We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Le Boteghe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed and Breakfast A Le Boteghe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed and Breakfast A Le Boteghe
Save
You added Bed and Breakfast A Le Boteghe to your Saves list
Calle de le Boteghe 3438, 3438 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro / Accademia)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 444 Venice B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Le Boteghe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at A Le Boteghe. Clara met us at the vaporetto and within a few minutes we were standing outside the B&B. After several flights of stairs we were in our room making ourselves comfortable. Right in the heart of San Marco, there were restaurants, galleries, and mini supermarkets nearby. We loved the area and felt right at home. Satisfying breakfasts were served each morning and Clara was attentive to our coffee requests. Venice requires stamina but if you can't keep up the pace all day, it was very convenient heading back to the B&B for a siesta and building up energy reserves for a night out.

On our last day we were able to leave our luggage at the B&B and collect it when we were ready to head back to the airport. Another very thoughtful touch from our host was leaving the comfort facilities available for our use after we'd checked out.

I'd go back tonight if I could!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
34
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

In that most famous of cities, picturesque and waterlogged Venice, can be found a lovely bed and breakfast called B&B A Le Boteghe.

As more residents flee Venice, it being a fairly impractical place to live in this modern day and age, most of those who do remain have turned their attention towards tourism, the city’s number one industry. This is the case for Clara and Giordano, who have converted their home into a splendid bed and breakfast. Surprisingly affordable for a city that, let’s be honest here, ain’t cheap to visit, this B&B has got everything you could want. ...Except perhaps an elevator.

A Le Boteghe occupies the third floor of a typical Venetian palazzo, which we never could have found had Giordano not graciously met us at the water taxi (as he does for all his guests). Taking careful note of directions and landmarks, it still took us the better part of an hour to find it again later that night. In retrospect, our note was not so careful. Upon entering, motion sensors turn on lights for you to reveal a Neoclassical Italian common area, dominated by a dark wood dining table and overhung with a delicate Murano glass chandelier. Stark white doors lead to three rental rooms of varying sizes, as well as the (privato) impressive kitchen and residence of Clara, Giordano and daughter Erica, who, at eight years old, plays the part of hostess with as much charm and grace as do her parents. Our room, the smallest of the three, was quite comfortable and stylish. Light and airy, with stunning polished terrazzo floors, large windows, rich wood accents and rustic beamed ceilings, it was simple yet elegant, the hallmark of modern Italian design. Air conditioning, satellite TV, reading lamps, convenient switches and outlets were all welcome comforts. There was even an electronic mosquito deterrent, a big bonus for those like me who insects see as a walking buffet, but who prefer open windows to AC at bed time (there are no screens in Europe).

The bathroom is a masterpiece. Ultramodern, yet classically styled, it blends antiquey Italian tile and trims (really, in Italy?) with state of the art appliances. There is a large pedestal sink in which you can wash up or do your wash, a toilet with both short and long flush options (come now, you can figure out why), hair dryer, extra large, fluffy bath towels hung on a warmer rack, and even a bidet (which, if you have never tried one, can be an odd, almost zen-like experience). The shower stall, with it’s sliding glass doors, is a tad small, but as the shower head is completely adjustable for position and height (or can be handheld if you prefer) this was not much of a problem. Water temperature did fluctuate a bit, but not so much as to cause severe angst.

It is no wonder that this place is so well designed, as Giordano, when not meeting guests at the water taxi or drawing out directions on maps, is an architect. He is enthusiastic, friendly, helpful and speaks English quite well. Clara, who is pleasant and accommodating, served us our breakfast (available 8:30 - 9:30 AM) with Erica’s help. Croissants, rolls, cereal, juice, yogurt, coffees, teas, various jams and, most important for any chocoholic (boy did I have a hard time prying my wife away from the breakfast table), Nutella, made a fine start to the day.

If you don’t have the cash to stay with the hoighty-toits on the Grande Canal, and can hack the three flights of slightly cockeyed steps, then this is the place for you. Good price, good ambiance, good people and good fun.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Between San Marco square and Rialto Bridge, difficult to do better. Clara is the owner & hostess and does a great job. She met us at the San Angelo vaporetto stop and escorted us to the B&B. It would have been very difficult to find on our own. The room and bath are quite new construction well kept, and of high quality. The bath has tiny shower, toilet, sink, bidet. The only negative is no elevator and on the 4th floor! Felt like a lot of stairs after a day walking around Venice. The price was 116 Euro per night which was high for us on this trip, but this is an expensive city. The breakfast was very simple, croissants, cereal, yoghurt, fruit with coffee/tea.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This B&B has a spectacular location in Venice. A great home-base for all the walking you'll do as you explore the city. The owner, Clara, met us at the water bus stop and walked us to the B&B. I'm so glad she did, because we never would have found it otherwise. Upon arrival, she gave us a cold drink and we talked a bit about what we wanted to see and do during our visit. Clara gave us a map and made some great suggestions that we hadn't thought of.
Our room was cute and quaint. The bed was comfortable and there was plenty of space for all of our stuff. The shower was super tiny, but we didn't expect otherwise. The water was hot and the towels were clean!
The daily breakfast was delicious--Clara makes a great espresso! It gave us a good start each day.
My only complaint was that the wi-fi signal wasn't very strong. At the end of a fun day of sightseeing, I find it fun to connect with friends on Facebook and share my photos and stories, but the wi-fi was so slow I could never connect. Not a deal-breaker by any means.
Everything about this place was great and we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We recently visited Venice for 4 days May 22-26, 2012, and stayed at Le Boteghe B&B. We were not disappointed. The place was clean and tidy and is close to two water bus station and the place was an easy walk to everywhere, e.g. San Marco Square.

Giordano was a wealth of information, being born and raised in Venice and an architect and Clara made a wicked delicious Cappuccino. It is located on the 3rd floor, but enjoyed the extra exercise.

We would surely come back to this B&B. Thank you Giordano and Clara.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Not far from the Grand Canal, within easy walking distance of both Piazza San Marco and the Accademia Bridge and Dorsoduro, A Le Boteghe is a great find in Venice. Clara was a gracious and attentive host, and breakfast each day was a sociable affair with good food and great cappucino. The rooms are bright, clean and comfortable, and fairly quiet in the evening even with a couple of restaurants just around the corner. With several good piazzas for people-watching very close, and ready access to the vaporetto #1 on the Grand Canal, it's a great spot to stay in Venice - very good value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We loved our time here. They are in a perfect location between Rialto and San Marco square on a quiet side street. We highly recommend staying here - you'll love it!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#50 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,234 reviews
Castello
Oceano Mare B&B
Oceano Mare B&B
#22 of 444 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Castello
B&B Venice Hazel
B&B Venice Hazel
#187 of 444 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Giudecca
Casa Genoveffa
Casa Genoveffa
#144 of 444 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
San Marco
Locanda ai Bareteri
Locanda ai Bareteri
#58 of 444 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 381 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Casa Boccassini
Hotel Casa Boccassini
#183 of 444 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast A Le Boteghe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast A Le Boteghe

Address: Calle de le Boteghe 3438, 3438 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed and Breakfast A Le Boteghe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.