We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and value for the money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ca Formosa

Save Saved
You added Ca Formosa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ca Formosa
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Castello 4857, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #302 of 418 Venice B&B and Inns
VA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent location and value for the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I reread some of the other reviews and understand why some people might not have given good reviews. But get a life here, we are talking about Venice...expensive, beautiful, easy to get lost in all those little streets yes. Was the hotel hard to find? Yes. Were there lots of steps? Yes (find a hotel in Venice that does NOT have steps!). All of this is part of Venice. Ca Formosa has the same owners as Ca Malipiero...we didn't mind going over there to get wifi, they have a huge lobby and it overlooks the Plaza, which was lovely. We got take out dinner several nights and ate there...our room was clean, big enough for 4 people and private bath. The breakfast was excellent...linen table cloths, lots of food choices (cereal, eggs, bread, pastries, coffee/tea/juice). It was next to the Palazzo Grimanni which we toured one day, an absolutely lovely place. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    37
    25
    17
    16
See reviews for
14
51
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My biggest peeve with this hotel is the deceptive (not to say OUTRIGHT LYING) description. Firstly, we booked a King size bed room and got a tiny double. Secondly, the description says wi-fi is available and complimentary. This is an outright lie. There's no wi-fi at Ca Formosa. The owners offered us to go to their other property in order to use wi-fi. How convenient is that? Other than that, it is extremely hard to find this hotel; it is literary hidden and signage is extremely poor.

The only thing that saved our stay is the breakfast. The lady who cooks and cleans the room is very tidy and their coffee is probably the best coffee we had in Italy. A big hand to her, and a big frown to the deceiving owners.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I had booked Ca Formosa but we ended up having to stay in the attic at Ca Malipiero around the corner.

We had booked the 'economy room' here and ended up with the attic in their sister hotel.

Read my Ca Malipiero review for the story there since that was the actual hotel we stayed in.

I'd be very wary about booking a room at this hotel and i'd recommend avoiding the economy room because the pictures i added is what you'll get.

Room Tip: Avoid economy room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Fantastic location,short walking distance to piazzza st marco and other local attractions.Hotel very clean,rooms well equpipped (towels,toiletries in the bathroom,hair dryer etc.).Breakfast very basic,not much of a choice- but still good,considering the fact that we only paid 150 pounds for 3 nights,for 2 people.I've booked one room for 4 people,as we went with our friends and it was much cheaper than 2 double rooms.It turned out that we had two separate double rooms,with the our own hallway and a bathroom,which i think was great.It was very hard to find the hotel,good job we had a satnav with us.Venice beautiful but very expenisive!We spend around 500 pounds(beetwent 2 of us) over 3 days- thats on food,drink( eating mostly takeaway or shopping in the local supermarket),entance fees and public transport.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We arrived late Sunday evening and got a bit lost but luckily a friendly local waiter directed us down the dark, spooky alleys and we finally found ca Formosa! The lovely local worked at a fab resturant called carluccio's a 2 min walk from hotel that sold lovely food for very reasonable prices so worth a visit! Once we finally found it, we then had to go to a different place first to get the key and after several flights of stairs we reached our room(not sure how anyone of poor physical health or the elderly would cope- its a long way up and no lift) The room was perfectly ok, a little cold as the air conditioner was broken and stayed constantly on the whole time we were there! The room had an ensuite, tv and fridge with a reasonable mini bar with water, soft drinks and small beers ranging from 1.50 euros to 3. The room was basic but very, very clean and cleaned every morning by polite but discrete staff you rarely saw anyone around and Were pretty much left to ur own devices which was fine by us!! Breakfast was a bit samey but fine for a short break. Hotel was in an Ideal location and Venice is fantastic!!! Fron the airport (Marco Polo) You need to get a water bus (Alilaguna company) which was 15 euro pp each way on the Blue line to San Zacharria and then a short walk to hotel (take a good map as all roads look the same!) Like I said Venice is an amazing place but can be very pricey so take spends and stick to back streets for cheaper meals ranging from 50 euros to 70 for two people including wine. Everything is seriously overpriced in main tourist places like San Marco but the beautiful church and bell tower is a must visit! Overall ca Formosa is an acceptable and very good value accommodation choice for a short break if u want clean, quiet and no frills and February was the perfect time in my opinion to visit the most romantic, unique place I've ever been! We will be back!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel had a great location, near one of Piazzas and Rialto Bridge. The room was tiny, but decent. for Venetian standards. The staff were super friendly. We had a decent breakfast, even though we had to walk over to the sister hotel.

Room Tip: Stay at the bottom floor for a bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halkidiki
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

In the hotel we were moved to another hotel, it seemed they are in common, because this hotel didn't have a name. It was attic room and was soooo small, so we couldn't move without hitting our heads. Shower and WC were outside of the room, but it seemed that us only were using it. The hotel has very good location, building is very old, interiors are very old-fashioned and that gave us a very specific mood. In the mornings were could smell fantastic fresh bakery - and it was one of the best croissants in the world! We were so tired, so we could sleep well, but walls are so thin, so we could hear all the noises in the corridor and next rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ca Formosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca Formosa

Address: Castello 4857, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #302 of 418 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca Formosa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Ca Formosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca Formosa Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca Formosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.