We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best in town...excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ca' Dogaressa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ca' Dogaressa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fondamenta di Cannaregio 1018, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 382 hotels in Venice
pakistan
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“best in town...excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

One word...excellent.
This hotel in venice was such a great treat. we were coming froma small hotel from paris and though the price of this one was way lesser than teh one in paris, the hotel was absoultely beautiful.
the room, green room was beautiful and so royal in evryway. Even teh bathrooms wer e great and cleana dn the rooms were really spacious. The staff was courtesous except of one guy.
the hotel has teh ebst location with not too many tourists around and still very well closed to teh trains tation as well as saint marks square.

loved it

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    693
    176
    25
    7
    6
See reviews for
144
487
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We booked for 3 nights based on Trip Advisor reviews. This little boutique hotel was a wonderful surprise. We paid a little extra and booked the junior suite on the canal as we had never been to Venice before and wanted the full experience. Our room was spacious, well appointed with supplies and very clean. Decor was very Venetian and just added to the charm. With the wall of windows open you can hear the boats and noises of the people going about their daily lives. Shut the soundproof windows and there is peace and quiet. This area of Venice is definitely more local and we appreciated being able to experience the reality of Venice daily life as boats and people came and went with their supplies - all by water. The day staff was pleasant and gave us good instructions for traveling the water. I was not as impressed with the evening person; not very pleasant and never made us feel very welcome. The continental breakfast got us off to a good start each morning - fresh croissants, cereal, juice, yogurt and coffee, made as you like it. No lift but there is assistance with your luggage which makes this little 3 story hotel very manageable. Many good restaurants are a very close walk. Be careful on the Main Street at the bridge - do your homework on Trip Advisor first as many have poor food, up charges you can't understand and service charges. The Hotel is a very close walk to the Guglie Vaporetta stop and if you purchase the daily tickets you can hop on and off anytime and anywhere you like. After taxis in Rome this was a bargain! Understanding the Vaporetta system seemed intimidating but once we got past that and realized it really is only the same few boats going and coming we were fine. We arrived by train and planned to walk to the hotel but the streets made pulling luggage a little difficult so we employed a nice porter outside the train station for 20 euros and he took us right to the door of the hotel - best money we spent on the trip. For 15 euro each we booked the Aliluguna boat, at the recommendation of our hotel staff, which took us straight to the dock of the airport. Note: I did hear them send a couple to the Annex Building as we were leaving so I would invest in a phone call or email to be sure you are booked in the main hotel. Overall I was happy with the Hotel accomodations, the continental breakfast and the location. I was not as impressed with the staff.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite #5 on the canal is spacious and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Took us a while to find but that is due to our map reading skills! Looks deserted from the front! Lovely boutique hotel with great furniture. Staff very friendly and helpful. Great value for Venice. Breakfast was not bad but croissants were a bit dry (being picky!). Could have done with tea making facilities in bedroom. Other than that it was fantastic would definitely recommend and stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

A great location hotel in Venice, booked initially as it had a high 4.8 rating on Trip Advisor. It did not disappoint in terms of efficient booking, directions to the hotel and then directions to the main attractions.
The staffs were very friendly and although we stayed for only a two night weekend stay, we met 3 different receptionists. The hotel has the feeling of being an upmarket hostel, which is not intended to sound derogatory. Just a note that your stay will be comfortable but it’s not the main purpose of your trip.
The free breakfast was a nice touch as it set you up for a busy days sightseeing. Great value hotel and highly recommended for a great central location for sightseeing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed at Ca'Dogaressa for 4 nights-room overlooked canal. Very clean & tidy. Staff very helpful - highly recommended. Breakfast was continental. Entrance is on the side. Located in a nice part of Venice.
Venice is without doubt the most expensive city in the world. Be careful of restaurants trying to rip you off with their 12.5% cover charge and added extras eg bread & water. Food was very disappointing and not the same standard or quality as in other parts of Italy.
Gondola rides currently 80 Euros but heard some charging 120 Euros.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Venice is an expensive city, so it was good to find this excellent hotel which doesn't break the bank. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms clean and pleasant. The hotel is situated in a mainly residential area in the north of the city. It is very convenient for the train and bus stations. It is quite a long walk to St Mark's Square on the other side of the city, but I didn't mind that, as it gives you a much better idea of how the whole city operates. You can of course also travel easily by vaporetto, though that is quite expensive.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and was given one in a separate building from the main hotel, down the litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Went for a two night break in feb 2012, with three family members in two rooms. Upon arrival, having booked two standard rooms, were pleasantly surprised when given free upgrade to superior rooms each with views over canal at front of hotel.
Rooms were very impressive, exceptionally clean and very well appointed. Lovely bathroom suites, fridge in room, safe in wardrobe, hair dryer etc.
Breakfast was continental and very nice.
Staff always friendly and keen to help in any way possible.
I would highly recommend staying here and would have no hesitation in returning again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Ca' Dogaressa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ca' Dogaressa

Address: Fondamenta di Cannaregio 1018, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 382 hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ca' Dogaressa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Ca' Dogaressa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ca' Dogaressa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.