We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay there again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Casa Carettoni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Antica Casa Carettoni to your Saves list
Antica Casa Carettoni
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cannaregio 130, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #230 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Would stay there again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Booked a "French double" room. It has to be said, the room was tiny. Open floor space was about the size of a double bed so it was difficult for 2 people to dress etc at the same time. The bed was 4 foot x 6 foot. The shower was, well imagine a normal shower cubicle and cut it in half diagonally. That said:

It was very clean and modern. Air conditioning worked well in the small space. Location was perfect. Dispite being on a main street, surrounded by cafes, restaurants, shops etc, we couldn't hear a sound from the street in our first floor room. The receptionist was extremely pleasant, making a point to greet us everytime as we passed through reception. This was a small hotel, i would think about 20 rooms so service seemed very personal and friendly. Breakfast was basic, and limited, but perfectly acceptable. Towels changed everyday and room cleaned. The only thing stopping me rating 5 stars was the size of the room, but i understand that there are bigger rooms available. Had we been made aware in advance, i would probably have paid a bit extra to stay in one of those.

Venice in general was a great place to visit. Doesn't have to be expensive, snackbars are plentiful offering Pizzas or plates of pasta for about 6 euros pp. paid 7.5 euros for a beer in a cafe, 3 euros for a can in an off-license, 1 euro in a supermarket, so is as cheap or expensive as you want it to be.

We stayed for 5 days which was enough to see most of the places of interest

Room Tip: rooms at the back dont have a view, but are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    35
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
31
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Stayed at Antica Casa Carettoni for 2 nights in early July. I arrived in Venice by train and was very pleased to find my hotel located on Lista Di Spagna, a short walk from the station, lined with gorgeous cafe's, restaurants and gift shops.
The double room was spacious, clean, well decorated and affordable for such a great location. Everything you want to see is within walking distance including Ferrovia station for water taxis to San Marco square and Rialto Bridge. But I found myself drawn back to Lista Di Spagna for great dining and shopping.The only complaint I can think of was the continental breakfast.
Overall, would definately return for another stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

The hotel is in an excellent location just a 5 minute walk from the train station, which is especially important in Venice. Otherwise you'll have to lug suitcases up and down bridges to get to your hotel. I saw many people lugging huge suitcases around Venice whereas I only had a 5 minute walk. The hotel appears to have been completely remodeled and it is very nice, but a few things to be aware of :
1. There are no elevators. It was not a lot of fun carrying a 40lbs suitcase up three flights of stairs.
2. The rooms are nicely priced but you get what you pay for. The room was really really tiny. My wife and I could barely stand up in the room together.

All in all it is a nice hotel at a great price. I would stay there again if I had the choice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

I have had a short break in Venice during June 2011.

I stayed at the Antica Casa Carettoni Hotel near the railway station for four nights; it was a good choice in a good location. Vehicles coming to Venice can reach the Plazzale Roma, where the bus station and car parks are located; from here it was a ten minute walk to the hotel including using one bridge over the Canal Grande. From the hotel it was easy to walk to Ponte di Rialto (Rialto Bridge) and Piazza San Marco (Saint Mark’s Square). The room was small, but this didn’t matter as I didn’t spend much time in it. The room was also clean and had en suite facilities, air conditioning and a safe.

Elisa at reception was very helpful. She provided a map of the city, recommended restaurants, which were good and advice on the merits of purchasing a Venice Card which provided access to some sites in the city.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

I managed to book this hotel a night before I was due to reach Venice through lastminute.com. It ticked all the boxes we were looking for in hotel. Comfortable rooms, gooood breakfast incl in price, clean bathroom, helpful staff and above all it was stone's throw from St Lucia Station. If you are travelling to and from station this is the place to be in. We have seen numerous tourist carrying their suitcases over the canals and on the cobbled streets searching their accomodations through confusing streets of venice. I think we made a great decision by selecting Antica Casa. Oh and we could see grand canal from main window of our room (had to lean over to get that view)!!! Negative thing is if you're travelling with heavy suitcases, you will have to carry them up a level to reach reception and then one/two more levels to your room. Secondly they do not have wi-fi in rooms. However they do have cable connections and you have to get the cable from reception and return it on departure. Wasn't a negative for us, just thought of letting people know. Overall I would definitely stay there again and would definitely recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohrid, Republic of Macedonia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

The best hotel of our entire trip.
We stayed a full 4 nigths at ANTICA CASA CARETTONI .
Starting with super friendly owners and staff,to a very clean and confortable room.
Continental breakfast and location just excellent.The price was the best possible for Venice and it justified our expectations.
I would stay there again.
Not to forget, the staff was very helpful :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

This was such a nice find. Yes as you have probably read from others it is small but really how much time are you spending in your room?? You're in Venice! The rooms were very clean and quaint, and the beds comfortable although every night we were exhausted from walking all day and probably could have slept soundly on a table (all the fantastic wine didn't hurt either :) ) The location is a nice 10 minute walk away to the Rialto bridge and we even found a casino in a huge mansion along the way. The train station, or bus station too, is a scant minute or two away from the hotel. To get the keys for the room you need to stop at Zechini first which is beside the hotel. Can't comment on the breakfast as we always ate out and about. Perfect location for exploring and you are well away from most of the tourist madness that is Piazza San Marco.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antica Casa Carettoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Casa Carettoni

Address: Cannaregio 130, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Antica Casa Carettoni 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Antica Casa Carettoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Casa Carettoni Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Casa Carettoni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.