We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we loved it, cool and quiet room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ca' Dogaressa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ca' Dogaressa to your Saves list
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fondamenta di Cannaregio 1018, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Nottingham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“we loved it, cool and quiet room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

We pre-booked a room for 2 adults and our 15 year old. The extra bed was a fold down, but fine and we could 'juggle' the furniture a little bit to leave us plenty of floor space.
Our room was on the side of the house, away from direct sun and the street so it suited us. Breakfast was on the waterside, watching the boats and people.
A relief to find that the walk from the bus station wasn't far (although there is a water bus from very close by).
A great place to stay just a short way from the very busy tourist routes and with a couple of good restaurants very near.
One small thing - one of our 3 packets of peanuts bizarrely disappeared whilst the room was being cleaned........we were puzzled but assumed an innocent accident.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    180
    25
    6
    6
See reviews for
150
519
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

I stayed here a couple times- once in December 2010, and then had to return when I revisited Venice January 2011. The rooms are majestic and charming. It is a quaint hotel off the beaten path in Venice. Such a nice stroll from the main road. I would recommend this place to someone comfortable being a bit removed, and able to carry your own suitcase from the train station- not easy to get to by boat.
I stayed here on my own, and truly it was very enchanting and magical.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

I debated whether to get a hotel closer to the Grande Canal- and I am so glad I went with this place! First off, it's close to the train station! So we were able to walk with our luggage when the ATVO bus dropped us off, and easily walk to the train station when catching our train to Florence. Secondly, the service at the hotel is great. We really appreciated that they prepared our breakfast for us at 7am when they found out we were catching an early train. Lastly, the breakfast on the side of the canal is priceless. I am not quite sure if any other hotels offer this unless you are staying at a high-end hotel on the Grande Canal. It's really nice to see a less busy canal in the morning before the day gets started.

The rooms are great- very spacious! And they were very clean!!! We would def come back here when going to Venice!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Charming little room, beautifully decorated and very clean and tidy. Lovely staff.
We had a car and parked at Garage San Marco, and this was about a 10 minute walk with our bags (which was very close compared to some other hotels). It's also quite close to the train station, as well as a water ferry stop. It is however, a fair distance from St. Marks square and the Rialto bridge, but we didn't mind the walk through the bustling streets.
Breakfast by the canal was a great way to start the day.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

My partner and I went for a long weekend for my birthday, the hotel was every bit Venetian as the pictures show on their website, making it even more amazing to stay in. The area was peaceful and far enough from touristy areas but near enough to be in walking distance of everything. Had a wonderful trip, the staff at the hotel were very accomodating and helpful. The maps they provided us with were great.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

My husband, I, and another couple stayed at the Ca Dogaressa for one night in May of 2011. We had a fabulous experience. The rooms were not only beautiful, but well appointed and very clean and we loved the location (near to the train station and out of the touristy areas of Venice). It was very easy to find and the staff was extra accommodating to us, both helping us locate some lost luggage at the airport and letting us store our suitcases there until our train departed the next evening. They also had some great recommendations for eating and getting around. I can’t say enough about the experience! We would all stay there again in a heartbeat and would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Venice.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011 via mobile

We loved our stay at Ca' Dogaressa in Venice. The location is very close to the train station, with a validates stop just 200m away. Paolo is an excellent host, and always charming and helpful. Daniele is efficient and a problem solver. The rooms are lavishly furnished in Venetian style, but with all modern amenities- wifi, sat tv, clean, modern bathroom. able to walk everywhere within 30mins, and only 25 mins ferry ride from murano. Breakfast by the grand canal was a great way to start the day, and paolo's coffee is excellent! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ca' Dogaressa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ca' Dogaressa

Address: Fondamenta di Cannaregio 1018, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ca' Dogaressa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ca' Dogaressa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ca' Dogaressa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.