We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Right!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ca' Dogaressa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Ca' Dogaressa to your Saves list
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fondamenta di Cannaregio 1018, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 382 Hotels in Venice
beverly hills
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Just Right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I enjoyed 6 days here with great joy and happiness! Paolo and crew made the stay very comfortable with friendliness and great service! We liked the fact that you could get away from the crowds of Venice and enjoy a nice afternoon coffee in the room. It has all been said before in the other reviews but to experience it firsthand makes the dream a reality.If ever in Venice again would stay here!,JP

Room Tip: canal view suite was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    175
    24
    6
    6
See reviews for
149
510
30
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thetford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Our third trip to Venice and this is easily the best hotel we have stayed in. On this visit, my wife and I were joined by our son and daughter in law. From the moment we arrived at 11am (obviously too early to check in) we were invited to leave our luggage, offered the use of the bathroom to freshen up then sat down in the breakfast bar while coffee was brought to us free of charge.

The owner Paulo, is a most charming man and would do anything to help us. The rest of his staff were equally helpful. The rooms were gorgeous. Spacious and tastefully decorated. The bathrooms were well appointed and luxurious with the ornate tiling that the Italians do so well. Our room on the second floor had the attractive exposed roof beams. The roof top terrace was a great place to enjoy a drink while watching Venetian life go by below.

On check out day, they looked after our bags again and offered coffee when we collected them. Thank you Paulo.

I said before that this was the best hotel we have stayed at in Venice (last year the 4 star Carlton was a let down) but the best thing is that it was also the cheapest. Next time we visit Venice, the hotel choice is already decided.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were in Venice for the first time and glad we heeded the advice given by TA Experts to stay on the island. This hotel/apartment is located on Sestiere Cannaregio which is near the train station. From the station (facing out), turn left, cross a bridge and turn left again. The front facade of the building may look deceiving (with old wooden door and rusty padlock). The entrance to the front office/lobby is actually located on the side by the alley.

We stayed in an apartment equipped with ultra modern shared bathroom and kitchen. We had to google how to turn on the induction stove top to boil water since we opted out of breakfast and wanted to make our own coffee. There are pots, plates, cups and utensils for guests to use.

Daniele, the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. He had warned us to close our window and pull the curtain if we don't want to attract mosquitoes at night but we still left it ajar the first night and some got in before we realized it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Planning a trip to Venice for the first time was a bit daunting. How to pick a hotel?! I knew we wanted to be on the water, and away from the throngs of tourists as much as possible. After quite a bit of research I settled on the Dogaressa and it was absolutely perfect! It is situated canal-front in the Cannaregio (Jewish Ghetto) neighborhood. It's the perfect spot to have as a home base. Off the beaten path, but a vibrant little area all the same. You will get a true sense of the neighborhood and feel like you are experiencing daily life alongside the locals. Lots of great restaurants nearby--from fancy to just a nice relaxing spot to enjoy your afternoon wine and a snack. Still dream about waking up and taking a leisurely breakfast on the canal (provided daily by the hotel) while watching the world go by. Paolo and the rest of the staff are lovely people and you won't go wrong choosing this hotel. Easy water taxi (vaporetto) ride from the airport, and quite near a water taxi stop for easy navigation. Beautiful room (very quaint--ours was ground floor facing the water) and extremely modern bathroom (feel kind of silly commenting on it--but it was pretty fancy). The beds are quite hard--as were all the beds we slept in during our trip...but I never had a sore back for the entire trip. We split our trip up starting and ending with a few days in Venice and we were more than happy to return back to our home base for the last few days :)

Room Tip: Try to stay facing the canal if you can (some rooms do not face the water)...and give yourself time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in early April 2013.
We arrived around 9:30am, and had no trouble getting here from the airport. (We took the water taxi, which stops very nearby.) It was too early to check in, but were invited to leave our bags and sit and have a coffee and breakfast outside near the canal before heading out to explore Venice.
Though not directly near the tourist areas, we love to walk and walked all the way to St. Marks' square the first day! We did decide on our second day to get a pass for the water bus, which stops nearby, because it made it easier to get where we wanted to go.
There is lots to do and see nearby, and plenty of restaurants and bars. There is also a small market close by, and several stores selling wine, cheeses, meats, fruits etc.
Our room was clean, beautifully decorated, comfortable and HUGE, especially by european standards. We had a view of the canal, which was gorgeous, and a sitting area. (We had a junior suite.)
There is also a patio area on the roof of the hotel, where we sat and drank wine in the afternoon sunshine while watching the world go by. Several times we brought nibbles back to the hotel (cheese, proscuitto), and were offered plates, corkscrews, knives and napkins to make our snacks more enjoyable. Above and beyond!
Although Venice itself was not our favorite stop on our trip, this hotel is by far one of the best I have stayed in in my travels.

Room Tip: If you're debating getting a junior suite, don't hesitate. They're worth the extra money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights before getting on a cruise. It was only about a 10-15 minute walk from the train station and very easy to find once you cross the bridge. It's a good location...quieter and not as close to all the main attractions. I was so excited when we were taken up to our room.. The Venetian decor & beautiful bathroom were really special. We just booked a standard room so our windows only opened to other buildings. Only minor complaint is you had to hold the shower head yourself to take a shower and there was no curtain soo the bathroom got very wet if you didn't want to only take a bath lol

Loved the breakfast out on the canal. Very simple... coffee, breads, yogurts but it was nice to get sit out on the water.

Overall we had a really nice stay here and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ca' Dogaressa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ca' Dogaressa

Address: Fondamenta di Cannaregio 1018, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 382 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ca' Dogaressa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ca' Dogaressa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ca' Dogaressa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.