We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
San Marco 2554, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #11 of 433 Venice B&B and Inns
London
1 review
“Room with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

My 14 year old daughter and myself stayed here over the Easter break and what a amazing time we had.
The B&B is located on one of the back streets on the canal and and you get the singing gondoliers right outside your window,now that is true Venice.The room is large and cleaned every day.
Eleanora who is the owner is so helpful in every way, informing us of good back street restaurants and places to visit, its like having your own personal guide. We was only a 3 minute walk to Saint Mark's.
Al Teatro is the perfect place to stay in a perfect location and we will certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    79
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
143
348
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windlesham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Not sure whether the previous entry stayed in the right place (or has got confused), since it couldn't be further from our experience. We just returned from spending three nights at Al Teatro, and we had a brilliant time. Firstly, the location is superb. Very easy to find from the airport waterbus, and right in the heart of everything - less than 10 minutes walk to Palazzo San Marco and the Rialto bridge. Our room overlooked a junction of two of the minor canals used as a main thoroughfare by the gondolieri, meaning that we could stand on our balcony and marvel at this unique activity, enhanced by the singers on board many of the gondolas belting out the Italian classics. That's something that will always stay with us! Last, but by no means least we should mention Eleonora. From start to finish she was incredibly helpful, giving excellent travel advice (which water bus lines etc), booking restaurants, providing recommendations on some of the less touristy things to do and generally being a great host in an authentic Venetian family environment - you wouldn't get anything like that from a Best Western (or probably any other hotel). For the reasons above Al Teatro is in my view outstanding value. I did loads of research on Venice accommodation and nothing compared to the location and outlook of this place for the moderate price. Highly recommended to everyone.

Room Tip: Amber room has a balcony, but all have the outlook on the canals!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford CT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This was my 3rd trip to Venice. This was best place I have ever stayed. Everything from room to location to hospitality was perfection. It just has three rooms, each is exquisite. Extremely clean, lovely and comfortable with touches of the classic Venetian beauty of its former life. The highlight is Eleanora. She is warm, friendly, knowledgeable and helpful as to what to do, guides if needed, rstaurants that are local and not touristy. She is there at breakfast and then not bit it makes you feel you are going home not at a hotel. The location is at the back of Il Fenice the opera house on a quiet canal out of the usual hustle and bustle but perfect location. You are a couple of minutes walk with no bridges from vaparetto stops, just a few minutes from Saint Marks. It was a perfect place to stay. We also met lovely people at breakfast who return year after year. I recommend Al Teatro and cannit wait to return to my Venetian "home."

Room Tip: We loved corner room! But all re beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigtuna, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

The management does not accept creditcards and does not use a cashregister.
The price is not reflected in the standard nor the service.
I paid 160 Euro for a bed and breakfast, and spent my second night at Best Western for 104 Euro which is more value for the bucks.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We went to Venice for the first part of our honeymoon and could not have hoped for a more warm greeting from the owner - Eleonora. Eleonora was so hopeful right from our very first email conversation and throughout our 5 night stay. As other reviews have stated, Al Teatro really is in the heart of Venice but somehow manages to offer quietness when needed, despite being only a 5 minute walk from the most amazing places Venice has to offer. Eleonora made us amazing and varied breakfasts each morning with a host of fresh fruits and wonderful breads. We can truly say that when we return to Venice we will only consider staying at Al Teatro. Thank you Eleonora for a wonderful stay and for all of your guidance on the best places to visit and eat for the real Venetian experience.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We love to go to Italy whenever we can! Al Teatro B&B is our favorite place to stay in our favorite city, Venice. The location is unbeatable: in the middle of everything, yet somehow quiet and off the beaten path at the same time. That's Venice: a surprise around every corner! A little tricky to find, but well worth the effort. Eleonora will do everything she can to make your stay perfect. The rooms are extremely clean, the bath perfectly appointed, and the bed very comfortable (beds can be quite hard and not so comfy in Italy). Eleonora will start your day with a lovely breakfast and some great advice for sights, restaurants, and activities. You will be so happy you chose Al Teatro.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Perfectly situated near the Grand Canal and St. Mark's Square, but away from the crowds, this B&B is the ideal place to stay in Venice. On the side of a canal, this B&B is in an ancient building with steep stairs up to the 1st floor. The bedroom and the en suite bathroom were modernised and very comfortable and, from our balcony, we could watch the gondolas passing by.The excellent breakfasts were served in the dining room.
Eleonora, our host, made us feel very much at home. She was a mine of information and gave us tips of places to visit, and not just the main sights of Venice, and restaurants to try.
Our stay at B&B Al Teatro was an important and enjoyable part of experiencing the atmosphere of Venice alongside the sights and treasures of this beautiful city. We would love to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast

Address: San Marco 2554, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Al Teatro Bed And Breakfast
Al Teatro Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.