We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bright, well-located and hospitable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bed and Breakfast A Le Boteghe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed and Breakfast A Le Boteghe
Calle de le Boteghe 3438, 3438 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 416 Venice B&B and Inns
Alberta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bright, well-located and hospitable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Not far from the Grand Canal, within easy walking distance of both Piazza San Marco and the Accademia Bridge and Dorsoduro, A Le Boteghe is a great find in Venice. Clara was a gracious and attentive host, and breakfast each day was a sociable affair with good food and great cappucino. The rooms are bright, clean and comfortable, and fairly quiet in the evening even with a couple of restaurants just around the corner. With several good piazzas for people-watching very close, and ready access to the vaporetto #1 on the Grand Canal, it's a great spot to stay in Venice - very good value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    8
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We loved our time here. They are in a perfect location between Rialto and San Marco square on a quiet side street. We highly recommend staying here - you'll love it!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

My daughter and I spent 3 nights in this lovely B&B. Clara and Giordano are perfect hosts, so friendly and helpful. The location is great, the rooms are spotless and quiet, breakfast is lovely. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonds,washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

My wife and I stayed at this B&B for four nights in May of 2009. We have visited Venice on 5 occasions before this and found this to be a great find. Wonderful location, quiet, helpful hosts, and reasonable price. It was unseasonably hot for those few days and the modern air/heating unit worked great........none of that annoying rattling sound you get from the older units.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

We had a really nice stay at this B&B in the centre of Venice in April 2010. Our room was clean and cosy, and the hotel is very well located in a peaceful street of the S. Marco district. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was OK too.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taranaki
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

I read the reviews prior to booking and again was struck at how different people's experiences are. 'Lovely, warm' to 'she took an instant dislike' ! It is ever a surprise to read through a sequence of reviews.

Since it's compulsory to have a tagline above, I've done so but actually have no experience of staying at A le Boteghe. Upon arrival I duly phoned Giordano and he suggested I stop at San Angelo vaporetti. Sure enough he was there and waiting, friendly, excellent English - but along with a helpful conversation on some of the features of the Venitian neighbourhood - somewhat muted informing me that "I don't seem to have a record of your reservation". Fortunately, I had a print-out of their letter of confirmation; so no problems really and he'd set up in the few minutes since my phone-call a substitute with a neighbouring establishment. He explained that it was more expensive than their E70, but he would pay the difference.

The substitute place was indeed attractive inside, but as ever the situation in Italy, it follows the pattern of not being actually owner-occupied. No matter... all was well, but I did miss the opportunity of enjoying what, according to reviewers comments in general - might be a very nice host/hostess experience. IReluctantly, their has to be a 'black mark' somewhere in this report; it is probably not good that a host fails to record a booking, or save their E-mails, at least.

  • Liked — Seems popular
  • Disliked — A bit of inefficiencyin booking procedures
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2007

We really enjoyed our stay at A Le Boteghe for 3 nights in May, 07.

Clara and Giordano had contacted us when a B&B proprietor friend of theirs was booked and provided our room request info to them. They were very attentive and prompt with emails and booking, working flexibly with our budget.

Giordano, an architect by trade, was so welcoming when we arrived late at the S. Angelo vaporetto stop our first night. A gentleman with the bags for my wife, he also spent a good hour talking architecture, art and Venetian history with us, plus giving us several good recommendations for osteria and activities to maximise our short stay. We talked till we lost track of time and realised we needed to eat, and discovered Venice closes down earlier than other Italian cities like Rome, Florence, etc. At this time it's 22:00 so Giordano escorts us to a nearby osteria Enoteca and treats us to our first glass of wine in Venice (the sparkling red wine Raboso). Since we love to try the local specialities he made recommendations for all the courses of a Venetian dinner of cold antipasta items, called "cicchetti". We loved everything he recommended: the fried sardines, sardines in "saor", baccala (preserved and reconstituted codfish), octopus salad, veggies, etc. Nothing was awful, some was wonderful, though most are quite out of the norm for our regular diet. We are so glad for this level of attentive hosting that made our first hours in Venice memorable. And nothing let's you immerse yourself quickly into a new culture like trying new foods. (And don't miss Enoteca's tiramisu, nearly the best we had during our 2.5 week Italian trip.) We also loved Giordano's recommendations for eating in Cannareggio, the more residential section of the city.

Clara and Giordano live near the B&B which is the restored flat Giordano grew up in. It is nicely appointed and comfortable. Ample books, a few games, and little toys for the kids send the message, "You are welcome here. Please stay a while." And how how we wish we could stay with them again and see more of this beautiful city.

The well-dressed Clara cheerfully attended to us each morning with a delicious, balanced --if simple-- Italian breakfast of juice, tea, coffee, croissants, rolls, spreads, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit and coddled eggs. She was so kind and willing to answer all our questions. We loved her suggestion to visit the isle of Torcello, since I love Byzantine art. Everything we did we enjoyed, and all their recomendations felt personal and attentive--even if they may or may not be similar recommendations they give to all guests.

Otherwise, we didn't see our hosts. If we needed them they were a phone call away. Even volunteered to come take us home if we enjoyed the wine bars too much. That service was never needed, but we appreciated the attention. Otherwise the flat felt like home: quiet, clean and waiting for us after each busy day.

We liked the proximity to San Marco, where we enjoyed music on the piazza every night, yet the neighborhood was a little off the path of the most touristed streets. It was quiet and we found it easy to reach by foot and vaporetto. Sometimes we got lost, but isn't that the purpose of a visit to Venice? A quick check of the nice complementary map later we were back on our way. The residence is on the third floor, and since there are no lifts in Venetian apartment buildings that means a climb is in order. Was no bother for us "one bag" travelers, but could be an imposition on travelers more loaded with baggage.

The rooms are adequately appointed: comfortable beds, if a touch short for my 6'1" frame; ample outlets; well lighted; a good sized bath (by Italian standards). They are willing to provide clean towels each morning if one wants, but we liked their environmentally sensitive policy to encourage repeat towel use. Venetian engravings adorn the walls throughout, as does restored or original architechtural elements like the beamed ceilings and terrazzo floors.

No "view" per se, but as the top floor it is not a claustrophobic place by any means. The bedrooms are very large for what we had seen elsewhere. From the window you can see the nearby roofs and the steeple of the nearby church. Ample natural light. Good tasting tap water. Would be nice to have local phone service access in the common dining room area, though Clara was willing to make calls on our behalf for reservations. A common area PC would be nice, too. Price was really good for this section of the city, and they worked to keep our budget, which was fair if not generous for the early tourist season.

We appreciated the flexibility, kindness, attention and location in the heart of Venice. Payment was by cash only, but this was common to all B&Bs we stayed. Departing from here to Marco Polo airport is easy too. Alilaguna has added a brand new line departing from S. Angelo stop. Just one hour away and 12 Eur per person. (Pricey but reasonable by Venetian standards.) Would definitely stay here again and heartily recommend B&B A Le Boteghe.

  • Liked — Proximity to sites, friendly attentive hosts
  • Disliked — No PC availability
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bed and Breakfast A Le Boteghe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast A Le Boteghe

Address: Calle de le Boteghe 3438, 3438 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 416 B&Bs / Inns in Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed and Breakfast A Le Boteghe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bed and Breakfast A Le Boteghe to your Saves list