We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Moderno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Moderno to your Saves list
Hotel Moderno
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cannaregio 154 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #285 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    26
    43
    23
    21
See reviews for
7
77
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015 via mobile

first things first, this is a cheap hotel. It's a bit hard to locate , very tired decor, the beds are hard but you won't spend much time there. Easy to get to from Marco Polo airport. Take water bus to "GUGLIE" which is second stop stop from airport €27 return. And then a 6-7 min walk. The hotel is on a main route, various shops from tacky shops, food shops and restaurants. Ask for a back room, it can be noisy at night. On the whole this is ok for a 2-3 night stay.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

if you have the choice get a room away from the front of the hotel, we had room 4 and every night we had a very bad sleep due to noise esp singing along the main drag between 12-3 , then all the shops getting ready for the days trade before 7, easy enough to find but the info for booking in is at the top of the stairs so easy to miss. owners take note if the info was at the door you would not have as many moans about it, you must get to breakfast early because once gone its gone. lots of waste from people taking too much and not even eating it. they are the negatives.....the positives are, great location to explore, near good eating although on the pricey side, near all the transport, very clean and tidy, great value for money and we will be staying here again when we come back in a couple of years time albeit hopefully at the rear!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

The entrance of the Hotel is extremely difficult to find because it is basically a hole in the wall.

We had to check in at the Main hotel because it is part of two hotels, it is a block down. Moderno is just a location with rooms so if you get there and wonder why there is not a counter it is probably to cut staff costs.

The service we received was good and the gentleman walked us to the rooms with our key and turned on our warming.

Really tiny room with a small en-suite, but it is very clean and in a perfect location. Really near the train station and the water taxis.
Great for site seeing if you have limited time and close proximity to many restaurants.

Just a tip I would recommend travelling lite or do not bring a very large suitcase as you will have a hard time bringing it through the very narrow passage and the rooms are up stairs (no elevator)

Great Hotel for low budget travelers :)

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chatham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Being a Personal Travel Advisor at Atlas Travel, I am looking for location and cleanliness when staying anywhere. Personally seeing the country and the culture is more important than spending money on a flash hotel. This hotel is part of two hotels.. The location is minutes from the train station and water bus station. I cannot rate the location enough. From here you can walk the whole of Venice. To walk to San Marco square is a thirty minute stroll. There are streets and streets of shops bars and restaurants lining all routes. The staff are polite and helpful and although some says its hard to find we found it within minutes of being dropped off. This is excellent value for money, immaculately clean. Beds were changed every day, bathroom and toilet was immaculate, room was an ideal size, lets face it the only time I intended to be in my room was for a shower and sleep. The beds were very comfortable and we slept like logs. The shower was lovely and powerful and the bathroom spotless.
Eating out was more than reasonable considering Venice is an Island. You can eat from as little as 6 or 7 euros, getting a good quality meal for about 13 euros. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and its sister hotel to anyone looking to discover Venice on a budget. Lets face it the Trip Advisor is here to highlight these little gems and this is really one of them. We went last week, 16th January and for me what a fab time to go. Plenty of people but not crowded. The receptionist needs a special mention for her professionalism, politeness and overall welcoming reception!!

Room Tip: we stayed in 210. There is no reason what so ever to moan about anything. Simple, plain, clean and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

All I can say about this place is excellent place to stay. A bit hard to find it. entrance located in very narrow aisle. Over all, good location, very nice stuff, nice and clean room and good breakfast. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

cant see what the negative reviews are all about, a good placed hotel, comfy beds, decent sized room and en suite, excellent location etc, great for a stay in venice, can walk everywhere, plenty of good restaurants around...

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Moderno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moderno

Address: Cannaregio 154 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #285 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Moderno 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Moderno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderno Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Moderno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.