We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Return Visit as Good as the First” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo to your Saves list
Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   S. Croce 2063, 30135 Venice, Italy (San Polo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 380 Hotels in Venice
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A Return Visit as Good as the First”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just got back from spending three nights at Al Ponte Mocenigo. Again I was struck by how good a value this hotel is. This was my second stay at the hotel. Both times we were in different annex rooms. While the shape and size of the rooms must vary, the two I've stayed in have been great. This time our room was huge and included a little kitchenette (a bonus that wasn't even mentioned on the room listing). Everything seems recently renovated and is a good mix of modern (flatscreen TV, big tub) and old-fashioned (Murano chandeliers, terrazzo, exposed beams, fabric wall covering). In addition to having a large, well heated, lovely looking room, I thought the front desk and breakfast area staff were very friendly and had their acts together. When I checked in they didn't rush over all the details, and made sure to set us up with the wireless information. The breakfast was a bit above that for similar-priced hotels I've stayed at.

If you are used to full blown fancy hotels, there are a few things you won't find here; elevators, American breakfast, pillow-top mattresses, lots of convertible outlets (though our room actually had one in the bathroom for razors). But if you don't expect that stuff, this hotel is comfortable, beautifully decorated, clean, well-staffed, and right by a vaporetto stop. It's not in Saint Mark's, but there's something nice about being in a quieter neighborhood. This hotel remains at the top of my list for affordable Venice hotels. If you see an opening for your dates, don't hesitate!

Room Tip: Both times I've stayed in great annex rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,623
    256
    30
    5
    2
See reviews for
334
1,184
45
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The management and staff deserve all the accolades and awards they have received as it is without doubt one of the very best hotels we have ever stayed in and fantastic value for money.
We were in room 10 and had a fantastic stay for our anniversary. The Junior Suite room was amazing with loads of room and a fabulous marble bathroom with jacuzzi bath.
The hotel is extremely clean and in a very quiet location but only 5 mins walk from Rialto and 10 mins from St Marks Square.
Breakfast was very good as well with a great fresh fruit and cereal selection and a different, warm, home-made strudel each morning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Previous reviews testify to why it is rated no.1 of 400+ hotels in Venice. I add my endorsement after enjoying their hospitality for 3 lovely nights in the hotel annex. Plans to expand are afoot after the building next to the annex was acquired this year. I sincerely hope that service and prices don't suffer due to its popularity. The location is great, an easy stroll to Ponte Riato, walking distance to San Marco and a mere 40m to San Stae vaporetta stop. You will also be offered Wellys if the acqua alta threatens. Terrific service!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I went to Venice for the weekend and this hotel was kept a secret from me as surprise from my boyfriend. I was absolutely awed by this amazingly decorated and welcoming Venetian B&B. We had a room in the new annex - very spacious, great bathroom, sofa. The breakfast in the mornings were absolutely delicious, with an amazing warm croissant, fruit salads, muffins and cappucinos. My highlight of this hotel is definitely their hot chocolate - one of the best I've ever had! The staff is very friendly and helpful and the hotel provides wellies for free for rainy days! Will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who goes to Venice and I hope to go back there one day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Trying to add something different to the reviews before is very difficult when it comes to this place, but here goes... If your idea of coming to Venice is needing a hotel with lifts, porters, hotel bar, hotel restaurant and fluffy bathrobes then this is not for you. If you want a hotel with character, spotlessly clean, incredibly friendly and authentic venitian rooms and livng in a nice neighbourhood, 10 minutes from the sights but with a local feel then look no further. This hotel is not 2 star, and is not 5 star but certainly a 4 star hotel at a very good price. We stayed in the little suite in the annex which offered a large beautiful bedroom and sitting room with safe, minibars, plenty of space. Bathroom had no bath but large shower, heated towel rail, toilettries and was immaculate. We would definitely recommend this hotel and to pay £100 a night including breakfast, wifi felt this was incredibly good value with some nice bars and restaurants a few minutes away. Look no further than this place when in Venice

Room Tip: Pay cash. Annex was good option
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed for two nights and we had a great experie nice. The staff is extremely helpful and nice. The room is very clean and confortable. In case of acqua alta there are boots available and umbrellas in case of rain. We will repeat again next time we visit Venice.

Room Tip: Even is a 2 star hotel it better than many of 3 and 4 stars hotels in Venice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My family and I stayed here in November of 2012. This was our first stop on our tour of Italy, and we had an amazing time in Venice. Dont be shaken by the front entrance of this B&B! You walk down a narrow alley and boom! Theres the front door. Once inside, we found a clean, beautiful and nicely decorated B&B that lives up to the Venice lifestyle. The staff was super friendly, super accommodating and breakfast was nice. The rooms are clean, very nicely furnished and comfortable. There is a beautiful courtyard outside that is enclosed, and the Rialto bridge is a short 10 minute walk. Do yourself a favor and get lost in this city. It is amazing and I would absolutely stay in Al Ponte Mocenigo again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo

Address: S. Croce 2063, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Venice
#7 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#26 Business Hotel in Venice
#35 Best Value Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Mocenigo Venice
Al Ponte Mocenigo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.