We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is great....... except the shower” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Casa Carettoni

Save Saved
You added Antica Casa Carettoni to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Antica Casa Carettoni
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cannaregio 130, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #219 of 382 hotels in Venice
Copley, Ohio
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Everything is great....... except the shower”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This hotel by all means was one of the nicer that I stayed in during my trip to Europe this past summer.... BUT, and that is a big BUT.... unless your body is approximately 18 inches wide or less, you pretty much can't move. I am by no means a big guy (well width wise) I'm 6'2, 170 so fairly thin and I couldn't move in the shower. Otherwise great hotel, staff was great and very friendly. Also location is great, close to the train station and easy to get around town by the nearby water bus or walking.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    33
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
30
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Joensuu, Finland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Great location near railwaystation. Good and friendly staff. Nice and clean room. Room was small and noises from street and corridor was loud. Overall good value for money (89€/night/room)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

This hotel is close to the bus and train station. The rooms were air conditioned, very clean and a decent size. We could even see the grand canal from our room without falling out of the window. The staff were friendly and offered a breakfast of both savoury and sweet options and cappuccino! Remember, like most hotels in europe there's no elevator so pack what you can lift.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Antica Casa Carettoni is a wonderful little hotel on Lista di Spagna, one of my favourite areas in Venice. The hotel is small but delightful, lovely marble staircases and mosaic floors and glass chandeliers. My room was a double and had plenty of room, it faced the main street and was totally quiet with the windows closed. The bathroom was small but just right, the hotel and rooms were spotlessly clean, the air con was perfect in the Venetian heat. And not a mosquito to be seen !

All staff were wonderful and Elisa was so charming at breakfast and on the reception, I had no complaints at all about this hotel five stars all round from me. The breakfast was lovely and at least 5 choices of cakes ( my favourite ) cereals, bread and cheeses, coffe was also very good.

I will certainly recommend this hotel to friends and family, and most definitely return, I got such a great deal with Hotelclub/Orbitz absolutely delightful

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

I've been on a business trip to Venice (for the Venice Film Festival) and stayed at the Caretoni.

The rooms are nicely decorated in the venetian style and are very comfortable, the breakfast is also very good but the special gem of this hotel is the service. The rooms are very clean and the cleaner (a shy oriental girl) is very efficient.

I've had problems in receiving an important fax and e-mail needed for the Festival and Elisa who is the Receptionist was extremely helpful, she did what she could to help me and finally, due to her assistance, all went well.
If you go to Venice, I strongly recommend the Antica Casa Carettoni.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We had been here from 20-22 Aug 2011.
Thumbs Down
----------------------
1. Mosquitoes - Too Many. The hotel staff care a damn to help by giving excuse of "Venice Problem". They do not even provide a repellant. Pathetic!!
2. Room Size - Too Too tiny (See my Pic). French Bed. we are thin and still could not fit in.
Even 2 suitcases cannot be kept.
3. AC/FAN - No Fan. AC Does not work. They ask us to keep windows closed to enable ac to switch on. But it never switched on. Summer nights were horrible. All 2 nights we could not sleep.
4. BREAKFAST - avoid.. looked like it was just a formality. No Choices. Breads were bad.
5. Staff - keep changing frequently. saw 5 receptionists at 5 diff times. Few were very rude/unhelpful/uncourteous. DEPRESSING
6 INTERNET - No wifi. They provide LAN cables and that too take 10Euro Deposit. What the heck!!!

Thumbs Up
------------------
1. Proximity - Just next to rail station and to bus station
2. Location - On the main street of Lista Di Spagna - Always buzzing with activities

Avoid this. It was disastrous. It is better to stay in good hotels in Mestre..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Booked a "French double" room. It has to be said, the room was tiny. Open floor space was about the size of a double bed so it was difficult for 2 people to dress etc at the same time. The bed was 4 foot x 6 foot. The shower was, well imagine a normal shower cubicle and cut it in half diagonally. That said:

It was very clean and modern. Air conditioning worked well in the small space. Location was perfect. Dispite being on a main street, surrounded by cafes, restaurants, shops etc, we couldn't hear a sound from the street in our first floor room. The receptionist was extremely pleasant, making a point to greet us everytime as we passed through reception. This was a small hotel, i would think about 20 rooms so service seemed very personal and friendly. Breakfast was basic, and limited, but perfectly acceptable. Towels changed everyday and room cleaned. The only thing stopping me rating 5 stars was the size of the room, but i understand that there are bigger rooms available. Had we been made aware in advance, i would probably have paid a bit extra to stay in one of those.

Venice in general was a great place to visit. Doesn't have to be expensive, snackbars are plentiful offering Pizzas or plates of pasta for about 6 euros pp. paid 7.5 euros for a beer in a cafe, 3 euros for a can in an off-license, 1 euro in a supermarket, so is as cheap or expensive as you want it to be.

We stayed for 5 days which was enough to see most of the places of interest

Room Tip: rooms at the back dont have a view, but are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antica Casa Carettoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Casa Carettoni

Address: Cannaregio 130, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 382 hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Antica Casa Carettoni 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Antica Casa Carettoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Casa Carettoni Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Casa Carettoni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.