We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay near Santa Lucia rail station in Venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ca' Pozzo Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ca' Pozzo Inn to your Saves list
Ca' Pozzo Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Cannaregio 1279, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 433 Venice B&B and Inns
Walnut Cove, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place to stay near Santa Lucia rail station in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Ca' Pozzo is conveniently located just a short walk from Santa Lucia train station, in the immediate Cannaregio neighborhood right on a canal. The hotel itself is in an inner courtyard, just off the "street," and is a lovely surprise. Nice comfortable room, with roomy bath. Refrigerator was provided. Multiple electrical outlets were appreciated. Helpful, friendly staff. Free in-room WIFI and excellent full breakfast provided. We wondered about the canopy above the bed, and discovered there were tiny gnats in the room at night (due, probably to the proximity to the water - may have come through the skylight), but they did not bite, and the screening kept them from dropping on our heads. so it was not a problem, but more of an interesting "surprise." I would recommend staying here. It was a comfortable stay for a reasonable price in Venice and convenient location to see the city away from the main tourist area, but still right next to the tourist traffic. We bought day tickets for the vaporetti, but if you like to walk, everything is really in walkable distance. We enjoyed the views from the vaporetti, as much as needing them for transportation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VandenBoer, Front Office Manager at Ca' Pozzo Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
thank you for staying with us. we are happy to know that your stay was pleasant and hope to see you very soon. have a great summer. samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    148
    13
    3
    6
See reviews for
49
307
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was my favorite hotel in Italy (went to milan, venice and florence in this trip) -

Pros
- Love the location. Its not at the city centre - about 10 to 15 mins walk away from the train station so you can drag your luggage there without crowding on the water bus or taking expensive water taxi. Directions wise , would like to help those who are considering this place. Once you exit the train station, turn left and walk straight for about 300-350m until you see a bridge. Cross the bridge and turn to your immediate left. Walk about 30m and you will see an alley... go into the alley and the hotel is right inside and you feel you have entered a different world
- Yes, the alley smells fishy but its bearable and clean, and we were greeted by 2 (residential?) cats who were very friendly. The alley is also well-lighted at night, very safe.
- Enter the place and you will see the court yard. It feels like home already. Climb the stairs and the rooms, nice and large (modern), with a great and spacious toilet.
- Breakfast, not a wide spread but decent with hard boil eggs
- Very very clean, and comfy beds.

Overall - a winner. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Service wise however , could be improved. The only 2 gripes i had, that somewhat dented the trip a little. Firstly, a grumpy lady serving the breakfast table. She showed her displeasure and annoyance when we took a cup from another empty table - yes granted we could have asked her, but she didn't have to be rude about it (and there were no cups on our table as well). Understood from reception that she worked there for 10 years (wow) but that really left a bad impression especially since it happened on the last day. If not for this, i would have been happy to get 5 stars! (couldn't rate 4.5). Anyway its a small matter. Loyal staff is hard to come by! Secondly... This could be too early to say, but we dropped an Adidas earphones and we emailed the hotel to enquire but we haven't heard from them. So not too sure about about their response times to email queries.

Also, it would have been nice to place a hot kettle in the room instead of having to run down to reception for hot water.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VandenBoer, Front Office Manager at Ca' Pozzo Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
good morning,

thanks for your comment! nice to hear that your stay with us was pleasant!
I'm so sorry for the lady but as I told when you checked out she had never been rude in 10 years before. She is a very nice lady but however I'm very sorry for her being impolite with you.
I do also apologize for the earphones as we do replied to your email saying that they were not found in the room. I suppose you never received it. should you have any query concerning it please contact me I will be very pleased to assist you.

all the best samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Tucked away down a small alley and away from major crowds, the hotel was very clean, modern and cozy. The location actually turned out to be more of a real neighborhood in Venice where the locals live than originally anticipated. Getting to the hotel from the airport was very easy on the local "water-bus" which stops a few steps away from the hotel, the main train station is also a 5 min walk.

The staff was attentive and helpful; the manager gave us great dining recommendations and other useful info. Free wi-fi and basic breakfast were great additions.

As for the fish market and overflowing canals: it should not be news to anyone that floods are pretty common in Venice, but are very seasonal - check the weather before you go and be prepared. The canal right in front of the hotel was overflowing very slightly when we were there at the end of May. The fish market and related alley did not bother us in the least - the smell did not get into the hotel and quite frankly, there were plenty of dubious smells all over Venice as it's summer time. :)

Room Tip: Ask the hotel to send you their directions. They do send out an email a few days before your stay, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VandenBoer, Responsabile reception at Ca' Pozzo Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
many many thanks for the compliments paid to the staff and the inn.
it is true that high water is part of living in venice and venetian people are very used to it...clients will find it very funny...no worries just wear a pair of boots.
looking forward to see you very soon

kind regards
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Ca Pozzo is in a fantastic location. Within easy walking distance from the station and easy to follow the main thoroughfare around to San Marco and Rialto. Breakfast was lovely and the hosts were always happy to help when we had questions

Would highly recommend to anyone looking for accommodation in Venice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VandenBoer, Proprietario at Ca' Pozzo Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
thanks for coming...see you very soon nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Close to the station, tucked away in a nook, this is a place that belies the way to the inn. You cross a bridge, come to a non descript alley and then walk a few yards to this modern chic place. We were there for 3 nights and found the hotel and the room to be very airy and clean. Rooms are large and even have a mini fridge inside. The staff is courteous and helpful and the breakfast was simple but filling (Usual collection of pastries, cold cut meats, cheese, juices and coffee). We enjoyed our stay and would probably go back their again given a chance.

I did read some reviews around the smell and water logging. While I can see that high tide could pose a problem in getting to the hotel as it is very close to the canal, but I would be surprised if that is not gonna happen to the best of them that lie by the canal. The fish smell is present but definitely not overbearing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VandenBoer, Front Office Manager at Ca' Pozzo Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Please do come again it will be a pleasure to have you here again. I really want to thank you for the comment concerning the smell and the high water as it will help our clients understanding that they are part of being in Venice and as you quoted " they are present but not overbearing".
all the best
samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Don’t let the dark, fishy-smelling and dingy corridor outside leading to the hotel gates fool you—once inside the premises are thoroughly clean and modern and free of any odours. A true boutique hotel in the sense that it’s very focused on functionality. The room is surprising spacious with lots of storage. A nice touch is the complimentary water & Cokes in the fridge. The bathroom has a fully enclosed shower—a godsend for us after spending the first half of our Italian trip in hotels with only a half shower partition or no shower curtains/partitions at all. The breakfast buffet was quite acceptable with a decent selection. The hotel is located within a 15 min. walk from the train station and the walk itself is not overly difficulty. It's approximately a 20 min. walk to St. Mark's Square. Wifi is free with decent connection speeds. Great value if you prefer staying on the island! A strong recommend—we would definitely return here.

Room Tip: We stayed at room 101 and were very happy with it. No need to lug our luggage upstairs as the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VandenBoer, Owner at Ca' Pozzo Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
many many thanks for staying with us! Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ca' Pozzo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Pozzo Inn

Address: Cannaregio 1279, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca' Pozzo Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The peace and harmony provided by a minimalist design, together with the convenience of a Venice inn located in the historic center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ca' Pozzo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Pozzo Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca' Pozzo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.