We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel has everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo to your Saves list
Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   S. Croce 2063, 30135 Venice, Italy (San Polo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“This hotel has everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We were very pleased with our accommodation here. Like other reviewers, I can't understand why the hotel is just two star - it felt more like four star. We had a room in the newly refurbished annexe (just a minute away from the main building, over a small bridge) and it was larger than our living room at home. Really spacious rooms, beautifully decorated and reminiscent of the grand house it must once have been. The bathroom was excellent, our room was spacious and comfortable (had a huge sofa - perfect for relaxing after a day spent pounding the pavements of Venice) and Walter and Sandro and their staff were helpful and friendly (they even recommended restaurants for us). Breakfast could be taken indoors or in a lovely little garden, with fresh coffee made to order. It's true that Italian breakfasts tend to be sweet, but there were also hardboiled eggs and little triangles of Primula-type cheese spread. My husband liked the freshly baked apricot croissants and I liked the little bread rolls. so there was no fighting!

We loved the location of the hotel - just a few minutes' walk from the St Stae vaporetto stop (such an easy commute from the airport on the alilaguna), and away from the hordes of tourists, but within easy striking distance of Rialto and San Marco. Several really good restaurants locally with not a tourist menu in sight. We'd certainly stay again.

Room Tip: We had room 44 in the annexe and it was huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,670
    266
    30
    5
    3
See reviews for
339
1,225
48
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My husband and I last stayed in Venice 12 years ago - not that far from St Mark's in a tiny room during a very hot August - then, not sufficiently impressed to return. We did return this April with our two sons (5 and 9) and had the most fantastic time - not least due to our stay at the Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo (and we stayed in the annexe). The location worked brilliantly - easy access on foot to all major sites and boat stops for the islands and the chance to enjoy meals in the evenings outside the more crowded centre. Every member of staff we encountered could not have been more polite or helpful - most particularly the morning breakfast staff. We found the hotel breakfasts to be amongst the best we have found in continental hotels - all 4 of our differing tastes catered for. We would not hesitate to either recommend the hotel to others or return ourselves.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We were very much looking forward to staying here given the stellar reviews. It was close to the train station (4 stops & very short walk by water bus) located in a very quiet private area & close to a Piazza popular with local families. It has water taxi to the door that we did for fun. However it is a long hike to San Marco but we enjoyed being away from the 'madding crowd'. We found a very cool greeting from one owner & found the other owner to be rude, abrupt & very unhelpful, we think maybe the fact that both of our 2 children got very sick during our stay here was an inconvenience to them. However the dining staff were delightful & very helpful. Our room no. 45 was huge & clean with a beautiful bathroom but with 4 of us the meagre,if delightfully 'Italian' furnishings were inadequate. Our views were of a concrete wall & of a quaint courtyard but the smell of sewerage/ pigeons coming into our bathroom meant that opening the courtyard window wasn't an option. We found the constant doors, steps & buzzers coming & going between the 2 buildings to be irritating & given that with sick children one of us always had to be in the room it would have been nice to have a second room key. We had breakfasts included that were the most disappointing of all our Italian accommodations, a lot of sickly sweet cakes & tarts, jam filled croissants ( I was craving a plain one) hard bread rolls( seems to be an Italian thing), the yogurts were fine, there were good bananas but a very unappetizing fruit salad that never seemed to be replenished & lots of cheap, nasty packaged items. The courtyard is very cute but mostly unusable during our stay due to rain. The worst thing was the bizarre 'elevator' like atmosphere in the dining dining room every morning. Like previously stated the wait staff were delightful, chatty & friendly but in this confined atmosphere all the guests acted like no other guests were there & everyone whispered! We did engage a couple of families in very brief conversation but it was like no one could wait to scuttle out of there, ourselves included. We've never experienced anything quite like it before. Venice is incredibly unique & very closely built, we loved it but more than a few days would be claustrophobic. Even locals confirmed that summer is a nightmare of crowds & very smelly. We were there for Autumn, it was crowded in the more touristy areas & the canals a little 'fishy' as you'd expect, but the light showers brought out the overwhelming smell of dog urine. There are dogs Everywhere! Thank god the sun came out again & it became lovely once more! We suspect that Al Ponte Mocenigo is about as good as it gets in Venice but we won't be raving about it. The most wonderful part of our stay was the wonderful, caring maid May~a huge thanks to her.

Room Tip: There are a lot of stairs & no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Awesome place - truly deserving of it's top spot on trip advisor. Beautiful Venetian styled rooms, spacious, clean and excellent almond croissants for breakfast. 10 mins leisurely walk to Rialto or by water bus (stop next door). Amazing local restaurants.

The water bus from the airport stops right next to the hotel which was great.

Loved it from start to end. Would definitely recommend for first timers to Venice to enjoy a highly authentic experience..

Enjoy !

Room Tip: All rooms are just as good !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We really enjoyed this hotel. It is just three stops down from the train station on the water bus. Btw, get a 24 hour pass for the water bus and take route 1 to get a great view of the city. Breakfast here was really good. All the staff a very kind. This hotel has a beautiful courtyard to either have breakfast in or have a glass of wine at night. Venice is an over the top dreamlike experience and this quaint affordable hotel delivers. Bed was comfortable and we had plenty of hot water unlike some other hotels we stayed at in Italy. I highly would recommend this hotel to my friends.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel ,clean,great owners and staff,well deserved rating, breakfast excellent highly recommend,will return, john and Penelope king April 14 ,nice and close to centre ,within easy walk, transport from airport public boat stops 75 mtrs from entrance

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This hotel deserves a higher rating than a 2 star. Do not be put off by the star rating. The rooms are great and the beds so comfortable.The location excellent and all members of the team were just fantastic. This lovely hotel welcomes you on every level. The ladies at breakfast are so friendly and full of positive energy that they set you up in a great mood for the day. Walter and Sandro could not have been more helpful. Our friends who travelled with us have already rebooked for October.
We will be back without a doubt.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 which overlooked the small canal beside the hotel and it was great. Other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo

Address: S. Croce 2063, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Venice
#8 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#16 Business Hotel in Venice
#37 Best Value Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Mocenigo Venice
Al Ponte Mocenigo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.