We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Vitturi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palazzo Vitturi to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castello, 5246 | Campo Santa Maria Formosa, 30122 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #45 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Chicago
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed her 3 nights while in Venice. This hotel is in a great location in a quiet square, so easy (relatively for Venice) to find. It is a 5 minute walk to St. Mark's square, but not so close that you are bombarded by all the tourists who are going there. The hotel is decorated very elegantly, in Venetian style with Murano glass and chandeliers all over. We stayed in room 16 and it is very spacious with a large bathroom. It overlooked a small garden or courtyard between buildings. An included breakfast is served on the first floor every morning, a typical European breafast buffet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    139
    25
    6
    5
See reviews for
176
201
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Palazzo vitturi was a great find. We stayed in the junior suite and it was huge. Modern bathroom, big bed and fold out couch bed. The staff were helpful and The breakfast was quite good. I would recommend palazzo vitturi when traveling in a group because of the great location, large room size and central location of the hotel. Thanks for a great stay!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The manager and other persons at the reception are very helpfull. The entrance and other parts of the building have nicely decorated walls and ceilings. Location is perfect between rialto bridge and St Marks square. Spacious room and bathroom including bath and bidet. No retsaurant in the hotel; only breakfast is served.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I left finding a room for my family of four in Venice till quite late as we thought we might have to cancel the entire holiday due to potential hospital treatment. In the end, we went ahead with a 7 night Cruise with Royal Caribbean and then an extended stay in Venice (where we boarded and returned). When I booked two weeks before departure, this was the last room available at Palazzo Vitturi.

We caught a river taxi from the Port to the Cruise Liner terminal. It wasn't obvious, but you had to queue to get a ticket (pay at booth) which then had a number and a marshal at water side would then match the ticket number with the water taxi number before you could get through. (90 Euros)

On arrival at 1000, the Manager Michele greeted us and explained that we'd been upgraded from a juniour suite to the best suite in the hotel! This was because we were the first to arrive. He was very helpful and allowed us to offload all our luggage - well before the 1400 check-in time. There's no lift in the building but there is a kind of wheelchair stairlift on which our luggage was all loaded, much to the amusement of our children. We then took his offer of a trip to Murano by Water Taxi (to spend the time before we could check in) - to see glass making factory and have the opportunity to part with lots of cash and by some (resisted!!).

The suite at Palazzo was huge. My 15 year old son and 11 year daughter had beds opposite ends of the main room (approx 25' square) and separate rooms for our double bed and the bathroom. All the accomodation was clean and decor in keeping with the character of the building. The view opened out onto a square with a Church and cafes and seemed full of life with either guided tours, individual tourists or locals walking through. The suite had a new flat sreen TV with multiple channels. It was so new that not all the staff knew how to operate it, so my 15 year old had to wait until the right attendant could come up and explain.

The location was excellent and the hotel is very well situated for St Marks Square. We walked there each day and it took about 7 minutes through the maze that is Venice. We generally ate lunch and dinner at the various restaurants depending where we were (options are Pizza, Pasta, Fish or Salad). Returning home to UK, we had to get to the airport and this time decided to use the Vaporetti rather than a water taxi which would have cost a lot more (15Euros each). This involved hauling our luggage from the hotel to the Vaporetti point near St Marks Square - which wasn't that bad as my wife had found a route with fewest bridge crossing points :-)

More fresh fruit and a greater variety of cereals for breakfast would have been better, but otherwise the morning fare was fine. I really appreciated having the Alpro Soya Milk for those in my family with Dairy allergies. Because we had the best suite, we were entitled to have breakfast taken up to our room, but we decided not to make the staff carry food upt to us and instead eat with the other guests on the ground floor.

The air conditioning was quite powerful and it was a little difficult to get the right temperature overnight. Also the openings for the two balconys seemed to have fittings and mechanisms that were quite old, but this was in keeping with the hotel which I believe is the oldest building in St Maria's Square. The beds were fairly firm, but this was fine for all of us too.

All in all, the hotel was a great way for us to enjoy our extended holiday after a Royal Caribbean cruise!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in this wonderful hotel at the end of our cruise, the staff are so accommodating and helpful. It is in a great location just 5 minutes from St Marks square and really 5 minutes from Rialto Bridge, I would recommend anybody to stay here.....simply belissimo!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a Junior suite, but to be honest, all the rooms looked really big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Venice is a true place of a European getaway. This hotel is in the heart of it all and only within walking distance to the major attractions such as the Rialto Bridge. My mom and I spent just over 24 hours in the city and the location of the hotel was perfect! There are great restaurants and LOTS of shopping nearby! The hotel provides a private taxi to Murano island and detailed information on returning.

If it's your first time visiting, I say it's worth splurging on the private water taxi to the hotel. Your driver will drop you off just in front the hotel, only a few steps to the door!

The hotel is great! Our room on the second floor had two balconies overlooking the square. It gave us a beautiful sunset! There are no elevators but there is a lift for wheelchair access and also use to help in bringing up luggage to the upper floors.

The service is first class and very personal! The hotel manager, Michele was amazing along with his hard working staff.

I look forward to my next visit and am sure this is where I will be staying again! Thank you again for making my trip to Venice with my mo so memorable!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The Hotel is situated in a lovely square, only 5 minutes walk from St Marks Square. The rooms are elegant, we stayed in a lovely large suite with two balconies overlooking the Square. We had 2 children, aged 6 and 4 who had a bed each in the main room. It was huge. We arrived by Vaporetti to the edge of St Marks Square and then had a Porter transport our heavy bags by trolley with us following on foot to the Hotel for 20 euros, rather than an 80 euro water taxi. The porter even put our 4 year old on the trolley for the ride, which we were very grateful for as she was very hot and tired ! It was a 5 minute walk. You feel like you are in the heart of Venice at this Hotel, it is lovely, and for those with young children or those who don't wish to walk too far it is perfect. Staff very helpful with recommendations for restaurants. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Hotel for Venice sightseeing.

Room Tip: We upgraded to the largest suite with two balconies overlooking the square. Very large, good for tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Vitturi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Vitturi

Address: Castello, 5246 | Campo Santa Maria Formosa, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Venice
#31 Family Hotel in Venice
#49 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzo Vitturi 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Vitturi is one of the most remarcable venitian Palaces dating back to 12th century (bizantine-gotic) and facing the picturesque Campo Santa Maria Formosa, 5min. walk from St. Mark's square and Rialto bridge. It offers 16 elegant rooms and it is located 5-minutes walk far from Venice’s St. Mark's Square.All rooms at Palazzo Vitturi are spacious with free broadband wifi and some offer original frescoes, views of the square, big flat tv HD smart LED TVs. Common spaces and noble floors are decorated with original frescoes and historical inserts.Many top-ranked tripadvisor restaurants can be found in the immediate area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Vitturi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Vitturi Venice
Palazzo Vitturi Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Vitturi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.