We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent. The review "Venice Perfection" got it right.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo to your Saves list
Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   S. Croce 2063, 30135 Venice, Italy (San Polo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 382 Hotels in Venice
NYC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent. The review "Venice Perfection" got it right.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Heidi JoBalikpapan's review was right on the money. We also stayed in the annex, in a delightful room on the 1st floor (2nd floor for us USA folks). This was a great place to stay, beautifully designed and maintained, easy to get to, close enough to the big attractions, yet quiet enough to get a little peace from the bustling crowd. They were even nice enough give us a break when we were a day late checking in due to last minute changes in our schedule which were out of our control. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,635
    260
    30
    5
    2
See reviews for
334
1,196
47
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent 5 days in Al Ponte Mocenigo Hotel. Everything was just perfect. That was exactly what we were looking for in Venice: not big, quiet, clean and very familiar place with nice atmosphere just about 50 meters from St. Stae vaporetto stop. Also not far to St. Marco Square and very near to wegetables and seafood market, where you can buy even fresh oysters. Great breakfasts with amazing, warm croisants in a little, sweet kitchen. Very friendly stuff will help you with everything. If you're looking for romantic, small place to enjoy Venice - don't be afraid of the only 2 stars! Al Ponte Mocenigo deserves for 5!

Room Tip: Chose the room no 46 in the newly restored, little anex - just a few meters from the main entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balikpapan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My family stayed for three nights in one of the annex suite rooms. We were warmly greeted by the kind man at the desk and brought to our very large a spacious rooms. The rooms were opulent, sparkling clean and well appointed. The breakfasts were good and the kind and funny women serving were so good to our children. It is right next to a water taxi stop so when we felt like taking a break from walking we could easily take the vaporetto. We bought a 72 hour pass and it worked out very well. We have stayed in some pretty marginal places in Venice over the years but I can easily say I will only stay here form now on. The hotel and all the people working at the hotel are gems.

Room Tip: The annex large suite rooms were excellent for families with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

After reading reviews in trip advisor I booked this hotel for my husband's birthday. It was a perfect choice for us. I was a little worried about finding the place but to be honest it was no problem. We bought tickets for the bus and water taxi at the airport and used the map collected there to help us work out which water taxi we needed. I almost hired a private taxi but glad that I didn't as the public transport was fine.
Our hotel room was lovely, the decor and furniture were perfect, maybe a strange thing to say but it made you did feel like you were in Venice! We overlooked the small canal too which was just what we wanted. Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice and nice to have fresh fruit too. All staff were cheerful, friendly and helpful.
We stayed in November during the floods, however this just added to the whole adventure! The hotel supplied wellies and a brolly and it is these small touches that make the hotel an ideal place to stay. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
293 reviews 293 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We visited in December and arrive a tad late. Our first night we were in room 2. To the right of the front desk. I was a tad disappointed to be so close to the front desk. However, we didn't hear any noise. The room was nice. Had logs in the ceiling was extremely clean. The bathroom was spotless. When the staffed showed us the room they said we could change rooms the next night. Which we didn't really want to do. I hate packing and unpacking but we kept it as an option as we were worried about noise. After the first night we were fine staying where we were. We didn't want to pack again. The staff said we should see the other room. As soon as we saw it we knew it would be worth the effort to back. It was in the annex. I was room 44. Oh my how I love this room. Bathroom had same title as the room 2 but had a bath tub. The room was much larger and had higher ceilings. The room had a couch. I was in love with this room. It probably was the largest we had on our trip to Italy. The only one that had a tub. Also had a heated towel rack. The mini bar is a nice touch. The breakfast is staffed by women who ask you what type of coffee you want and bring you bread. It has other pastries, fruit, cereal, etc. The staff was friendly and willing to answer questions. Close to the water bus stop which is a plus when lugging luggage. Only a two star but very nice. We would stay here again if back in the area. Especially if we could have room 44 again. Glad we found this place and were able to experience it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

When researching for our holiday, many comments about the hotels in Venice centred around the fact the rooms are small and poorly apointed
- We booked around 10months in advance purely on the trip advisor reviews and the pictures
- We stayed over NYE for three nights. We left this morning and i am so pleased that I am getting right onto trip advisor to share my experience.
The room was the "cheaper" style, but still roomy and well kept, and importantly pretty to behold (had a safe, bar fridge and included wifi conection), the bathroom was a good size, both my husband and I could navigate in the morning without getting tangled which as so far on our 5 week european vacation been a rarity.
The breakfast was good, selection of cereals, cakes, fruit salad, yoghurt, sweet crosaint and bread/cheese/jams/nutella - coffee, juice, even hotchoc
- the staff were friendly and welcoming smiling and joking at breakfast - the desk clerks were always helpful with suggestions for places to eat things to see tips of getting around.
NYE we purchased two bottles of sparkling wine from the wine fridge in the kitchen area to have in our room before the celebrations - and on checking out we were so pleased to find that one was given to us as a gift. I can see why this place has been so highly regarded in the past
- oh and the location is convenient too and the directions on their web page are perfect - I had huuuge fears of being lost in Venice at night as we arrived at 8pm, but the directions served us perfectly from the airport to the hotel gate! and during our stay the vaporettos are easily accessed or just wander the streets - we continually surpirsed ourselves with the different walkways in which we would use very fun experience, the map is useful as a guide but a sense of direction is vital :)

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in December 2012 and was extremely impressed with every aspect of the hotel. We stayed in the huge Junior Suite with four posted bed and period styled furnishings that were warm and inviting. The hotel is close to all amenities, to a vaporetto station and directly accessible from a canal via water taxi. All staff and management were exceptionally friendly and helpful and offered us complimentary services. We would like to make special mention and thanks to Grace whose lovely singing, friendly service and warm nature created a beautiful ambience in the place that we will remember fondly for a long time.
We would recommend Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo without reservation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo

Address: S. Croce 2063, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Venice
#8 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#26 Business Hotel in Venice
#36 Best Value Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Mocenigo Venice
Al Ponte Mocenigo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.