We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendy and nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
San Marco 2554, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #12 of 439 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very friendy and nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2007

We had a very nice time at B&B AL TEATRO. This was our first experience of Venice, and we had read of some expensive and questionable accommodation - but we booked this on the basis of the very helpful reviews on this site. Our bedroom was an excellent size with a very nice en-suite. All of the rooms had been modernised to an excellent standard. The location was excellent, only 5 minutes from St Marks square and on the corner of two quite canals where you can look out of your bedroom window and see the gondoliers just below you. Eleonora was very helpful in giving advise on where to go and what to see as well as on the history of the house. Breakfast was varied and plentiful. Would recommend this B&B very highly.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    81
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
147
362
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2007

We stayed here in the beginning of July with two families with children. It was very clean and spacious, and is in a terrific location to walk to the many locations throughout Venice. Breakfast was delicious, and Eleanora was constantly busy serving her guests second and third cups of excellent Cappuccino.
Our only complaint was our perceived lack of a 'warm and fuzzy feeling' from our host. Maybe it was that our group had a 2 year old (although the host family has young children of her own living at the B&B), or that we are not used to being in a 3 bedroom B&B and being so up front and personal with the hosts (their bedroom is directly off of the breakfast/family room), but we never felt that 'warm and fuzzy' feeling being exuded by our hosts. It was more impersonal, yet the service was still good - it is hard to explain I guess.
That being said, we were given some good siteseeing ideas and any questions we had were answered well.

  • Liked — Location Location Location
  • Disliked — good but 'impersonal' service
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2007

We loved this B&B. It is in the perfect location. It is in a quiet area right on the canal. Our room had two doors that opened to a balcony right on the water. The gondolas go right past the window. Their was air conditioning in the room and the room was immaculate! Breakfast was excellent!. The locations is central to everything. We loved it and will go back again. We highly recommend this B&B!

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2007

We completely and utterly enjoyed our stay in venice this year and eleonora's wonderful little hotel played a major role in this.

To start with, eleonora gave us accurate directions on how to find it (arriving at nicht and then walking thru venice to find a hotel is more difficult than you would normally ever think) and was very reliable and friendly in all pre-stay communication.

The hotel is 3 minutes from St. Marks Square and very central. agreat place to start off.

We stayed in the green room which is small but absolutely adequate (who stays in the room in venice anyway...). The bathroom had recently been refurbished and was in impeccable condition, the room was very clean, mattresses, pillows, etc. fine. The flat screen was hardly needed, cause we looked right over a canal. No need to watch much TV when you have that cute view. And waking up to gondoleros singing is precious.

In contradiction to most Venitian hotels the breakfast was great.
Eleonora and her family/staff rounded up a great time, being helpful but at the same time politely discreet.

We can highly recommend the hotel.
see you there!

  • Liked — great price value ratio, clean, great location
  • Disliked — .....
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2007

My son and I had a wonderful four night stay at the Al Teatro. Our room was one of the most comfortable I have ever stayed in, and we loved the canal views. We enjoyed the delicious breakfasts including fresh fruit, and especially appreciated the drinks for sale in a fridge in the breakfast room. The free internet access was a great perk as well. The location was perfect - especially since it was close to the vaporetto stop, so we didn't have to lug our suitcases too far. Quiet but close to the action. I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Liked — comfortable rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2007

We thoroughly LOVED our stay at the Al Teatro. The perfect location to get to all the must-sees as well as away from the throngs that can sometimes overwhelm.
We stayed in the Amber Room and enjoyed the balcony as the gondolas floated by below!! What a dream of an experience.
Eleonora, her husband and precious girls were such a pleasure. It is so nice to be able to connect with locals as you travel through Europe and this was perfect for us.
We would heartily recommend a stay with Eleonora to any of our friends and family who are traveling to Venice. You'll know where to find us on our next visit as well!!

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2007

We only stayed one night in the al teatro but found it more than adequate. The room was spacious, clean, well equipped and the view from the balcony was to die for. Didn't have to hire a gondola, we just stood on the balcony and watched them travel down the canal below us, serenading on the way. Location was great, not far from St Mark's Square by foot and also close to water taxi stop at Santa Maria di Giglio. We would stay there again.

  • Liked — view from the balcony
  • Disliked — getting in to the accommodation
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast

Address: San Marco 2554, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 439 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Al Teatro Bed And Breakfast
Al Teatro Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.