We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop over before cruise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Caprera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Caprera to your Saves list
Hotel Caprera
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cannaregio 219, 30121 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stop over before cruise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On early check in we were given a lovely large room . Friends who booked with different company had a much smaller room next door. Once again happy with hotels . Com accommodation. Hotel position excellent for acces to airport and cruises. Reception very helpful in getting porter to take luggage over the bridge to travellator which allows quick easy access to cruise terminal. Worth the 5 euros per beg. Would stay there again and recomend as good value.

Room Tip: End of corridor on level 3. Quiet and much bigger than next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    151
    40
    5
    2
See reviews for
86
102
33
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We paid just 51 euros including taxes for a double room. It was very clean and the bathroom was like brand new. The room was small but we were only there for one night. Breakfast was included and was typical continental style. Our room was on the second floor and there is no lift but the manager took our bags up.
Right in the heart of Venice I thought this was excellent value for money and would certainly stay there again. All staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Room was a bit small and not very nice decorated, but it was very clean. The staff was really friendly.
Breakfeast was a bit poor, but the coffee was very good.
For the price it is a good hotel, nice, clean, friendly and good lotation.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

This hotel is well located near the main train station in Venice. The price is good and the quality of the sleep is great. It is a great option is you are looking for a nice and very well locateted Hotel in Venice.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcaprera, Proprietario at Hotel Caprera, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your nice review!
We hope to see you soon again at Hotel Caprera.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Before our family trip I read when visiting Venice it's best to stay in Venice and not outside and commute in every day. Hotel Caprera is well within walking distance from the main parking lot and is within my budget and well rated here. It met my all my criteria. Seems to be family run. Clean rooms. Decent location. WiFi and breakfast included.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmore, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

We stayed one night in October before a cruise we took. We had a french bed room (beware it's a very small bed). The room was also very small. There was a shower stall with doors. Our friends had a double room with a bathtub with no shower curtain so their floor got very wet. Be specific when booking if you want a stall shower and a regular double bed.

The rooms were clean and quiet. The staff was wonderful, very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was basic but was fine for us. It's close to the train station which was a big plus.It's also close to all the sights.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

We stays 2 nights in a family room and location is ideal for a short trip. Only 5 min walking for the Venezia Santa Lucia trains station. No need to wait for water taxies with carrying large suitcases,

No grand canal view from the hotel ..but only 2 mins walk to Rialto Bridge over grand canal.

Hotel owners are very friendly and happy to help. The email be all the directions well before set off. You can walk to st mark's square from the venice and take the water taxi when return. So you can see both narrow lanes and canals.

If you book a hotel in the middle of the island some times it is very difficult to get direction in narrow footpaths. Also you have to carry your luggages as well. There is no direct water taxi access to all hotels and you have to walk from the taxi stop. Water taxi is expensive. You can get water bus..but some times very crowded.

In summery Hotel Caprera is a very friendly, family fridnly, clean and comfortable hotel,

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Caprera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caprera

Address: Cannaregio 219, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Venice
#75 Family Hotel in Venice
#164 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Caprera 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Caprera has been managed with care and attention by the same family since 1953. It was completely refurbished in 2005 guest rooms are clean and simple. Rooms with air conditioning and a private terrace are available on request. Start your day with a buffet breakfast available from 08 until 10.ILLIMITED and FREE WiFi Internet!!!We're located in the Historical city center just 200 mt away from the Vaporetto (water bus) stop, where you can catch boats to St. Marco Square in 15 minutes. In the surrounding area of Cannaregio you can visit the Jewish Ghetto, the Frari Church, and the School of St. Rocco and many other attractions.We're located in a strategical position because in maximum 10 mins you can catch any trasportations to the Airports, port or motorways ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Caprera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caprera Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Caprera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.