We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Murano” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vecchia Murano Glass Factory

Vecchia Murano Glass Factory
4392, Castello | 5, 30122 Venice, Italy
39 41 5204914
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 95 activities in Venice
Type: Shops, Factory Tours
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator
Rexburg, Idaho
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Murano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Everyone needs to watch the demonstration of how this Murano glass is made. Blows your mind. It's beautiful just walking and viewing all the beautiful colors. Prices are high so see what you like and compare in shops on both streets leading to the factory

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    115
    53
    29
    39
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Illinois
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

It was so neat to watch this man make a glass horse in a matter of minutes. The glass pieces are beautiful. You can buy souvenirs here in the showroom. We went there in a waterboat which took about 15 mins. or so but the scenery was beautiful on the way there. I recommend going here.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

It is a fairly short vaporetta ride to get here. I am not huge into glass, but thought it worth a peek. It was nice. Took alot of photos of big amazing glass pieces that were on disply oustide and in. Some of the outdoor vendors had some reasonable prices, if you just had to buy a souvenir, which of course i did.
We did not get to see any glass blowing though. But it was well worth a 3 hour walk about and visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A special place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have private reasons for wanting to visit this place, along with a comparison to Mdina Glass (Malta) and owning some Murano glass. We were lucky enough to see the making of a wonderful panther, containing so much glass, the men found it hard to lift into the forge. The glass showrooms were more of a museum of works from fun clown pieces to six foot glass horses and wonderful chanderliers. Some amazing peices of art(at amazing prices). We were not pressurised into buying like some people suggest, a pleasant way of passing a couple of hours if you like glass ware.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just Received our order from Vetreria Ducale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

When we were in San Marco Square on our way to Murano Island we were approached by a person offering a free water taxi to Murano arriving at Velreria Ducale rather than using the ferry. We of course thought once we get there we would have to survive the proverbial “condo speech” but instead we had a wonderful glass blowing demonstration followed by a private trip to the upstairs where the good stuff is!
Yes we spent a bit of money and have now received our purchases we were warned that it might take a bit of time for the items to arrive and it took about 6 weeks but that’s OK we were in Europe for 4. Our packages arrived packed to survive a nuclear holocaust, everything was perfect, the only pain in the butt is I am still dealing with Canada Customs (probably won’t win that one!)
Don’t be shy bargain hard they don’t mind and have a wonderful time we did!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vecchia Murano Glass Factory also viewed

 

Been to Vecchia Murano Glass Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vecchia Murano Glass Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Vecchia Murano Glass Factory to your Saves list