We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice little hotel close to the Grand Canal.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ca' d'Oro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ca' d'Oro to your Saves list
Hotel Ca' d'Oro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cannaregio 4604, 30131 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A nice little hotel close to the Grand Canal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Ca D'oro with some friends for two nights. The hotel is a little recessed but we found it... Do not pack heavy, as you will have to drag your case from the car to the boat (Vaporetto), then to the pedestrian only street. The hotel was clean, and all we needed. Venice is not cheap, but the rate included a very nice breakfast, with some good espressos...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    182
    43
    13
    15
See reviews for
54
181
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here this August (2012) The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. Our 2nd floor room was very clean and the air conditioning was a god-send in the heat of August. We took our daughter and were surprised to find the room was quite large even with an extra bed in there. The bathroom was also large and was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was fine with continental breakfast, cereals, fruit juice, nice latte coffee out of the machine. If you get the lift up to the top floor, there is a roof terrace literally on top of the tiles where you can get some great rooftop shots of Venice. I got some great sunsets from there. If you come out of the hotel and turn left rather than right, then you can walk through all the back alleyways of Cannaregio and eventually you will end up on the quayside.Before you reach the quay there's a large white church (Chiesa dei Gesuiti) Just past it there is a great restaurant / bar on the left hand corner of the quay. It is used by all the Vaporetto staff so you know the food is good and much cheaper than in the centre of Venice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martigny-Croix, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The hotel was lovely, spotlessly clean and with a nice firm mattress. We had a room (which was quite large and airy) on the courtyard side and although we were on the first floor we didn't hear a thing all night long. I also liked that the room had hardwood floors, seems cleaner than carpeting. The desk staff was extremely helpful, they all spoke English giving us tips for restaurants and directions, etc. And the breakfast buffet was filling with lots of choices, although I would have preferred fresh fruit salad to the canned that they served. But they did have lot of fresh fruit too. Very conveniently located, close to the Ca d'Oro vaporetto stop.

Room Tip: We had 104 which was a good sized room but I would have preferred something higher. But this was th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We liked the easy to find location of the hotel not far from all the activity with a friendly welcoming atmosphere just as the brochure pictured. The room 104 was clean and well equipped with a wonderful view of a side canal and the air conditioning was very quiet. We both had an undisturbed 3 nights sleep. The breakfast buffet was well stocked and was able to get a coffee before retiring to our room. The Rialto Bridge was only 5 minutes away so ideal for touring the area. We took the free trip to Murano and the water taxi picked us up from the hotel dock which made us feel really special. Thank you Ca`D`oro for a wonderful weekend and have highly recommended you to our friends back home.

Room Tip: Choose a canal view for the Venice experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We prebooked private taxi from airport to P.le Roma with Shuttle Direct which cost 64 euros return. Then from there we got a water bus to C'a Doro. After getting off the water bus (vaparetto) you walk down the alleyway and then turn right - when you come to opening at the bottom then turn left and the hotel is straight on and you will see the signs. We found this to be the easier option rather than walk from the airport down to the docks. Beware though the water bus charges are the same for 1 stop as for 4 or 5 (7 euros per person) so it can be quite expensive if you are hopping on and off although you can get a pass which works out a little cheaper. However, on arrival at hotel room disappointing - very small with tired furniture. Canal view but had to keep window closed at all times because of air con and mosquitos. Basic contintental breakfast but unfortunately there was nothing that I liked and when I asked if they could offer some toast they said not. Overall though the hotel was clean and the staff welcoming and helpful. We walked to the Rialto Bridge and St Mark's (about 15 - 20 mins). Comfortable walking sandals/trainers a must here as there is a lot of walking. Overall Venice very expensive and beware of some of the restaurants charging a 'sitting down' charge as well as 'service charge'. Wasnt impressed with the boat tour to Murano to see the glass making. Felt very pressurised into buying something and actually the Murano glass was plentiful and cheaper in Venice. Overall though we would return to this hotel if we were sure of a larger room as its good value for money.

Room Tip: we paid for deluxe room and on arrival given standard room - would check before your trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

A small but delightful hotel. water taxi stop nearby make sit easy to get too and from the station and it is only 10 minutes walk from the Rialto and St Marks. Lovely rooms, nicely furnished and clean with decent air con. Modern bathrooms. The staff were friendly and the hotel has a sweet little roof terrace to just sit and take in the rooftops of Venice. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I made a last minute booking for a weekend visit and wanted somewhere reasonably cheap and in a central location. This small hotel fitted both requirements. I was surprised to be able to get a reasonable single occupancy room rate and found it was because they do have at least one rather small single room! Not much room even for one person as it turned out - but it worked, the bathroom was clean, and if you sit in your rom in Venice your are probably slightly missing the point anyway. Modern chain hotel it is not. If that is what you want - go elsewhere.

From reading previous reviews it seems there are mixed views of the hotel staff. I think that is because two of the front desk staff were very warm, friendly and helpful. The man who was on the desk when I arrived however was certainly not very welcoming and seemed put out that he had to stir himself to check me in. He next re appeared when I was checking out and still seemd somewhat grumpy. I was somewhat non plussed to find that although I had paid fully up front "including all taxes" that a "new" tax had been introduced and that I still owed money. I have no idea whether this is true or not- - but one to check if paying up front on line. A shame as it left a slightly bad taste after an otherwise Ok stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ca' d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ca' d'Oro

Address: Cannaregio 4604, 30131 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#129 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#132 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ca' d'Oro 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ca' d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ca d Oro
Ca d Oro Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ca' d'Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.