We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opulence at the Bauer Palazzo!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bauer Il Palazzo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bauer Il Palazzo to your Saves list
Bauer Il Palazzo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 1459, 30124 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Opulence at the Bauer Palazzo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 3 nights in late November. We are frequent visitors to the city and our preference is to visit off season. We have previously stayed at the Bauer Palladio on Giudecca.
Bauer Palazzo is situated just a couple of minutes walk from St Marks Square, (nearest vaporetto stop San Marco Valleresso.)
We booked a junior suite (115) which was incredible! It had a very large living room with sofa, armchair, dining table and chairs, a bathroom that was entirely marble, (apart from the jacuzzi bath), and a very large bedroom with frescoes on the ceiling! The furnishings were typically Venetian, (silk wallpaper, curtains etc) and featured chandeliers and antique/style furniture. No canal view, we overlooked a small calle.
The toiletries provided are made by women inmates of the Venetian prison on Giudecca.. A fabulous project and nice products. Bathrobes and slippers are supplied.
Free WiFi is available, (hurrah!) and there was a safe within the wardrobes.
(We booked less than a week in advance and the rate was advertised as being 70% off.)
Prior to our visit, Matteo one of the concierges was very helpful in securing dinner reservations. During our stay the concierge team were again very helpful with advice and restaurant bookings.
Breakfast is taken on the 7th floor with an incredible view of the grand canal and Santa Maria della Salute. A good selection of fruit, cereals, cold meats and cheese, pastries etc is provided, and also a buffet selection of hot food. You can take breakfast outside on the terrace too, but we weren't quite game enough for this, although others did one morning! "Pigeon sticks" are provided for the local bird population who will endeavour to try and eat your breakfast!
Other than breakfast, we didn't eat within the hotel, although we did have room service on arrival after an incredibly stressful flight. Room service was very good and well presented.
On the day before departure we enquired with the concierge whether we could share a watertaxi to the airport with other guests, and were successful. The fare between six of us was €130 (although the concierge had advised it was €110.) So much more civilised (and quicker) than the Alilaguna!
The main entrance to the hotel (on the grand canal) was out of action during our stay.
There was quite a lot of noise from the calle below our room, particularly on the Friday morning of our stay. (The noise may have been exacerbated by workmen at the hotel accessing the calle.)
All in all a wonderful stay and no hesitation in recommending it.
Many thanks to all.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    88
    27
    7
    8
See reviews for
67
212
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

In September after a weeklong cruise to the Greek Isles, we spent a few days at the Bauer IL Palazzo in Venice (the old hotel, not the modern one in front). We went to the modern hotel by mistake and had to be ushered through the maze of buildings to the older hotel. Both properties are owned or managed by the same people, but they have separate staffs. In any event we didn’t enter through their front door or water taxi entrance.

We found the front desk personnel to be friendly and accommodating, yet a bit too formal for our pedestrian tastes. In the old tradition of metal keys, each guest has to check in and out with the front desk and leave the bulky key and fob (which in this case resembled an old drapery pull) with the desk attendant who would hang it on the room number. Not the best security measure I’ve ever seen since it’s easy to tell which rooms are presently occupied.

Anyway, we had to travel several long hallways, all with several steps and two elevators to get to our room. However, when we got to our room we were blown away. I felt like they made a mistake and gave us the wrong room. I believe it was the called the Mona Lisa suite. We entered a large living area with a sofa, chair, desk and dining table that spilled over to a large outdoor balcony with sweeping views of Venice. It was glorious!

We also had two full baths with tubs and walk in showers. We really enjoyed the space.

On the other hand, there are a few things that I really didn’t care for. First the entrance from the street is a long dark walkway. It is not very conducive for bad weather or nighttime walking.
The restaurant overlooking the canal requires more than casual attire. We were turned away. That was rather embarrassing, considering we dined at some of the finest restaurants in Venice.

The worst part though was the sheets on our king bed. They were heavily starched and must have been a bit worn because they literally felt like sandpaper. I had difficulty sleeping each night. In fact one night, I moved to the sofa. Thank goodness we had it.

On the whole, it is a great property that is a bit rough about the edges and aging not so gracefully in parts. If you’re ambulatory and don’t mind a trek to your accommodations, and your skin isn’t very sensitive and you don’t mind snooty attire rules at your hotel, then go for it. You’ll really like this place.

Room Tip: ask for a suite and a room with a view higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Il Palazzo, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time and express your comments about your stay with us.

We are delighted you appreciated the beauty of the room, we remind you that your reservation was for a lower category room and we upgraded you to an Executive Suite.

I will pass your comments to the different departments, they are useful and they help us to improve our standards and better satisfy all our guests. We hope to have you with us again. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you need at the following email address: prusconi@bauervenezia.com, I’m at your complete disposal.

Yours sincerely

Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having booked 3 rooms for our twin daughters 21st Birthday, we thought that upon arrival the staff would have offered us a welcome drink, as seems to be the norm for other guests.
After reading other reviews we expected the breakfast to be outstanding, but it was very average
and served on side plates, which seems rather mean. Yes the view up there is spectacular, and
the staff are very attentive, but after 4 nights there could have been some variation in the food served. The location of the hotel is very good, but not sure that it is worth so much more than
its sister hotel the Bauer. Having said this we had a lovely time, and hope to return to Venice in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Il Palazzo, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Bauer IL PALAZZO. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At Bauer IL PALAZZO, one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet guests’ needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. More specifically, we have noted that you were unsatisfied with our breakfast offer. Presently our buffet includes: fresh seasonal fruit (whole and sliced); a variety of dairy products, including cheese and yoghurt; hot dishes (scrambled eggs, hash browns, sausages, pancakes, mushrooms); fresh salad; home-made cakes; selection of croissants; fresh bread and jams. Please rest assured we will keep improving our breakfast selection, also thanks to the helpful comments of our guests. In reference to this, I would appreciate greatly any additional comment which may help us better our service.
With kind regards,
Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Absolutely stunning 360 panoramic view from the terrace at breakfast, at least two floors higher up than neighbouring buildings.

Literally next to Piazza San Marco, making it super easy to find your way back from anywhere within the delightful Labyrinth that is Venice.

Around 12 mins walk to the famous Rialto bridge and Rialto market area, which has some excellent bars and restaurants.

Would highly recommend Osteria Bancogiro (as was recommended to us by the concierge and friends from home), offering a cosy atmospheric restaurant upstairs or seating outside facing the Grand Canal. You can also grab a Spritz from the ground floor bar for only 2.50 and join the sea of locals and tourists usually found standing outside!

Make sure not to leave the hotel without a map scribbled with helpful recommendations from the friendly staff on what to see and where to eat. You will definitely get lost, and you should, it is part of the fun!

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Il Palazzo, responded to this review, November 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your impressions on your stay at IL PALAZZO.

It was very gracious of you to praise our location and staff as well as our beautiful breakfast terrace.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at the Palazzo in years to come.

Yours sincerely,

Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

It's a great historic hotel to stay in the suite which we stayed was quite big but the hotel need renovation it's really dated outdoor breakfast area was great with lovely views of the canal and St Marco.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Il Palazzo, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review of our hotel. In particular, we are pleased to note you were satisfied with the location, the views and the breakfast buffet.
Regarding the room, we regret it was not entirely satisfactory. We are constantly upgrading our rooms and building and are hopeful you will have a chance to experience differently on occasion of your next visit to Venice.
Yours very sincerely,
Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Perfect location! Perfect service! Perfect everything! Pricy but you pay for perfection-:)
Thanks to the concierges (all of them) for being the heart and soul of this amazing palazzo!
Be careful not to book the Bauer which is attached to the Palazzo but not Venezian style (very modern but nice).
The breakfast is all you could dream of! You can even have prosecco!
Thanks for being true !

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Il Palazzo, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time of complementing our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will have an opportunity to return to Venice and to the Bauer in the near future.
Yours sincerely
Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

If you have dreamed of staying in a grand Italian house reminiscent of past glories of this Queen City, then this hotel is the perfect choice. The interiors are richly decorated with antique furniture, lavish mirrors, and beautiful silks covering both walls and furniture. The walls of our suite were opulently covered in red and gold silk brocade. The bathroom walls, floor, and vanity were wrapped in beautiful white marble. Sparkling lights make by craftsmen from Murano illuminated every room and table. It was like walking into a 17th century grand home when we entered our suite. It was such a memorable visit I didn't want to leave after 3 days. Evenings were spent dining at the De Pisis Restaurant overlooking the Grand Canal. The service, food, and views were outstanding at this dockside restaurant. Breakfasts were taken at the rooftop dining room with breathtaking views in every direction. The breakfast venue is for guests of the Il Palazzo only. The Il Palazzo abuts the Bauer L'Hotel and grants easy access to San Moise Square with elegant shops, gondola rides and is about a 2 minute walk to St. Mark's Square. Be prepared to pay for this level of luxury and access to the main sights of Venice...but for us it was worth every penny. It was the fulfillment of a dream to "live like a Queen"!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Il Palazzo, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your kind words of praise. Bauers IL PALAZZO is part of the Leading Hotels of the World and as such strives constantly to meet guests’ expectations.
When we achieve this, we could not imagine a better reward!
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in your Venetian ‘home’!
Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bauer Il Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bauer Il Palazzo

Address: San Marco 1459, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Venice
#33 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#53 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#75 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bauer Il Palazzo 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bauer Il Palazzo is one of Venice's most luxurious hotel. It is an authentic 18th century palazzo with the most spectacular vantage point in Venice - close to St Mark's Square, facing the Grand Canal and overlooking St Mark's basin. The 82 luxurious rooms including 38 suites, many with balconies or terraces, have been recently restored with the finest fabrics, gilt mirrors, carved stucco ceilings and Murano glass chandeliers. Located on the top floors of the historic palace guests have the option of staying in one of Bauer Il Palazzo's re-designed rooms or executive suites. The interior design concept of the guest accommodations on the 6th & 7th & 8th floors is quite distinct; each room is decorated in a unique sleek style, with comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, LHW, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bauer Il Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauer Il Palazzo Venice
Bauer Il Palazzo Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bauer Il Palazzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.