We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ca' Dogaressa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Ca' Dogaressa to your Saves list
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fondamenta di Cannaregio 1018, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 380 Hotels in Venice
Seattle
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice and Quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This was a nice surprise. Like other reviewers mentioned, it is in a quiet neighborhood and after negotiating the crowds on the vaporetto and other places, it was a nice to return to back to the hotel. I stayed in a room in the annex and found it to be very comfortable. It was nicely decorated and even though there was not a full shower in the bathroom, it was not inconvienent to wipe down the water when done. Paolo and his staff were very pleasant ans made sure everything was just right. Being close to the train station was a plus. You can take a vaporetto from Piazza deRoma to a stop about a block away from the hotel. The cobblestones make it hard to to manuever your luggage.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    171
    24
    6
    6
See reviews for
149
504
30
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We spent 4 nights here in a junior suite - our room was enormous and had 2 bathrooms. The location is perfect, right on the canal and the neighbourhood was so much more pleasant than some of the more central, tourist areas. We had a number of good bars and restaurants close by but also great little delis and the opportunity to watch ordinary Venetians go about there lives. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was adequate (some fresh fruit would have been nice) and very enjoyable eaten canal side. I would recommend this hotel to families (there is a park less than 10 mins walk away, a rare thing in Venice) and couples looking for a a more authentic Venetian experience in an upcoming area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Our recent one night stay at Hotel Ca'Dogaressa before our cruise was very comfortable. I found the walk from the train station with all of our luggage a bit trying, however, once there realized it was a great location. We loved sitting out next to the busy canal in the morning enjoying our breakfast and the sights and sounds. The trip to the cruise port was easier as we were able to take the vaporatto at the Guglie Station which was very close to the hotel. The innkeeper was very gracious, friendly and accommodating. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My daughters and I stayed here for two nights -my 12th visit to Venice, their 1st. It was a great introduction to Venice for them -typically Venetian decor, a great location only 5 minutes walk from the station (and only one bridge to negotiate!) with plenty going on locally but yet the hotel enjoys a quiet location away from the buzz but it's accessible in a couple of minutes when you want to eat or shop -which we did in abundance! We thoroughly enjoyed breakfast by the canal with a waterbus stop yards away for trips to Murano and into the heart of Venice. It was great to watch life pass by on the canal as we enjoyed a continental breakfast - a very tasty continental breakfast.
For my 13th visit to Venice I'd happily return to Ca'Dogaressa!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

A great wee place in a good location in Venice. a short walk from the station, yet in a quiet peaceful location on the canalside and in close proximity to the waterbus service. Great assortment of eating places within five minutes walk. Our room was pleasantly decorated, very Venetian in my mind. The staff were very helpful, breakfast on the canalside was a treat (thanks for the extra nutellas on our second morning!) and we all had a great time here. Look forward to returning again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Venetian style interior in a quite section of Venice close to the Ghetto and Casinò with breakfast on the canal full of boats serving the awakening city. Charming native owner who does not spare advice, helpful information or bit of historical knowledge about the neighborhood. Clean, charming and quite. Best three star hotel that we have experienced!

Room Tip: With the view of the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was our second time staying at this great place. The rooms are very clean and all rooms have the Venetian docor. The staff could not be more friendly and helpful. We love the location away from the tourist area yet convenient to the train station and the vaporetto. They have a lovely terrace overlooking the canal which we enjoyed having a glass of wine after a busy day exploring. Breakfast is served along the canal and the cappuccinos are excellant. We requested the same room that we had on a previous stay and our request was honored. We highly recommend this small hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ca' Dogaressa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ca' Dogaressa

Address: Fondamenta di Cannaregio 1018, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 380 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ca' Dogaressa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ca' Dogaressa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ca' Dogaressa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.