We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo to your Saves list
Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   S. Croce 2063, 30135 Venice, Italy (San Polo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Penarth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Ideally located near a vaporetto stop in the quiet, respectable neighbourhood of San Croce, this little gem was everything we were looking for in a first trip to Venice. Room and breakfast superb and the staff were uniformly wonderful, entertaining and helpful. Can't wait to go back and would unhesitatingly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,742
    281
    34
    5
    3
See reviews for
348
1,285
54
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle-under-lyme
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I found this little gem of a hotel, through Tripadvisor and I have to say its fantastic. Ok so it has no in room tea & coffee making facilities but we never had a problem sitting down near reception and getting a cup of tea or a latte. Walter is very accommodating , as are all the staff. We arrived in Venice on Sunday 29th December for our honeymoon, unfortunately our case didn't Walter charged our phones for us and gave us directions to the COOP supermarket, even ringing to check opening times of the supermarket for us before hand.

The room was lovely and clean and the bathroom was great with a big tub and a powerful shower. There is free WiFi throughout the hotel and a computer for guest use, the breakfast is nice with boiled eggs, bread rolls various cereals and jams etc. All very pleasant. The courtyard area outside is very pretty, but due to it being December we didn't eat or drink outside.

The location is a big plus for the hotel. It is situated a stones throw from San Stae vaparetto stop, which is also a night stop if you're a night owl you will have no problem getting back late. Its location means you don't have to cross any bridges with your luggage (if it arrives) and it means you won't need to be walking round clutching a street map trying to find your hotel.

We used the water taxi which cost us 27 euros each return and took about 40 mins from the airport. We would use the hotel again if we returned to Venice. We loved all the christmas lights that lit up the myriad of streets that make up Venice and the tree in the square was really nice.

Walter did give us various transfer options when we booked which we found very informative and made planning our arrival from the airport easier. If you book this hotel I guarantee you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Found this delightful place on Trip Advisor and having spoken to Walter - the charming proprietor several times on the phone - always unfailingly polite and charming. His recommendations for dinner were first class.
Any small problem was dealt with immediately. The rooms were clean and comfortable and quiet and the bathrooms, though small, were spotless and modern with fierce hot showers.
Breakfast was more than adequate with plenty of delicious coffee!
A great find if you want a reasonably priced stay in Venice.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I made an unexpected stop in Venice while traveling from Vienna to Rome. We randomly found this hotel through TripAdvisor and it was so wonderful - we extended our stay and delayed Rome! The private "hidden" entrance, courteous staff, delicious breakfast, and location- wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo in July 2013 as we spent a week in Venice for our 10th anniversary. What a find... The rooms are beautiful, the bathrooms are modern and clean, the breakfast is delicious (the little outdoor patio is particularly romantic), the location is ideal, but, best of all are the staff! Walter was a true gentleman, always willing to help us find the right restaurants, making reservation calls for us, always keen for us to discover places and shops out of the touristic clichés. Once more, many thanks Walter for your outstanding hospitality. We would definitely go back there without thinking. And, by the way, we got upgraded twice and the bill was rounded down... Ottimo!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

My husband and I had another fabulous stay at Al Ponte Mocenigo! The owners, Walter and Sandro are gracious, hospitable and knowledgable as well as friendly! They are always willing to lend a helping hand whether that be with restaurant reservations or with setting up tours to Murano and Burano. The evening managers are great and as for the staff that help with preparing and setting up breakfast there is one word that comes to mind, spectacular! Since we come to Venice at least once a year there is no other place we old rather stay!

Room Tip: The hotel annex rooms are spacious and beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed here in August 2013 in the Annexe, room was beautiful and breakfast was superb. Staff very friendly. Very close to water taxi. I would class this hotel as 5 star. Would definitely stay here again if we ever returned to Venice and would highly recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo

Address: S. Croce 2063, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Venice
#9 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#12 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Mocenigo Venice
Al Ponte Mocenigo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.