We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very hospitable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ca' Dogaressa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ca' Dogaressa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fondamenta di Cannaregio 1018, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 382 Hotels in Venice
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very hospitable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Great location along the canal and near a vaporetto stop. Staff was very friendly and hospitable. Room was small, but hey, it's Venice, so that's to be expected. Clean private bathroom that was fairly spacious. Fantastic value for Venice, and a beautiful spot!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    170
    24
    6
    6
See reviews for
149
500
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

After staying in 6 different places during our 2-week trek through Italy, we finally found the perfect place. As our final destination before the long flight back home, we wanted it to be comfortable - we were not disappointed!

We originally booked a double, but was upgraded to a junior suite! The rooms are extremely clean and the staff is so friendly. It has AC, Wifi, and a lovely view of the canal. The only thing was that the bathtub doesn't have a stand up shower, it's a moveable shower head (see pic).

After we checked out of the room in the morning, our flight wasn't until 11:50PM so we spent the day around Venice. Wanting to rest, they let us hang out at their table outside for a couple of hours and even gave us Bellini's while we waited.

There is a stop very close to the hotel for the ferry to take you to the airport too (Allilaguna is the name of the ferry line).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Over-crowded, very touristic Venice turned into lovely, quiet place when we checked in to this nice little hotel! The location is ideal, near the railway station but not in the middle of the main street. There's only 10 rooms in this cosy hotel so it's not a massive, faceless hotel complex and we found that a big bonus. Fantastic staff, nice rooms, reasonable price, breakfast served on the edge of the canal - what else you can ask?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I was initially concerned about the location, because this hotel is fairly distant from many/most of the main attractions. However, if you want a quiet night, and enjoy walking the wonderful streets and alleys of Venice, the location will prove perfect. It will also work if you chose to use the vaporettos which are basically canal buses - which you can get about 150 meters from the hotel. Our room was smallish but lovely - clean and nicely furnished, with two large windows. It did not face the canal and I believe that those rooms might be larger, but there might also be some noise on a Saturday night. From this hotel you can also wander into local neighborhoods, find local restaurants, and just enjoy the views - tiny alleys and expanses of water. Like others have commented - the staff is extremely gracious and helpful, and the breakfast location on the canal outside the hotel is a real treat. The breakfast itself is a bit monotonous if you stay for several days, but I sure did enjoy the cappuccino each morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Just came back from a 2 nights' stay in the hotel. Room 1 was a junior suite overlooking the canal. The hotel was clean & comfortable. The room was well-decorated venetian style. Very impressed with the room decor. The only minor complaint is that there is no shower unit in the bathroom (guess the owner doesn't want to spoil the overall decor). The tub is a bit tight and when one tries to shower down first before soaking in the bath, the floor would be wet inadvertently. Loved sitting out by the canal for breakfast. It was a lovely atmosphere - beats having breakfast indoor any time ! Must not miss going to the Restaurant Marissa which is just a 5min walk from the hotel-lovely food at very affordable price. Need to book early to avoid disappointment. The pizza across the canal at Groppian Caffe was perfect! Had the best mozarella cheese with rocket & parma ham :) Mr Paolo, the owner, was very accommodating & service-oriented. Overall, a very pleasant stay & will definitely be back !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Ca' Dogaressa with another couple in October 2012. The hotel had a fantastic staff, nice (if basic), clean rooms, and a decent (if carb-heavy breakfast). The hotel is walking distance from the main train station (though the bridges aren't exactly fun with luggage) but a bit far from some of the main attractions. We took a nice stroll over to them during the day so that wasn't a big deal. At night though, you'll more likely want to use the taxi services. The hotel is customer-focused also; the suite must have been available for the one night they stayed so they upgraded us for free (contrast this to some hotels in Greece we stayed at during our honeymoon where despite there being other free rooms, they stuck us next to the kitchen).

Just a note that our expectation for this hotel was a place to sleep at night that was clean and convenient. My rating is based on that expectation.

Pros:
+ Friendly/helpful staff
+ Nice breakfast (though carb-heavy)
+ Walking distance from train
+ Room was nice (though we may have been spoiled by the free upgrade)

Cons:
+ A bit far from the main attractions
+ View isn't exactly spectacular
+ Room was at street level meaning we couldn't really open the windows/shades.

SERVICE
The staff was friendly and helpful, giving us information and advice. When they saw we had photography equipment, they recommended we go on the roof for the view. They were attentive at breakfast.

FOOD
We at breakfast with them. The food was your standard carb-heavy pastries and bread. It was decent, the staff brought plenty of it, and they did not rush us. I prefer more protein, but this wasn't bad.

ROOMS
Our room was beautiful, but as mentioned before our view may be skewed. The room was large, clean, etc. A bit close to the street and at street-level, meaning we never really opened the curtains. Our friends' room seemed nice also. It looked clean, well-furnished, etc. Unfortunately, I can't comment on it more. However, I can note, that they never voiced any complaints about the room.

LOCATION
The location is convenient for walking from the train station (its maybe < 10 minute walk) assuming you can get your luggage up and over the bridges. We had to walk a decent distance to some of the main attractions, which was fine during the day but would have been more difficult at night.

Room Tip: You should probably prefer a higher floor room if you want to open curtains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

You can spend a lot of money on a hotel in Venice. This one is fantastic value. The rooms are small but very clean and well furnished. Breakfast is served (weather permitting!) on the edge of a canal where you can watch the Veneziani going about their business. The staff are very friendly and helpful. It's really close to the station and about 30 minutes from St Mark's square (allowing time for a leisurely stroll)!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ca' Dogaressa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ca' Dogaressa

Address: Fondamenta di Cannaregio 1018, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 382 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ca' Dogaressa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Ca' Dogaressa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ca' Dogaressa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.