We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING HOTEL, A REAL CREDIT TO THE OWNERS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ca' Dogaressa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ca' Dogaressa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Travelocity
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fondamenta di Cannaregio 1018, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 381 hotels in Venice
HOVE UK
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“AMAZING HOTEL, A REAL CREDIT TO THE OWNERS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Spent 2 nights here, 26 & 27 November 2012. On arrival we were upgraded to a superior classic room........what a great start !!!. Daniel, the owners son checked us in, so helpful. Room was beautiful, spotless and a good size. Free WIFI, fresh towels everyday.

We chose this hotel based upon previous reviews and I must say that in my opinion it cannot be faulted. Breakfast was very good, ok only a continental breakfast but they had everything required to start the day.......freshly baked croissants and a very good choice of coffees, fresh rolls, refilled coffees.

Location in my opinion was perfect, walk to St Marks was around 25 minutes but we preferred that as in meant "meandering" through some back streets which we enjoyed. It was our intention to only visit St Marks and the usual touristy attractions once but we found that after walking around the area local to the hotel (Jewish Ghetto) we just kept on walking as the sites and architecture were so appealing.

On our first afternoon we came across a Billa supermarket that was only a 5 minute walk from the hotel and we stocked up on fresh rolls, ham and cheese and fruit and ate this at lunchtimes in order to keep costs down. The owner assisted each morning by filling out thermos with boiling hot water..............what a star !!!!!, so accommodating and helpful I really cannot praise the hotel and the owner and his family enough.

Venice is a very beautiful place, it was our first visit and out of season, we also wanted to do this short trip on a budget but with a very nice hotel based upon Tripadvisor reviews. I can confirm that we achieved this and the hotel came through with flying colours. I can confirm that this hotel is everything previous 5 star reviewers have said and I would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel.

I could say so much more but I'm sure readers will all ready get the picture.................IF YOUR VISITING VENICE MAKE SURE YOU STAY AT THIS HOTEL, ITS EVERYTHING OTHER REVIEWERS SAY AND MORE !!!!!.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    666
    164
    23
    6
    6
See reviews for
135
469
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We spent a happy three nights here and were pleased again with the reviews getting it spot on. It's a lovely family run smaller hotel but is a real gem. Our room was at the rear and was a big room for Venice, quiet and clean and tidy. No nonsense bathroom. Maybe next time would pay more and have a canal view from the front of the hotel. Breakfast on the canal side is just great starting your day with the Venice vibe. Location was good for water-bus and trips etc. Make sure you come with plenty of euros it's not cheap anywhere in Venice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Well, Trip advisor community you didn't let us down. This little charmer is set right in the Jewish neighborhood, right on the canal. No it isn't the Grand Canal, but just as cool without the crowds. We stayed in a junior suite, canal view. We decided to pay a bit more, because to come all the way to Venice and not have a beautiful view, didn't make sense to us. The room is beautiful, I'm sure you can see from the pictures. We stayed in the top floor suite (gold room). The pictures are not even as pretty as the wow factor when you open the door for the first time. The room was spotless all the days we stayed. Beautiful marble floors throughout. Venetian glass fixtures. There is a frig in the room, so you can do a little shopping. The T.V. doesn't have many channels, but we didn't come all that way to watch T.V. The wi fi is free and great connections. We even did web cam with out kids. When you open the windows (so cool) the view is incredible. It was hard to believe we were there. We ate breakfast there every morning. It was the same every day, but it was a great start to the day. With the expense of coffee in Italy, it was wonderful to have three cups (american size) every morning. It was too cool to eat outside, which would have been so wonderful. Also the terrace on the roof is not open now because it is too cool. Carlos and all his staff are very helpful and friendly. We asked for some hot water in the evening to make some coffee, and they were more than happy to do that. This inn is very easy to find from the train station and very walkable. Just follow the directions they provide you and you should be able to find it easy. Take note of the picture of the outside of the building seen in Trip advisor and you'll be able to know when you are close. Take note that the entrance is around the corner from the front of the building. We came by train and left by airplane. To get to the airport you can pay about 14 euro each and take the airport boat to the airport. It stops very close to this Inn. There are a lot of water bus boats that stop very close to the Inn. I would recommend a one, two, three day pass on the water bus boats, so you can jump on and off at any point (a three day pass is 35 euro each). Water taxi's are very expensive. You could easily pay 100 euro to get to the airport. The folks at the Inn are very willing to help. Note there may be a price break if you stay more days. Ask them for those details. If we every come back to Venice, we would stay here. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Top floor Jr. Suite. It would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria,BC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

I agree with most of what has been already written about this hotel, so I will avoid restating many points already mentioned. I will add that we did enjoy the location, the vaporetto stop is close for transfer not only to St. Mark's, but to Murano (not really worth the trip, much like Venice but smaller) and Burrano (a real charm, brightly painted homes, quaint canals, lace and restaurants, very unique!). There is shopping, a grocery market and everything needed just around the corner. The hotel itself is wonderfully quiet with its windows and traditional shutters. (We stayed in a junior suite for 4 nights in September).
The hotel fell short in being able to recommend a decent restaurant in Venice. When we asked we were brushed off and told that there were many restaurants around the corner, which was true, however they were horrible tourist traps with bland, mushy, greasy barely edible food. We spent hours trying to locate something of value and taste, and consequently our dining experiences in Venice were mostly disappointing. Secondly, we found the rooftop terrace disappointing. It consists of the cheapest plastic tables and chairs. That is it. The tables are low, the terrace walls high and there is no view while sitting. There has been no effort to make this the magical space it could be, not one plant, no design or decoration attempt.
Finally, the breakfast really was poor. I understand that for Italians breakfast is unimportant, however after travelling throughout Italy for a month we found other similarly priced small hotels offered so much more than 1 croissant , a cheap yogurt and dried prepackaged cookies etc. The coffee was sometimes luke warm, mostly foam and ordering a second cup took so long I began to practice of ordering 2 first thing.
Overall, the hotel experience was moderate, and I would explore other accomodation options if returning to this amazing city!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The staff at this small hotel are wonderful. They are so helpful and nothing seems to be a problem for them. We were asked if we would like to sit inside for breakfast or by the canal and we opted for the canal (a great place for people watching).

The water taxi's are very close by and the railway station is a short walk away. There is some lovely bars down the side streets in this area which are very reasonably priced (one was 80 euro cents for a bottle of beer).

The room was very venetian and beautifully decorated. There was free WIFI in the room too. We have recommended this hotel to our family but its always fully booked and at the price they charge for a room I’m not surprised. Next time we visit Venice we will be checking availability for this little gem of a hotel. Who needs hotels on the grand canal when you have this one.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Albans; U.K.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in November 2012 (including 2 days of serious aqua alta!). This is a great location. Unless you have mobility problems there really is no need to be close to St Mark's Square. This area is less touristy and has some great local bars and restaurants and offers better value for money. We stayed in a ground floor annexe room in a separate building across from the lobby which I think must be a new acquisition because I don't see it within any of the hundreds of photos have been posted by others. A vast room with top quality bathroom fittings and a view over the canal. It was great to have such space in a Venice hotel room.Really good value for money. This is a family run hotel by people who care and it shows - as others have said. However, if you want a hotel with communal areas, a bar, restaurant etc. this is not the place for you. But it suits us and will be our first choice for future visits. However, from searching the hotel booking sites it seems getting a room here in the future will be very difficult.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western Mass
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hotel is clean and is in a great area, the jewish Ghetto, just far enough from the noise but close enought o get to everything. Hotel is family run, the staff and reception were super friendly and helped us with all our needs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Ca' Dogaressa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ca' Dogaressa

Address: Fondamenta di Cannaregio 1018, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 381 hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ca' Dogaressa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Hotel Ca' Dogaressa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ca' Dogaressa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.