We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Venetian Dream!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bauer Il Palazzo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Bauer Il Palazzo to your Saves list
Bauer Il Palazzo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 1459, 30124 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Venetian Dream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I am still at the Hotel while writing this. But I had to do it since Hotel Bauer Palazzo and in particular its highly professional front desk have made my day: We were rather early when our water taxi dropped us off at 11 am. So the room of course wasn't ready yet. Although official check in time is only three pm, front desk was very apologetic about that fact and gave us a room upgrade to a deluxe room facing Grand Canal and Santa Maria della Salute with its own balcony. FYI: I had booked the cheapest room category. We also got free WiFi, a voucher for a free bottle of wine during lunch at the fantastic terrace restaurant De Pisis and lots of nice smiles by the staff.
Be aware: it's pricey. It's not the Sheraton or something but a deluxe grand hotel! So expect to pay for what you order.
I also do really like the style of the Hotel as well: it's so traditionally Venetian and so old-world-sophisticated with Rubelli wallpapers and Chinoiserie all over the place. Stepping into the Bauer Palazzo is like stepping into an era gone bye.

But isn't that what Venice is all about!? For me: the ultimate Venetian experience

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Il Palazzo, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing such a raving review of your stay. We are particularly delighted that you value our tradition. Owned and managed by the same family since three generations, IL PALAZZO is a landmark property in Venice. Here history and present combine, creating a highly evocative and enticing experience which allow guests to feel part of the city’s fascinating history and thriving present.
We look forward to your continued patronage in the years to come.
Yours faithfully,

Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    88
    27
    7
    8
See reviews for
67
212
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Bauer Il Palazzo is simply magical!

I can't say enough about enchanting Venice or this hotel, in particular. The location is ideal. As you are greeted from your water taxi at the Bauer's dock, you know you will be in for a treat. The location is primo and a bit a way from the crowds. On exiting the hotel, you are literally on the shopping streets filled with upscale designer boutiques... and a mere two minute walk to San Marco square and all of the magic of Venice.

The hotel rooms are authentic Venetian style: large, lovely, comfortable and oh, so quiet. The view from our balcony was magnificant...a view overlooking the canals and the Venice rooftops.

Breakfast every morning was a treat. We found all of the food fresh and plentiful and the women who serve breakfast to be very welcoming and attentive. The view from the Palazzo's rooftop where breakfast is served is breathtaking! This is how breakfast on a vacation should be :-)

A special thanks to Michele at the front desk who was so helpful and gracious, not to mention attentive to our needs. Despite the fact it isn't a small hotel, the Palazzo has a very intimate feel.

We will return to Venice and, when we do, we will certainly return to the Bauer ll Palazzo.

Room Tip: The view is absolutely magnificent... and worth the splurge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Il Palazzo, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.
It is a pleasure to note you were satisfied with your stay and that you enjoyed the courtesy of our Staff, the quality of breakfast and the decor of your room. In particular, we are very pleased that you have appreciated our effort to make your stay one to remember.

We look forward to your continued patronage at BAUER Hotels.

Yours very sincerely

Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Loved our stay at Bauer Palazzo. Spring for view if you can as there is nothing like observing life on Grand Canal. Could have watched from our balcony all day long. Really gives you a insight into life in Venice. Loved the ladies serving breakfast on the gorgeous roof terrace!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

I think this historical palace deserves the wow factor in venice,.. Yes the lobby is not big enough to relax but I liked the antique touches in the library..

We have stayed in a junior suite canal view, it was so spacious,charming,luxurious with stunning canal view through the surrounded large windows. I liked the gold plated touches in the bathroom with its huge jaccuzi ..

I didn't try the hotel's restaurant but I had the breakfast in the roof of the hotel , the buffet was kept in a narrow corner with limited passage area and I think there should be more food varieties in the buffet to meet the 5 stars hotel standards..

The staff of the hotel were very friendly and polite..

My overall experience in this hotel was great..

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Il Palazzo, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to let us have your impressions of your visit.
In particular, we thank you for your positive remarks and for sharing them.
We look forward to your continued patronage of BAUER HOTELs.
Yours sincerely

Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The variations were the same. When friends found out I was taking my first trip to Venice, I was inundated with hotel suggestions: The Cipriani! The Daneli! Thankfully I did not take their advice. For me, there is only one hotel that should availed of in Venice: The Bauer Il Palazzo.

Much has been written about the location and I would be remiss not to remark upon it. Walk out the back door of the Hotel Bauer (though linked, the Palazzo is a separate building on the Grand Canal) and within minutes you can have a coffee in San Marco square. That alone is worth the price of any stay.

What made the Palazzo special was its attention to detail. We were picked up at the train station by our own private water taxi (of course the Palazzo has its own dock) and whisked away immediately to the hotel. Yearn to visit one of the islands? A quick phone call brought another water taxi to our service. (Tip: Save your money on an gondola ride and go in a water taxi. Not only is it the same experience, but it saves you a trip on the vaporetto, which in the middle of July is quite hot and crowded). Yearning for a drink overlooking the Grand Canal? The staff could not do enough for its clientele and it showed.

We stayed in a deluxe suite, appointed with a huge walk in closet, marble bath and plush sitting area. Minor quibble: we were not fans of the linen sheets, though I recognize that others see it as a sign of pure luxury. Due to the arrangement of the Palazzo, a converted 18th century building, there was no direct elevator to the room. We found it far more convenient to go downstairs to the Hotel Bauer and simply walkthrough to the Palazzo, rather than take two different elevators.. This gave us all the more reason to appreciate the Palazzo: the Hotel seemed a bit crowded while the Palazzo was far more relaxed.

Much is made out of breakfast on the rooftop terrace. The view is incomparable; some of our best photographs were from the terrace. We were one of few diners, however, and soon found out the reason: most clients preferred to eat on the Grand Canal. This soon became our preference as well: service was quicker and food marginally better.

Indeed, we enjoyed several meals on the Palazzo terrace but breakfast, as some other reviewers have pointed out, was disappointing. Perhaps the buffet style didn't work in the summer heat: rolls were stale, eggs bland, fruit uninviting. It seems churlish to mention this as we enjoyed our stay thoroughly. It simply was so striking that the breakfast was so unappetizing, especially considering we enjoyed some of our best meals on the terrace.

Most of my friends, the ones that recommended the Daneli and Cipriani, were not fond of Venice. Perhaps its because they did not have the care of the Palazzo. For myself, I adored this magical city- July heat and all- and I have no doubt it was due to this extraordinary hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Il Palazzo, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review the standards of service after your recent visit. We are delighted to read so many positive comments and are grateful for your annotations which will be kept in high consideration, helping us to improve our standards.
We look forward to your continued patronage at BAUER Hotels.
Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

There are many luxury hotels in Venice and I have stayed in most of them, but the Bauer Palazzo is, by far, the best. On the grand canal (as opposed to the lagoon), the views are spectacular and the rooms elegantly appointed in period style. A sumptuous breakfast is included in an outdoor rooftop setting as well as a ground floor, both with terrific views. But the best thing about this hotel is the exceptional service provided by the front desk. They arranged everything during our stay, including tours, transfers, restaurant reservation. Just one example: when we left Venice, we had a car service picking us up at Piazzale Roma to take us to Verona. Not only did the concergies arrange for our transfer to the Piazzale, but phoned our driver with the number of the water taxi so he could meet us at the dock.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get a room with a grand canal view and a balcony. There is nothing more romant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Fabulous! Amazing time.. We recommend this to any person who loves lavish care. We just loved the breakfast buffet overlooking the Grand Canal and we especially loved their fantastic restaurant literally on the grand canal. The food was superb as was the service. We will definitely go there again!

Room Tip: Expensive but worth every euro
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bauer Il Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bauer Il Palazzo

Address: San Marco 1459, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Venice
#32 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#52 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#74 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bauer Il Palazzo 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bauer Il Palazzo is one of Venice's most luxurious hotel. It is an authentic 18th century palazzo with the most spectacular vantage point in Venice - close to St Mark's Square, facing the Grand Canal and overlooking St Mark's basin. The 82 luxurious rooms including 38 suites, many with balconies or terraces, have been recently restored with the finest fabrics, gilt mirrors, carved stucco ceilings and Murano glass chandeliers. Located on the top floors of the historic palace guests have the option of staying in one of Bauer Il Palazzo's re-designed rooms or executive suites. The interior design concept of the guest accommodations on the 6th & 7th & 8th floors is quite distinct; each room is decorated in a unique sleek style, with comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, LHW, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bauer Il Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauer Il Palazzo Venice
Bauer Il Palazzo Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bauer Il Palazzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.