We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Venetian Experience With A Perfect Host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ca' Zanardi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ca' Zanardi to your Saves list
Ca' Zanardi
Calle Zanardi 4132, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 439 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Unique Venetian Experience With A Perfect Host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

If you are the kind of person that enjoys luxury in a soulless corporate hotel where you could be in any city in the world as they all look the same but don’t mind because it’s right by the main tourist attractions then this is not the hotel for you.

However, if you want to soak up the real Venice with an authentic stay complete with a perfect host in a 16th century palace full of character at a reasonable price then look no further than the Ca' Zanardi.

Upon leaving the airport, you simply hop on the Alilaguna public boat service (blue line) get off at the Fondamente Nuove stop and you are less than a 5 minute walk away from your accommodation.

As you arrive at the giant door, you enter into what feels like a completely different world before being greeted by the perfect host Andrea. When he found out we were on our honeymoon, he upgraded us to a room overlooking the canal and even presented us with a bottle of wine.
The location is simply perfect and you are far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the tourism area but equally at the same time within easy walking distance to everything.

A short 5 minute walk from the tourist area and you are back in a quiet patio garden area where you enjoy a bottle of chilled wine, as Andrea lets you use the fridge in the main kitchen.

People who have given poor reviews seem to be completely missing the point of Ca' Zanardi, it might not be luxury tourist hotel but it all the better for just that. If you are a fan of history, art and want a unique Venetian experience then will want to come back for more.

Special mention to Andrea who is always armed with helpfulness and cheerfulness and really gives the impression that he enjoyed his guests enjoying themselves.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    30
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
16
55
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
YORK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at the Ca' Zanardi from August 9th to August 12th. We hadn't looked at any pictures or reviews before we arrived as the break had been booked for us by a 3rd party, but were pleasantly survived upon arrival at the size of the room (more like an apartment!)
Veronica came and found us as we had got off at the wrong water bus stop and got a little lost. She helped us with our luggage across the foot bridges and was wonderfully polite and friendly.
Having looked at the photos on here they don't fully accurately represent the b&b at present, however we were not disappointed in the slightest. We thought the setting was beautiful, the staff were friendly and helpful, and we were situated only a few minutes walk from the shops and restaurants. Nothing on the island is far to walk to wherever you are so the people complaining on here that it's too far from St Marks need to get a life.
I would recommend this b&b to anyone as we had a wonderful time. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, we had plenty of space, our own sun terrace, comfy beds and I would go back tomorrow if I could!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at Ca Residenza on 6th-8th August. Andrea who seems to run the hotel is really nice and friendly as stated in previous reviews and makes you feel very welcome. On arrival he said he could upgrade us into a room with a view of the canal rather than the terrace which we gladly accepted. This room was very basic but had a hairdryer and a fan (no air con) which was acceptable but the least you expect in a room really. However looking at the pictures online again since we came back this was unbelievable different and most pictures are unrecognisable. These pictures must have been taken at least 5 years ago based on the amount of change in them, making it hard to understand were some of the pictures were actually taken! When walking around Venice there are much much nicer places to stay than this although if you do look at the pictures on the website this place does look really nice, unfortunately I have stayed in hostels that have better upkeep! Although this place may have once been a 16th Century Palace, it has not had much work done since then. I am unsure where these rooms where form the pictures on the website and think they must have used some of the furniture from the art gallery (located in the lobby of the hotel) to take the pictures before replacing these with the cheap wooden furniture we saw in both rooms we stayed in. In previous reviews it also explains that this hotel is in a great location, close to the sites! Yeah this is within a 20-30 mins walk to St. Marks Square but so is everywhere in Venice and being right on the north of the island and St. Marks being on the South, it could not be further away from the biggest site on the island and any hotel on the island would be closer, so not really sure were that came from. The 2nd night is where we had real problems. It was explained that although we had an upgrade the 1st night it was not possible for the second which was fine with us even though we did not quite understand how we had bought the cheapest room as It did not say anything about this when booking. The room was exactly the same as the other apart from it had no hairdryer, no fan and the bathroom was down the hall. On top of this the door into the room only opened about a foot wide as it caught on the uneven floor meaning that we had to sidestep through the door each time. The locks on all rooms also had a knack to them which made you spend at least 5 minutes attempting to open and shut your door each time. The bathroom down the hall was an absolute nightmare! The bathroom had a shower which doors were broken in every way possible. They would not shut because they were broken off the sliding mechanism and were basically sat on the inside of the shower. The panels were also smashed through with huge holes and sharp edges so pretty pointless shutting them anyway. The shower-head itself was also broken and would not stay up and needed to be held throughout the shower. The temperature on the shower was also broken as it would blast ice cold water out every 5 seconds or so before again going back to the temperature you wanted it at. These faults typified the lack of maintenance which could easily be fixed if someone could be bothered and put some of the money you are paying to some good use. I am not a person that ever complains and have never given a bad review previously (even on ebay!) and always make the most of the hotel with its faults but I am baffled by the great reviews on here and the rating it has secured needs looking into as I have never stayed in a worse place than this. I hope thought that people read this review and look at going to another hotel in order to have a better experience. On the 2nd night, the lack of a fan or aircon lead to me and my girlfriend having 3 showers in a bid to stay cool were. We were then bitten dozens of times each as our room became full of insects as the windows were open. This was so bad that we decided to go to the airport at 1.30am rather than 10am in order to get some sleep were we would be comfortable (THE AIRPORT!). I do appreciate that this hotel may want to keep the place looking authenitic but for 100 euros a night (for the cheapest room apparently) to not even bother putting a fan in a room is embarrassing given the temperatures of 26 degrees at night. How much do these really cost? This hotel could so easily be much better but they cannot be bothered to fix anything or spend any money on this place. You will be disappointed if you stay here

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Etienne, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The owner is so cute and find a solution for all your little troubles or questions about your trip in Venise...
He founded a better place for my car for example...and i really appreciate this point.
The palacio is so large and you feel like a prince !
Thank's Andrea for this expérience we'll return one day...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My daughter and I were in Venice for the Biennale and spent four nights at Ca' Zanardi. We were given an apartment at the top of the adjacent building which, whilst not 'palatial', was absolutely perfect for us: very roomy, two bathrooms, a kitchen and a huge terrace - we could make coffee, rustle up snacks and generally lounge around. Breakfast was perhaps more basic than I was expecting but everyone was very friendly and extremely helpful. Ca' Zanardi is very easy to find, a short walk from the Fondamenta Nuove waterbus from Marco Polo airport. It's a half hour walk to Arsenale if you're going to the Biennale and probably about the same to Piazza San Marco. We found a 'pub' very close by (near the church towards the Fondamenta Nuove quay) which provided excellent, inexpensive dinners.
At 570 euros for four nights, I should have looked around for a better price, but we had a lovely time and I would highly recommend Ca' Zanardi, particularly for families.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Visited the Ca Zanardi in June with my two friends. This is my second visit to the palace and again I was not disappointed. We arrived late Sunday evening to the sound of Latino music and dancing in the main hall, it was a fantastic sight to see. We had our own little apartment and we loved the fact that we could go and make ourselves tea and coffee anytime we wanted. Andrea and Andrea were fabulous hosts and nothing was a problem. The hotel is in a quiet area but close to all the main attractions. We felt as if we were in our own little palace. As we were leaving Andrea was setting up an art exhibition which looked fab. Thanks Andrea for letting us stay at your lovely palace.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We have just had 3 nights at this wonderful B B. The atmosphere is warm and friendly and any advise is readily given. The rooms are enormous and fitted out with period furniture. Chandeliers , water way views from our room and lovely terrace to breakfast on. We pay eur 243 for 3 nights. Our 2nd night we were entertained by a Tango night on the terrace which Ca ' Zanardi hosted. Andre spent time researching our train journey for leave from Venice. I suggest you email them before you arrive to ask best route from airport or train as it can be confusing. We ended up after research getting the blue line which is infact a ferry from the airport 15 eur each. I think if you get small speed boat taxis by making up 4 persons it is 11 eur each. It is about 500 mts walk to ferry jetty from airport.
Anyway we loved our stay here it was quiet and peaceful and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ca' Zanardi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Zanardi

Address: Calle Zanardi 4132, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 439 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palazzo Cà Zanardi is a residential palace dating back to the 16th century which, over the centuries, has been added on to by various noble venetian families and is one of the most evocative and beautiful palaces in the city of Venice; the Serenissima.Sumptuous and possessing particular charm, Cà Zanardi is located in a most peaceful setting and has its own delightful private garden as well as a magnificent terrace full of sun and colour.An ideal setting where to live the intimacy and emotions which the city inspires; in a palace reminiscent of the ancient splendours of the Serene Republic of Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Ca' Zanardi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Zanardi Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca' Zanardi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.