We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B in a top location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
San Marco 2554, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #11 of 433 Venice B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B in a top location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights at Al Teatro B&B at the beginning of June 2013. It was terrific accommodation in a very central location. Eleanora was a great host.

We stayed in the Amber room which had a small balcony overhanging a canal where gondalas travelled. The B&B is on an intersection of 3 canals. We loved having a drink while watching the gondalas go by, especially when they had a singer on board. The location was excellent for exploring Venice and only required short walks to areas of interest. It was close to San Marco and was in a nice quiet area. You can catch a water taxi to the door. There is a vaporetto stop on the Grand Canal very close to the B&B. Elenora's instructions to reach the B&B from the vaporetto stop were easy to follow and it took only 5 mins to reach the B&B.

Our room was spacious and had all we needed. It contained a bedroom, bath room and balcony. The bathroom was a good size and had plenty of hot water with good water pressure. We apprecaited the electic kettle to make tea and coffee. The bedroom and bathroom were very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was very good and there was plenty.

Elenora checked in with us at breakfast as to our plans for the day and gave us good suggestions. We took up some of the suggestions including places to eat. Her suggestions were spot on.

If we return to Venice we will definitely stay at Al Teatro B&B. Thank you Eleanora for a memorable holiday in Venice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    79
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
143
348
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here for our 20 year anniversary trip through Italy. We stayed in the Green room, very roomy, loved listening to the singer and accordion player on the gondola go by our balcony every day, just beautiful.
Eleanora is the best host, her cappuccinos are the best I've ever had.
Loved the neighborhood, great bars and restaurants...would definitely stay again

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The B&B is located a short walk from Piazza San Marco making it a brilliant base for exploring Venice. Our room was very comfortable and clean and had a small balcony overlooking the canal. Elenora was really helpful and it was great to have the advice of someone who really knew where to go and what to avoid. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed for just 2 nights but we had a wonderful time. We booked this B&B based on TripAdvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. All the pre-tip communication from B&B owner Eleanora was very helpful so upon arrival at the airport we knew exactly how to navigate our way to the B&B. The B&B itself is delightful and is very authentic. It is nice to know that you are getting a true slice of Venice. It is exceptionally well located and it was very easy to walk everywhere or hop on and off the water buses. The accommodation was spotless and had all the amenities that you might need. The view from the room looking down to the water and the passing gondolas and other boats was superb - a real bonus. The bed was very comfy and the air conditioning was very effective. It was very helpful to have a small fridge in the room which was stocked with bottled water and soft drinks for purchase - the price charged was not inflated - nice to be able to grab a drink and not worry about paying over the odds for it. Our whole Venice experience was fantastic helped by the fantastic recommendations suggested by Eleanora. It was nice to get the lowdown on things such as good places to eat, recommendations on which ice-cream shop to go to, best water bus routes etc. Thanks for such a great stay. We'll be back and send our friends your way too!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Louth, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Have just returned from a three night stay with Elenora and I can't say enough good things about her. From the minute we arrived, to the minute we left we couldn't have asked for any more. The room we stayed in (the green room) was immaculate. Every day she spent at least 20 minutes advising us on where to go or what to see. The location is amazing, just 5 minutes from St Marks! We will definitely be returning on future trips to Venice!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Al Teatro B&B in the Amber Room. We loved everything about our stay. The location cannot be beat for exploring Venice yet being able to escape the crowds. Eleanor was very helpful with tips and suggestions and served up a yummy breakfast each morning. It was such a treat to watch and listen to the gondoliers as they passed through our canal each day!

Room Tip: Splurge for the Amber room with the little balcony - totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

To start, directions on the website from the airport are accurate - we took the bus, then Valporetta, then 2 block walk. Before arriving I didn't know what "no bridges" meant, but trust me, now I know, and it's important to have "no bridges" when dragging luggage to your destination. Al Teatro is off a very quiet calle, with canals on 2 sides. Eleanora greeted us by carrying our typical American over-stuffed suitcases up the stairs She was so helpful throughout our stay, recommending restaurants, grocery stores, directions, and best of all, the private water taxi from the B&B to the cruise port. Breakfast was simple, but delicious - and very substantial. Rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious - ours had a standing balcony for viewing the canal and gondolas as they passed, Location is perfect: The B&B is within minutes walking distance from the Opera House, Grand Canal, Piazza San Marco, Academia, and my favorite, Campo San Stefano. Venice is magical - just walk everywhere - and come home to the warmth and comfort of B&B Al Teatro!

Room Tip: Amber room has a nice balcony overlooking the canal. One of the other rooms is on the corner and ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast

Address: San Marco 2554, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Al Teatro Bed And Breakfast
Al Teatro Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Teatro Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.