We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like you've stepped into a Bond movie.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ca' Maria Adele

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ca' Maria Adele to your Saves list
Ca' Maria Adele
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorsoduro 111 | Rio Terra dei Catecumeni, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro / Accademia)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Like you've stepped into a Bond movie.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you had to take a woman you wanted to impress to a hotel in Venice, but without being flash and ostentatious, this is where you would want to stay. Without a doubt this is where Bond would go - a hotel so 'boutique' that you genuinely feel like you are the only people staying. We saw two other couples. Once. Apart from that I could easily have believed we had the place to ourselves.
It feels like a secret because it looks out onto Santa Maria della Salute, that iconic white domed church you've seen in every Monet and Canaletto of Venice, close enough to touch it. Literally. And yet, being the south side of the Grand Canal it isnt thronged with tourists but feels tranquil, intimate and secluded. Not that that means you're cut off - in fact you are a single two minute vaparetto ride across from St Mark's square. So five minutes after stepping out of the hotel you can be in Harry's bar sipping a bellini. Everything makes you feel like you are special and in a friend;s home - come home late and want a drink? No problem - help yourself to the honesty bar. Want to sit outside? Open up one of the balconies and go ahead. Cant recommend it highly enough. Just bring your Bond soundtrack - trust me.

Room Tip: The oriental room and the sala dei Mori room both look onto Santa Maria Della Salute, but only Sala...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    47
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
292
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Molesey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was a surprise weekend away and my first time to Venice so I was blown away by the whole experience. The hotel was boutique, small but perfectly formed. The rooms and the decor were beautiful & the staff super helpful & friendly. The hotel felt luxurious and special, exclusive & romantic, wonderful from start to finish.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent three nights here after Christmasand couldn't have asked for more: a lovely interior, lots of imaginative touches, charming rooms, nice, helpful staff and a fabulous location, with the Salute vaporetto stop right outside the hotel, along with the stunning Punta della Dogana gallery space. Delicious breakfast, prepared and served to order. Outstanding hotel in our opinion.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington spa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is a fantastic hotel. The rooms are beautifully furnished with fabric lined walls and wonderful chandeliers, huge beds and lovely marble lined modern bathrooms. My husband and I stayed in one of the concept rooms - The Doge - which was up one short flight of stairs above reception and decorated in a very dramatic red from floor to ceiling. The room is just gorgeous and very romantic. So many other hotels in this price bracket have sparse modern decor but this whole hotel was a real delight. Our Doge room had a very high ceiling with several almost floor to ceiling windows draped in a sumptuous red damask fabric. The bed and all the walls are lined in the same material, with a lovely faux fur throw at the foot of the bed. And there is a huge chandelier in the middle of the room - a replica of one I spotted in the Doges Palace. It is just enormous. There is a separate dressing room and lovely big bathroom with corner jacuzzi bath, modern sink and the same huge windows as the bedroom. The room was lovely and warm and we had a great view of the beautiful white church opposite and the side canal. If you leaned right out of the window you could just see the grand canal. I was worried the church would keep us awake all night with bells tolling every hour but it was not a problem - it only rings 8 till 8 and wasn't too loud so wasn't a problem. There is a flat screen tv with built in DVD player (and a library of DVDs to borrow). The tv screen shows a live webcam view of the grand canal and plays lovely opera music (and delightful christmas songs when we were there the week before Christmas). The breakfast is gorgeous. Freshly squeezed orange juice, wonderful coffee, fresh croissants, eggs any way you want and crispy bacon - there are around 60 items to choose from so you will be spoilt for choice. All was delicious and beautifully presented. The staff were fantastic too. So friendly and helpful offering to recommend and book restaurants, suggestions of where to visit, which water buses/taxis to take and where. My husband and I were very impressed. I am very fussy where hotels are concerned and always research throughly before booking. I have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world and was worried that this small hotel in Venice may not live up to my expectations but I needn't have worried. It was perfect. Do yourself a favour and book this hotel, you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: Go for a concept room. The decor is gorgeous and adds to the atmosphere of this lovely city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We visited Venice four years ago and stayed at Ca' Maria Adele. We had an absolutely wonderful time - so much so that when my husband told me he had rebooked us into the hotel for my birthday, I was actually quite concerned that it wouldn't be up to the gold standard of my memories from the previous trip!
We stayed in a gorgeous room that was larger than the one we had stayed in before. It was just beautiful and very quiet at night with a luxurious and enormous bed that ensured a good night's sleep. It looked out over the canal and stunning church next to the hotel - a wonderful view each morning!
The team at the hotel were fantastic - nothing was too much trouble and they were charming and very kind. We were sat with a glass of prosecco and some hot chocolate on arrival while they finished getting the room ready and relaxed in the tiny, intimate and gorgeous lounge. The breakfasts were fine - this is possibly the only area that could be improved, with slightly less than fresh fruit salad and average breads. However, the breakfast room is lovely and was decorated lavishly for Christmas!
I can't recommend this hotel enough if you like intimate, charming, beautifully appointed hotels in wonderfully quiet locations. The vaporetto is fantastic for instant access to Piazza San Marco - one stop and you are there! However, the location means that it is nearly always quiet without the constant tourist stream that you always see in the heart of Venice.
Many thanks for another memorable trip, Ca' Maria Adele!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the canal and church - stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I lived in Venice many years ago and sadly find the hotels inauthentic and often theme park-like, but Ca Maria Adele is the real thing: the closest to staying in the home of a Venetian patrician family if you haven't that option! Elegant and relaxed small hotel with many fine, details: a relaxing drink upon arrival, Italian opera played in public spaces (and your room, if you choose); quirky, distinctively Venetian design flourishes throughout. Room 332 (a std deluxe) on the top floor was spacious with panoramic views of the Salute and Grand Canal: no necessity at all to book the themed rooms (but they appeared to be grander still). The staff are friendly and very helpful throughout. The engaged, convivial owners are personally involved making you feel relaxed and most welcome. Excellent, enormous breakfasts (though a bit silly having to pre-order the night before). Prices may seem steep for the level of amenty (ie, no restaurant, spa, elevator/lift) but well worth the overall room accommodation and experience. Super location in quiet Dorsoduro, with the most dramatic views of the Salute church; convenient to S Marco, Guggenheim, Accademia, etc. You also have the advantage of the nearby Centurion Hotel (very dramatic but large and rather institutional) where you can stop for superb cocktails on the Grand Canal terrace, their courtyard or glamorous, urbane bar. Just go!!

Room Tip: Room 332 (a std deluxe) on the top floor was spacious, light with a unique veiw of the Salute (the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genève
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I spend 2 night at the Ca Maria Adele for a very special occasion and certainly the hotel did not let me down. It is a very romantic place were the service is attentive until the very last detail. The breakfast was absolutely outstanding, with a huge selection that one can choose the night before. The room was very spacious, and always clean.
The staff always greeted you with a smile and were willing to help.
I do recommend this hotel if you are looking to spend some days in an unforgettable place in one of the most romantic cities in the world.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ca' Maria Adele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Maria Adele

Address: Dorsoduro 111 | Rio Terra dei Catecumeni, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#6 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#25 Business Hotel in Venice
#93 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ca' Maria Adele 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Ca' Maria Adele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Maria Adele Hotel Venice
Ca Maria Adele Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca' Maria Adele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.