We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   S. Croce 2063, 30135 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 381 hotels in Venice
Berry, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“An Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

What a find! We arrived via a lane just wide enough for one person with a case: perfecto! It was just they way you should arrive, almost secretly. This small hotel oozes charm, peace and quiet. The hideous frenzy around the Rialto is not for us, how delightful it is after pushing through the throngs to return here, have tea in the courtyard garden and then retire for a much needed snooze. There are a few restaurants close by, you will need help from the owner and a map, it's a maze of lanes outside the hotel. I think the bathroom is wonderful, because it has a BATH: how I love a bath! The green and cream marble is a bonus. Breakfast: more than adequate, I feel the size of a house from travelling and eating constantly, there's no need for bacon and eggs, enjoy a croissant in the charming garden and count your blessings that you are lucky enough to be here in Venice in this lovely hotel. You are just a stones throw from the vaporetto. If you arrive in Venice by train you'll be best off going to the ticket office on the right as you leave the station (dreadful place) and take the vaporetto to San Stae, third stop, 7 Euros each. Enjoy your holiday!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,813 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,541
    240
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
305
1118
45
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here July 2013 and can't really fault the hotel. It is walkable to the train station with cases (10 mins) or just near vaparetto stop; walk to st mark's square about 15 to 20 minutes. No view over grand canal - or indeed over anything - but price reflects this - this as a reasonable hotel for Venice. Room in the main hotel was nice, with some antique furniture to add to the Venice feel. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast is standard European continental - cereal, some nice croissants, fruit etc - but certainly better than I have had in many other hotels. Overall nice hotel - would recommend for a trip to Venice, but if this is your honeymoon and you want romance and views probably not for you (but the room rate should also tell you that).

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Decided to stay there after having read the tripadvisor reviews.
Our room was small and very old fashioned. It looked clean and offered free wifi. We were a bit disappointed as we expected something a bit more special.
The philippines girls which made breakfast were nice and chatty. The breakfast offered crispy bread and average coffee, other from that many sweets and packaged things. Also they didnt offer us any eggs or cold meat or cheese.
The location is about 5 minutes walk from the famous rialto bridge but other from that there wasn't alot happening in that area. We decided to only stay for one night and spent the second night in another hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo is a beautiful Boutique hotel which is affordable, spacious and convenient. Everything in Venice is expensive especially near The Grand Canal. This hotel has restaurants and gelaterias near by. If you stay here and dine near by, it will be more affordable. You won't be able to take in the Grand Canal View, but you can enjoy the view on your Vaporetta ride.

The hotel has a great courtyard for breakfast and enjoying some well earned relaxation after a day of touring.

There were 4 of us and we rented a 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath apartment with a sitting area. The room was lovely and there was a speaker box which you must use to gain access into the housing quarters.

Bottom line, I would stay here again. Nice staff and an easy location.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and loved it. The hotel is in a great location, about 10 minutes walk from the Rialto bridge and 15/20 minute walk from St Marks Square. The layout of the hotel meant that we were just off the main hotel in a separate building. The room was immaculate. Breakfast is served in the main building and consists of all the usual European continental fare. The staff were always friendly and smiling and provided lots of useful information of where to go and what to do.
If arriving by car - park at the San Giuliano lots outside of central Venice and take a Vaporetto into Venice.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We booked the junior suite for 3 days and it was perfect for our needs. the accommodation is well positioned close to everything but far enough away so you don't have the tourist noise and chaos once you've finished sightseeing for the day. There are excellent restaurants nearby and the room is extremely spacious and the bed very comfortable. the staff are obviously happy and it makes for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights last week and what a fantastic place! Rooms were immaculate- we stayed 3 nights in the new part round the corner and 1 night in the main part of the hotel both well decorated and comfortable, air con in the room worked well, rooms and bathrooms were spacious and well decorated. The service was great very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was perfect- hot croissants and bread for each table and the usual fruit salad/yogurts/cereal. Coffee latte was tasty too. Even left my mobile in the room and was handed in to reception by the maid after we had moved rooms. Very close to the Vaperetto stop 1 minute walk so we didn't have to pull our luggage far- no lift in either hotels but only 1 flight of stairs so not a problem. I would highly recommend this hotel as the service is personable from check in to breakfast and check out. Lots of help on transport, where to visit and getting around Venice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo

Also Known As:
Al Ponte Mocenigo Venice
Al Ponte Mocenigo Hotel
Address: S. Croce 2063, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Venice
#15 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#17 Business Hotel in Venice
#32 Best Value Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.