, served in the hotel courtyard. The rooms and beds were totally fine. We thought that the rooms were a bit small when we arrived, but they were larger than some of the rooms that we stayed in later in the trip, so they were entirely adequate.

I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and would certainly stay here again if I were to return to Venice. Thanks again Walter and Sandro.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo

Address: S. Croce 2063, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Venice
#8 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#26 Business Hotel in Venice
#36 Best Value Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Mocenigo Venice
Al Ponte Mocenigo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.