We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ca' d'Oro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ca' d'Oro to your Saves list
Hotel Ca' d'Oro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cannaregio 4604, 30131 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 383 Hotels in Venice
michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

My husband and I spent three nights here. We had a room overlooking the canal. What a sight! The room was large with a large bathroom for European standards. We had no problems with check-in, front desk staff were friendly. The hotel offers breakfast in the morning. It was nice to not have to search for breakfast. Just go downstairs grab a croissant, fruit and espresso and out the door for the day! Location is ideal. Off the beaten path a bit so very quiet at night time. The rooftop terrace is two tables but a great view of the sky and canal below. We would definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: Spend the few extra bucks for a canal side room...you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    182
    43
    13
    15
See reviews for
54
181
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I'm not sure what a previous reviewer means about being 'charged for things they don't tell you about' - utter hogwash. You get charged for a room and the Venice tax and any extras you have like a glass of wine. Service is fine, just not OTT, and the beds are normal beds; perhaps 'larger' people would find them problematic, but not the majority I'm sure. Breakfast is standard but not over wide in the range of things available, but it does fine. Location is good and as always in Venice it's surrounded by interesting calle etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights here in a room overlooking the canal. The room was quite small but well equipped. We were given a bottle of Prosecco as we were celebrating a birthday and anniversary. The staff were most obliging and friendly. Breakfast was adequate consisting of cereals, toast, cheese, ham etc and juices along with hot beverages. Only a short walk from the water bus stop and the station could be reached within a quarter hour. Overall very good.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

The property Improperly described hotel rooms ....service was rude they charge you for things that they do not tell you about and they have unsafe practices with room keys. Beds are very small not what Americans will be use to.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights as a treat to me from my partner. Our room number 302 was lovely, with views over the canal. A nice touch was a bottle of Prosecco waiting for us for our anniversary, on the house. The owner was a friendly person who always had a smile for us. Breakfast was fair, however if you go at later times then some things run out. The housekeeping is great. Room always cleaned perfectly and toiletries topped up. The housekeeper even noticed I had put a blanket under my pillow and added another pillow for me. The Wifi worked better than at home! The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the water bus and is close enough for all of the attractions, without being in the noisy parts. We would not hesitate to use this hotel if we were to come back to Venice.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Ca d'Oro is a lovely hotel.
Catch the blue line waterbus, from the airport, to Fundemonte Nouve. This is the 2nd stop from the airport, takes about 30 minutes and costs 15 Euros, then the hotel is an easy 5 minutes walk.
The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from St. Marks Square, less to Rialto Bridge, but is in a peaceful area which is served well by local bars and restaurants.
Breakfast was above average with cheese, cereals, hams, cake, fruit, juices and a selection of tea and machine coffee.
Our room was quite small but it was clean, comfortable and warm and was well serviced every day. The bed was very comfortable but 2 pillows would have been preferred.
Only slight gripes were we encountered a Venice 'high tide' on one night which could have been better publicised by the hotel and we were a bit embarrassed not to have been made aware of the 'city tax' which was expected to be paid in cash at the end of the stay....when we had spent all our Euros.
These are minor matters. I happily recommend Ca d'Oro and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Me and my partner stay here for 3 nights, we caught the 'Alliguna boat' 'blue line' from the airport to 'Fondamenta Nouve' the hotel is the around a five minute walk from there. The room we stayed in overlooked the water which was perfect. The room have private bathroom with a hairdryer. Towels are changed daily. The rooms have tvs.

Breakfast is served downstairs and is continental, bread, ham, egg, yoghurt, jams etc...
Plenty of tea, coffee and fruit juice.

The hotel is around a five minute walk from the Riatlo Bridge and an extra 10 to st marks square.

The hotel serves drinks, wine, beer etc and has a bar area to sit in!

Overall this hotel is in a great location, near lots of places to eat.

Would go back!

Room Tip: Ask for two pillows as they only give you one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ca' d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ca' d'Oro

Address: Cannaregio 4604, 30131 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#129 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#132 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ca' d'Oro 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ca' d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ca d Oro
Ca d Oro Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ca' d'Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.