We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ca' Dogaressa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Ca' Dogaressa to your Saves list
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fondamenta di Cannaregio 1018, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 381 Hotels in Venice
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The staff at this small hotel are wonderful. They are so helpful and nothing seems to be a problem for them. We were asked if we would like to sit inside for breakfast or by the canal and we opted for the canal (a great place for people watching).

The water taxi's are very close by and the railway station is a short walk away. There is some lovely bars down the side streets in this area which are very reasonably priced (one was 80 euro cents for a bottle of beer).

The room was very venetian and beautifully decorated. There was free WIFI in the room too. We have recommended this hotel to our family but its always fully booked and at the price they charge for a room I’m not surprised. Next time we visit Venice we will be checking availability for this little gem of a hotel. Who needs hotels on the grand canal when you have this one.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    173
    24
    6
    6
See reviews for
149
507
30
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St.Albans; U.K.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in November 2012 (including 2 days of serious aqua alta!). This is a great location. Unless you have mobility problems there really is no need to be close to St Mark's Square. This area is less touristy and has some great local bars and restaurants and offers better value for money. We stayed in a ground floor annexe room in a separate building across from the lobby which I think must be a new acquisition because I don't see it within any of the hundreds of photos have been posted by others. A vast room with top quality bathroom fittings and a view over the canal. It was great to have such space in a Venice hotel room.Really good value for money. This is a family run hotel by people who care and it shows - as others have said. However, if you want a hotel with communal areas, a bar, restaurant etc. this is not the place for you. But it suits us and will be our first choice for future visits. However, from searching the hotel booking sites it seems getting a room here in the future will be very difficult.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western Mass
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hotel is clean and is in a great area, the jewish Ghetto, just far enough from the noise but close enought o get to everything. Hotel is family run, the staff and reception were super friendly and helped us with all our needs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We spend 3 days in Venice this past October. Wonderful small hotel, with great staff. We were late in arriving since we missed our connecting flight. I emailed them from CDG airport telling of our late arrival and he was waiting for us outside the hotel. Very easy to get to the hotel using the Vaporeto. Nice breakfast by the canal. All and all a very clean and beautiful hotel. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My family stayed in this hotel for several nights this summer. Accomodations and service were exceptional. The location was very convenient - its not in a tourist district but you can easily access all of the popular sights from here. The best of Venice is off the beaten path and this location was perfect for just that. Breakfast right on the canal and a rooftop deck for evening cocktails. Kids, grandparents and forty-something me loved everything about this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed here for one night with my boyfriend and was very impressed with this hotel, I wish we could have stayed here longer! The hotel is located in the Ghetto area of Venice, about a ten minute walk from the train station and the location is very convenient if you plan to travel to Venice by train and don't want to carry your bags across the city

The service at the hotel was very good and the staff were friendly and helpful. Inside, the hotel is beautiful with excellent decor and lots of character. We stayed in 'Elizabeth Grimaldi', inside the room was wonderfully decorated with classical Venetian style decor - gold fabric wallpaper, ornate furniture and chandelier-style light fittings. The bathroom was nice also, with a powerful shower and toiletries included.

Breakfast can either be taken in the breakfast room downstairs or delivered to the room - we had ours delivered to the room and were very happy with the breakfast. Fresh pastries, fresh orange juice, excellent coffee and a variety of spreads.

The hotel is located quite far from St Marks Square but the walk there from the hotel is lovely, taking you past all of the main tourist sights. Would recommend this hotel and would be happy to stay there again

Room Tip: Elizabeth Grimaldi is a nice room with a gold theme, high ceilings and a skylight
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It was the second time for us there, our first time was five years ago. We had booked two rooms well in advance (10 months), one overlooking the Cannareggio canal, another one on the back. Rooms are very neat, quiet and offer some space, a luxury in Venice, certainly for this price. Always a pleasure to return there, given the kindness of the staff (always ready to assist, even in English). The hotel has a terrasse and serves breakfast outside along the river when the weather allows it. The hotel is located at approximately an hour walk from St Marc (hence the price), in a place where you have much less tourists and a lot of atmosphere of a still populated neighbourhood, also close to the New Ghetto. You can however take a vaporetto and in 30 minutes you in St Marc; it's also close to the train station (10 min walk). Breakfast is fine (a bit more elaborated than 5 years ago), but don't expect a full buffet like you would get in an international hotel (if you are also looking for a pool or a gym, stay away); you will instead get excellent cornetos, bread, espresso, capuccino, cereals, yoghurt, etc. the suite we had on the canal offers enough space to relax certainly if the weather is rather on the rainy side (not our case), and allows to enjoy the atmosphere of the place. It is also ideally located on the boat line going to and from the airport (Alilaguna).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ca' Dogaressa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ca' Dogaressa

Address: Fondamenta di Cannaregio 1018, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 381 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ca' Dogaressa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ca' Dogaressa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ca' Dogaressa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.