We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two faced receptionist” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Casa Carettoni

Save Saved
You added Antica Casa Carettoni to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Antica Casa Carettoni
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cannaregio 130, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #215 of 382 hotels in Venice
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Two faced receptionist”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We did not actually stay at this hotel however we were transferred from hotem basilea to this hotel moderno. As hotel moderno had no reception itself, the reception was through antica casa. On arrival the receptionist was very nice, somewhat even a little charasmatic. After being eacorted to our room we returned to the reception to understand why we had been transferred from a 3 star hotel to a 2 star. Not only was where we got moved incredibly small but the receptionist was beyond rude. The lovely cleaning lady who happily helped us with our luggage told us the hotel was 1 star, to her credit she was not lying. When we mentioned this to the receptionist, she called the cleaning lady to publicly embarass her and put her to shame. The cleaning lady had done not a thing wrong but the receptionist had the audacity to embarass her and basically crucify her infront of foreign nationals. I hope the lovely young cleaning lady finds a job where they accept her for who she is and the amazing work she does!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Carettoni, Manager at Antica Casa Carettoni, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
First of all,we want to put some order in this affair: in your booking was writen that, in case of technical problems (such as the restoration of the Hotel Basilea), your reservation might have been transferred to a sister hotel; so, everything was well specified, but you haven't read all the informations in the booking, probably attracted by the very favourable price, or probably because you had not bothered of that.
Continuing, the Hotel Moderno has a classification of a two stars category, and the information received from the cleaning lady was wrong and given by a person who doesn't hold the job of providing informations to guests: moreover, we prefer that thoughts about the facility and the staff are said personally, not hiding behind a computer.
Finally, we close this answer affirming that your review is unfounded, because you have never stayed at this facility, but only at a sister one: you are requested to use the services in order to make a judgment on the Hotel.
Antica Casa Carettoni.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    33
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
30
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We were delighted by the lovely spacious room at this fantastic location close to the train station in Venice. The hotel was charming and our room was tastefully decorated with artwork,
furniture and fabrics that gave it a peaceful, elegant feel. We even had a couch for relaxing and the marble floors felt cool under our feet - wonderful to come back to after walking around Venice all day. The shower was on the small side, but this is common in many Italian hotels. Reception is open 24 hours and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful.
So we were surprised that the breakfast was poor - well below the standard of spreads in cheaper hotels we stayed at in Italy. Included in the fare was a horrible cordial which we had hoped was juice and tasteless cornflakes. The only pastries on offer two of the mornings we had breakfast were pain au chocolat, which we wouldn't eat for breakfast. A plain cake, which
many Italian hotels served for breakfast, was also an option - again another thing we wouldn't eat for breakfast. I notice some reviewers have mentioned getting a savoury option or scrambled eggs, but we weren't offered this. There were some processed (can you believe it in Italy) cheese slices on the breakfast counter. We longed for museli and fresh fruit. The only
saviour was the morning cappuccino which was delicious. I believe there is an option to stay at this hotel without breakfast and this is what I'd recommend, although it might be expensive finding breakfast somewhere else in Venice as prices are at a premium here. Otherwise, if you're not too fussed about what you eat for breakfast, you'll get by.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carettoni, Manager at Antica Casa Carettoni, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we would like to thank you for sharing your feedback. We read with pleasure your enthusiastic appreciation of the beautiful furnishing of the Hotel, and we thank you another time for the wonderful words. But it's with disappointment that we learn your negative judgement concerning the breakfast: we always commit ourselves to supply a suitable and standard level breakfast, and if we are informed we could try to satisfy special requests. Finally, looking forward to welcoming you back again, we remain with best regards.
Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilassar de mar
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The room was a little small, but with beautiful tiled floors and a cute little bathroom. The hotel is on a main pedestrian street full of restaurants, shops, and very close to the train station and the bus stop for the airport. But the best is the staff. We had the most wonderful breakfasts included with homemade cappuccinos and scrambled eggs to order. Our hostess was always smiling and cheerful and made us feel very welcome. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carettoni, Manager at Antica Casa Carettoni, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feelings with all the readers of TripAdvisor and with us.
We are so pleased to hear what a splendid impression our Hotel has made on you, and very flattered by your compliments to our staff, very grateful to receive them.
We are waiting you come back soon for another wonderful stay.
Best Regards.
Antica Casa Carettoni.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herning, Denmark
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My daughters first visit to Venice.
Hotel situated just 300 mtrs from the railroad station on a "tourist trap" street.
Nice room with air condition, but costly (as it is in Venice).
Breakfast not included.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carettoni, Manager at Antica Casa Carettoni, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment. Here we affirm that our prices are not so much costly, on the contrary, in our class we are one of the most competitive Hotel in Venice (as can be easily seen). Our quality and our location certainly don't disappoint the offer.
The breakfast is continental style, at a cost of 5,00 euro per person, and as eat breakfast elsewhere would require an expenditure surely more expensive, for those who don't have any particular expectations, it can be considered convenient.
Finally, we hope to see you and your daughters again, for a second pleasant stay in Venice.
Best Regards.
Antica Casa Carettoni.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Spent two nights here as a solo traveller in July 2012. Location was excellent - I walked out of the train station and the hotel was literally a few hundred metres on the left in a busy street with lots of shops, cafes and gelato stands. I had to wait about 15 minutes in reception before I could check in as there was no-one around but when the lady did arrive (I didn't get her name but I wish I had), she was friendly, helpful and always said hello and addressed me by name each day - lovely! My room was small but comfortable and modern with a wardrobe and desk. Bathroom was small and shower was very small - hot water was scarce in the evening but enough for a quick shower. Air-conditioning was welcome in the heat and really appreciated the toiletries in the bathroom. Only negative would be wi-fi - it is not free (20 euro for 24 hours, which can be used over space of a week) and only available in the lobby. I got access intermittently in my room but it made it hard to Skype my family at home. Also have to pay a refundable deposit to get TV remote (weird?) - I didn't bother. Breakfast was average - on my first morning, I was taken to a nearby hotel for breakfast (instead of the actual hotel) with no explanation and food was pretty grim; cereal and some pastries. Second morning was much better, served at the hotel with offer of coffee etc and scrambled eggs, along with cereal etc. Hotel is in good spot to access all the sites - water taxi and ferry stand right outside station. Buy a 12 hour ferry card for 18 euro and it gives you unlimited trips - great for visiting lots of sites. Takes about 40 minutes to reach San Marco. Hotel staff very helpful with sightseeing advice. Word of warning - street of hotel seems to be prize territory for hawkers selling fake designer bags/sunnies. I was harassed one day by a man who repeatedly asked me to buy a bag and followed me down the street, despite my persistent "no"! Nothing scary but just something to be aware of - I was a solo traveller and never felt fearful but was just taken by surprise! I would recommend this hotel, particularly to those travelling by train, very convenient.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carettoni, Manager at Antica Casa Carettoni, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your thorough review. We are so pleased that you have appreciated the friendliness and carreful of our staff, who thanks you sincerely.
We specify and guarantee, as you mention it, that the WI-FI is perfectly working just in the hotel hall, and because of this motive you found troubles with the connection in your room.
Instead, we see that all of our others services have satisfied you, and in fact the location is one of the strenghts of the hotel.
The street where the facility is located is one of the main of Venice, and it's ever crowded, but it isn't absolutely definible as a dangerous street: the usual cautions to keep ona crowded street and at late evening are enough.
Thank you another time for your choosing, we looking forward to welcoming you also in the future.
Kind Regards.
Antica Casa Carettoni.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plech, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This was my second stay at the Antica. Small, european rooms, that are clean. The shower is tiny but always had hot water. The location is on the main street in front of the train station. The continental breakfast is okay. It was much better the first time I stayed. The staff is amazingly friendly and knowledgeable about the city. I love this place and will continue to stay here on future visits.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carettoni, Manager at Antica Casa Carettoni, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
We were so pleased to had you as our guest, and we want to thank you for the comliments. Your nice review make us proud, because it underlines the dedication and quality of our facility with sincerity.
Looking forward for your welcome come back, with the Best Regards.
Antica Casa Carettoni.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copley, Ohio
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This hotel by all means was one of the nicer that I stayed in during my trip to Europe this past summer.... BUT, and that is a big BUT.... unless your body is approximately 18 inches wide or less, you pretty much can't move. I am by no means a big guy (well width wise) I'm 6'2, 170 so fairly thin and I couldn't move in the shower. Otherwise great hotel, staff was great and very friendly. Also location is great, close to the train station and easy to get around town by the nearby water bus or walking.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Antica Casa Carettoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Casa Carettoni

Address: Cannaregio 130, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 382 hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Antica Casa Carettoni 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Antica Casa Carettoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Casa Carettoni Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Casa Carettoni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.