We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“aniversary short break in venice.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dona Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dona Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Dona Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 391, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“aniversary short break in venice.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights in mid march 2013 at the Dona Palace . We had a junior suite , room 26 , which had a large bedroom and a small sitting room . The room was very clean but very slightly tired. The carpets had small areas of wear for instance but were no reason to be put off . The bed was the biggest bed I have slept on in a hotel and I have slept in lots of rooms all over the world , and was very comfortable and firm . The bed and linen was spotless . Both the bedroom and the sitting room had flat screen t.v.s but as is common , had only two world news channels in english.
. The bathroom had a Jacuzzi type bath with a overhead shower but like the bedroom was spotless.
The bedroom had windows on two walls overlooking a canal and foot bridges with gondolas constantly gliding a few feet below us. There was a slight noise with early morning deliveries on the canal but again no reason to be put off .
The staff could not have been more helpful from the minute we arrived until the minute we left and were always very pleasant but breakfast was noticeably understaffed with two members of staff rushing to renew depleted items and crockery.
We would definitely recommend the room we had and the location of the hotel could not be bettered.

Room Tip: We did not see the standard rooms so cannot comment if the upgrade was value for money but only an u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Sir,
thank you very much for taking your time by leaving a nice review about our Donà Palace Hotel. We pleased that you appreciated the spaciousness of Junior Suite number 26 and we are sorry you were not pleased about the size of its sitting room: our Front Desk Receptionists are always at your full disposal, in case you find something wich you do not like about your room, to show you a different accommodation to please your taste. On the other hand we are glad you appreciated the cleanliness of our whole establishment; which is something we are particularly proud of. As well as our staff, who is constantly trained to give you full satisfaction from your Donà Palace experience. Me and my staff hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again at our Donà Palace Hotel and take good care of you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    205
    44
    14
    12
See reviews for
79
311
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at Dona Palace Hotel for seven nights at the beginning of March. The locating was easy to find and you are central to a number of attractions which is a great bonus. A few restaurants and coffee bars are located very close again this adds to a relaxing stay. Be mindful prices are different you stand/ sit at the bar compared to sitting at a table where you will pay an additional charge.
The hotel was extremely clean. We received a room upgrade to a suite for the duration of our stay. A large spacious modern room, great ventilation, large contemporary bathroom, plenty of wardrobe space containing a safe deposit system which was free of charge.
Breakfast each morning of cheeses, meats, cereals, yoghurts, eggs and bacon all served in a bright clean comfortable room. Fresh plentiful amounts of choice available. The staff that served the breakfast all helpful and professional in their manner. The waitress with the blond hair very polite and helpful with specific breakfast orders i.e. types of coffee’s ect.
Hotel great location, value for money, clean comfortable and great staff. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
we have just read you nice review about our Hotel Donà Palace... and... what can we say if not thank you for those lovely words! Yes, we agree: our location is central and San Marco Square is just around the cornes (first street to the right and second or third to the left!). Because of the location, plenty of cafés and restaurants can be found within a few minutes walk. We were happy to read that you found our hotel extremely clean: we are proud of the cleanliness of our rooms, common spaces, bars, breakfast restaurant, etc. We upgraded your room type with great pleasure: if we can do it, why not please our clients? Our main goal is to make you a happy guest, since holidays are very important (and sometime expensive). We hope to welcome you once more over here, at the Donà Palace, in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We booked this hotel through BA on a special offer and were very impressed. Our room was spacious, breakfast good and the staff extremely welcoming and helpful. The location just off st marks couldn't be better and it was very good value for money. I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a break in Venice. No, it's not as plush as some hotels and some of the fixtures and fittings are a bit tired but for the price I think it's hard to beat. We have stayed in hotels that were 3 times more and not had as good a stay. Go!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
thank you very much for the nice review which you left in Tripadvisor, regarding our "bello" Donà Palace Hotel! We were pleased to read that you appreciated the spaciousness of your bedroom, our rich buffet-breakfast (served on the second floor of our palace) and our friendly staff. We particularly enjoy to make our guests happy and assure them a pleasant holiday-experience. Our Location is hardly unbeatable: we lie one stone's throw from the most beautiful square in the world! We sincerely hope to be able to take care of your stay in Venice again, perhaps in the near future and always at the Donà Palace. A real thank you, once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

The room that we had was huge! The hotel was very close to st marks square and had a number of restaurants near by. The view from the room was really nice, we were able to look down onto a canal. When we arrived we were given a map and some suggestions of things to go see, which was nice. The room could have used a new coat of paint but it did kind of give it a rustic Venetian feel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
a sincere thank you for your nice review about our Donà Palace Hotel! Very happy to read that you enjoyed the spaciousness of your bedroom, its view over the Canal of the Canonica, the central location (San Marco Square is literally around the corner!) and the lively suburb where our nice establishment lies. Our staff is friendly and helpful because our only goal is to make our guests happy and enable them to experience the warmth of our people. Whenever you will think of coming back to Venice, please give us a call or email us... since it will be a pleasure to take good care of you, again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights from the 26th Feb. The hotel is literally a 30 second walk from St Marks Square and we found it quite easily. Check in was quick and easy and we were given room 20 on the 2nd floor. Our room was nice and spacious, if you wanted to pick holes in it you could, but it did the job for us. It seemed to be a wheel chair accessible room but that didn't bother us. The room was located on the same floor as the breakfast room. We had a fridge in the room which we used to store some juice which was handy. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean and the shower was good. Breakfast was ok, a bit limiting for myself due to food allergies but I took my own bread and they toasted it for me, we did ask for boiled eggs one morning but they said we would have to pay for them, but my fiance had plenty of choice.

We tried to go the bar opposite one night for happy hour but they told us they had sold out - not sure how that works! The service in the hotel was always friendly and helpful. It was my birthday whilst we were there and we had a cake left in the room by the staff, we hadn't told them, they must have done it from the cards in the room, which was a nice touch.

If we went back to Venice we would not hesitate to stay here again, would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
thank you very much for taking time to leave such a nice comment about our Hotel Donà Palace! We were happy to read that your 3-nights-stay with us was pleasant and that you appreciated our location (yes, it is true: we are one stone's throw from the most beautiful square in the world). Also, we are glad to know that you enjoyed room number 20. With reference with the food which we prepare for the morning breakfast, please note that should you suffer from any allergies we can also serve you with specific food, providing you let us know in advance and before you check-in. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Donà Palace, perhaps soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel. Located a few minutes walk from St Marks Square, it is very accessible, yet surprisingly quiet. The room was large, the bed was very comfortable and the shower was sublime! The reception staff were very helpful and friendly and a fruit tart was provided compliments of the hotel to celebrate my partner's birthday. I would certainly be happy to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donapalace, Front Desk Manager. at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
thank you so much for your lovely review about our Hotel Donà Palace. And thank you for taking time to enter Tripadvisor! Reviews like yours are an excellent feedback for all of us, here at the Donà Palace. Infact we particularly care about the guest's satisfaction: at the end if you are happy we are happy. Also, we were glad to read you appreciated our very central location (we are a stone's throw from the most beautiful square in the world!), the spaciousness of your bedroom, the comfortable bed and its powerful shower. The fruit cake? Just a little something for you, to wish you a very happy birthday! We hope to see you again at the Donà Palace!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

A lovely hotel with good breakfirst, kind staff and much space. 2 minutes to the san marcus square. The cleaning were very satisfied. The trip to Murano is free given by the hotel, and we would recommend that visit. Overall we can only recommend this hotel to you, if you want to visit Vience. Regards from Denmark.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donapalace, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Dona Palace, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
thank you for your nice review and for taking time to visit Tripadvsor. We are glad you enjoyed our buffet style breakfast on the noble floor of our 15th Century palace. And, yes, we agree: our location is quite umbeatable (we are just a stone's throw from St. Mark's Square!). We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again to our Donà Palace again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dona Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Palace

Address: San Marco 391, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#104 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#118 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dona Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Orbitz, BookIt.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Dona Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Palace Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dona Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.