We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ca' Dogaressa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Ca' Dogaressa to your Saves list
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fondamenta di Cannaregio 1018, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We spend 3 days in Venice this past October. Wonderful small hotel, with great staff. We were late in arriving since we missed our connecting flight. I emailed them from CDG airport telling of our late arrival and he was waiting for us outside the hotel. Very easy to get to the hotel using the Vaporeto. Nice breakfast by the canal. All and all a very clean and beautiful hotel. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    180
    25
    6
    6
See reviews for
150
519
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My family stayed in this hotel for several nights this summer. Accomodations and service were exceptional. The location was very convenient - its not in a tourist district but you can easily access all of the popular sights from here. The best of Venice is off the beaten path and this location was perfect for just that. Breakfast right on the canal and a rooftop deck for evening cocktails. Kids, grandparents and forty-something me loved everything about this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed here for one night with my boyfriend and was very impressed with this hotel, I wish we could have stayed here longer! The hotel is located in the Ghetto area of Venice, about a ten minute walk from the train station and the location is very convenient if you plan to travel to Venice by train and don't want to carry your bags across the city

The service at the hotel was very good and the staff were friendly and helpful. Inside, the hotel is beautiful with excellent decor and lots of character. We stayed in 'Elizabeth Grimaldi', inside the room was wonderfully decorated with classical Venetian style decor - gold fabric wallpaper, ornate furniture and chandelier-style light fittings. The bathroom was nice also, with a powerful shower and toiletries included.

Breakfast can either be taken in the breakfast room downstairs or delivered to the room - we had ours delivered to the room and were very happy with the breakfast. Fresh pastries, fresh orange juice, excellent coffee and a variety of spreads.

The hotel is located quite far from St Marks Square but the walk there from the hotel is lovely, taking you past all of the main tourist sights. Would recommend this hotel and would be happy to stay there again

Room Tip: Elizabeth Grimaldi is a nice room with a gold theme, high ceilings and a skylight
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It was the second time for us there, our first time was five years ago. We had booked two rooms well in advance (10 months), one overlooking the Cannareggio canal, another one on the back. Rooms are very neat, quiet and offer some space, a luxury in Venice, certainly for this price. Always a pleasure to return there, given the kindness of the staff (always ready to assist, even in English). The hotel has a terrasse and serves breakfast outside along the river when the weather allows it. The hotel is located at approximately an hour walk from St Marc (hence the price), in a place where you have much less tourists and a lot of atmosphere of a still populated neighbourhood, also close to the New Ghetto. You can however take a vaporetto and in 30 minutes you in St Marc; it's also close to the train station (10 min walk). Breakfast is fine (a bit more elaborated than 5 years ago), but don't expect a full buffet like you would get in an international hotel (if you are also looking for a pool or a gym, stay away); you will instead get excellent cornetos, bread, espresso, capuccino, cereals, yoghurt, etc. the suite we had on the canal offers enough space to relax certainly if the weather is rather on the rainy side (not our case), and allows to enjoy the atmosphere of the place. It is also ideally located on the boat line going to and from the airport (Alilaguna).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My wife and I booked a room at the Ca Dogaressa following a Med cruise that terminated in Venice. We selected this hotel for two reasons: 1) Its proximity to the transportation hubs of Venice (i.e., the cruise terminal/train station), and 2) the previous reviews on Tripadvisor. We found the Ca Dogaressa to be a good value for the money, and would recommend it.

We booked the "Classic Double" through Ca Dogaressa's website. The advertised cost was 150 Euro a night, but they gave us a five percent discount (down to 142.50 Euro a night) for paying cash. I was a bit concerned when we arrived and they gave us room #9 -- the only ground floor room and located immediately adjacent to the check-in desk and the breakfast area. My concern was for the possible noise, but it turned out that noise was not a problem. The room entrance had double doors and the walls had excellent sound insulation. The room itself had only one window which looked out upon a stucco wall about two feet away, so there was some light and air but absolutely no view. The room was quite large (for European hotel rooms) as was the bathroom. Everything in the room and bathroom was new and well-appointed. The TV and internet worked great, as well as the hairdryer (my wife always asks me to mention this). The tub was nice, but although there was a hand-held shower head it was really not possible to take a shower because there was no elevated holder for the shower head. A continental breakfast was included with the room -- it was basic but nice, with fresh bread and croissants, cheese, yogurt, and coffee.

The proximity of Ca Dogaressa to the transportation hubs meant that the hotel was more than a mile (as the crow flies) from San Marco Plaza and its associated tourist throngs. This was not a problem for us. The Vaparetto (water bus) stop was only about 50 meters from the hotel, and we bought three-day Vaporetto tickets (at 35 Euros each) and cruised around and through Venice at our leisure. With the help of a detailed street map provided by the propietor, we took many walks through the amazing pedestrian byways of Venice -- and there was literally something new around every corner and over every canal. There were also several nice restaurants within about 150 meters of the hotel. One great thing about Venice is that every sit-down place you try seems to have superb pizza, pasta, and/or seafood -- so its hard to go wrong.

Be aware that Venice occasional suffers from tidal flooding, particularly in the Autumn and Winter. We were going to set off exploring one morning, when the hotel proprietor looked down at my wife's shoes and shook his head. He said something in Italian and pointed outside, and we saw that we were marooned! The canal upon which Ca Dogaressa sits had flooded, and one needed at least knee-high rubber boots to engage with the flood and move about. No problem, we waited until about two hours after the peak high tide, and again ventured forth into Venice (however, the timing of the tide might be an issue if it coincided with your transfer period for a flight out of the Venice airport, since nothing much moved on the canals during the maximum tide . .. .). The flooding also explained why the floor of our room was done in such beautiful marble -- although the flooding while were there did not quite reach into our room, it was not far below the level of our room, and so if/when the flood did reach into our room the marble would be much easier to clean than, say, carpet or even wood!!

All-in-all, a great little hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcliffe, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We spent 3 nights at this well appointed hotel before our Cruise. We stayed in the "Green Room" overlooking the canal. Three French windows gave us fresh air & it was great to watch the passing parade of boats & people. At night we just closed the shutters & the room was soundproof. Eating breakfast on the wide promenade was a real delight! As stated, there is a bar right next door for evening drinks & they serve a great cappachino as well. There is a great food market, lots of little dress/jewellery/handbags shops & restaurants just down the promenade, just turn left after exiting the Hotel & walk to the bridge, turn left & you are there. We found the restaurants were good & far less expensive than what we had to pay for 4 weeks after the cruise as we holidayed on through most of Italy.The location of the Hotel is only 3 stops from the Venice Airport & only 3 stops further on to the train &/or people mover for cruises. The water buses are great - no hassle even for us "Senior Aussies" Paolo was a great host-limited English but very obliging. Venice is JUST GREAT!

Room Tip: Go for the canal facing rooms - you only live once!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a fabulous stay at Ca' Dogaressa. It is close enough to the train station that walking there (even pulling our wheeled luggage) is not an issue, and the Cannaregio canal is quieter than the Grande canal and still lovely to look at.
The room itself was beautifully decorated and very quiet at night. It was a real treat to have breakfast on the fondamenta, outside of the hotel.
Our hosts were very generous and helpful.
I cannot give a high enough recommendation to this place! It helped Venice to become my favorite place in the entire three week tour of Italy.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the canal are likely to be quieter-- in the morning, at least. The whole area seeme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ca' Dogaressa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ca' Dogaressa

Address: Fondamenta di Cannaregio 1018, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ca' Dogaressa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ca' Dogaressa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ca' Dogaressa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.