We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find for the Price and Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Casa Coppo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Antica Casa Coppo to your Saves list
Antica Casa Coppo
San Marco, 4320, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #195 of 433 Venice B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Find for the Price and Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and it was perfect for what we were looking for. The location is great - restaurants, shopping, tourist attractions are nearby. Since most accommodations are expensive in Venice, we were pleasantly surprised that this hotel offered an affordable rate and included breakfast each morning which was fresh and exactly what we needed to start our day off. The room itself was a decent size as was the bathroom. The bed was comfortable, wifi was free and staff was friendly and helpful. Definitely worth a stay, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_ACC_Venice, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Antica Casa Coppo, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Amhudders,

thank you for choosing our Hotel Antica Casa Coppo during your last stay in Venice. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
With our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    68
    18
    9
    16
See reviews for
29
86
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Friendswood, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last week while traveling through Italy to celebrate my birthday. Unfortunately, the room we received was not one of the lovely, well appointed rooms pictured on the website; no drapes, not lovely and romantic as we had hoped for at the price we were paying and based on the website photos. There was barely room to move around and no place to put a suitcase. The king bed was so very old, valleys on both sides with a huge hump in the middle. Our room faced a narrow alley where the late night partyers like to "relieve" themselves. All in all it was a very disappointing experience. A little truth in advertising would go many, many miles here. Good points: Centrally located, the staff was helpful, and the included breakfast, typical hotel fare was as expected. If you decide to book here, be specific that you want one of the rooms advertised, not one of the rooms on the ground floor by the breakfast room/ maintenance closet/ guest toilet.

Room Tip: Request a room that you saw on the website and ask to see the room before you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_ACC_Venice, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Antica Casa Coppo, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Mary,

thank you to have find the time to share your experience in our hotel with the community of TripAdvisor.
We were really sorry to read that your stay here was disappointing, even if we are not sure that your stay was exactly in our hotel and that's why:
- even if not all the rooms of our hotel are depicted on the web, they are all very similar one to each other, in particular the decoration are exactly the same in every room. What does really change is the colours, the fact that, as specified in the web sites (and visible also in some photos), some of them have wooden exposed beams on the ceiling and other not, some have rectangular base and some squared, therefore also the number of windows could change, but for the decor, especially for the draps shown in the photos, and that you point out, I can assure that every room is exactly like the ones you can see on the web.
- our hotel has been recently restored, between 2003 and 2006; the rooms on the ground floor, and two on the first floor are the last in being constructed, therefore they are not particularly old or used.
- the rooms on the ground floor are quite spacious compared to the others (for sure you have space for more than one luggage and one of them even has a confortable reclinable chair in it); even if we appreciate that not everybody finds it pleasant to stay on the ground floor, these rooms are particularly required because of the relatively more space and because being on the ground floor means no stairs to lift.
- finally, as sublined by other guests in other reviews, the location of our hotel, a little out of the main street leading to Rialto and San Marco, grants it the biggest peace that you can find in the area of San Marco; we have no record of parties in the alleys around the hotel (and our hotel is luckily very often fully booked, so someone would have noticed it and reported to our reception): the narrow one is not even an alley were the passage is allowed, while the other one exit in a secluded square, which hosts a delightful restaurant, romantic, which serves candle-light dinners and high quality service, not exactly the place where you go to "revel" with friends (restaurant "Ai Mercanti" for references).

So unfortunately we cannot locate your stay or the room you was assigned to, since we don't see any correspondance with the room, nor with the location of our hotel, but we will be glad to follow on this matter if you would like to contact us directly.

We are always at disposal to give more information about our hotel to anybody, and also are always very glad to do the best to accomodate guest's requests, we therefore deeply apologize if this was not the case with you, because this is not how we usually work and our mistakes have evidently given to you the wrong impression about our hotel and the area surrounding it.

Always at your full disposal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Hotel is overall nice and in good location, but we weren't aware there is no lift. The receptionist helped us with our bags to the 2nd floor which was much appreciated, but the stairs were very steep. Breakfast was included and was good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_ACC_Venice, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Antica Casa Coppo, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear MSMChick,

thank you for the time you spent to share your opinion about our hotel.
We are really happy that you appreciated the location of the hotel and the breakfast, since these are some of the most important points that we personally consider when chasing the perfect hotel for our vacations.
You are right, as most of the buildings in Venice our hotel doesn't have a lift, and being it an historical building submitted to particular preservation laws, that's something we cannot in any way modify.
Luckily here there are only three floors (ground, first and second) and we are comforted to know that our staff helped you with your luggage, that is something we anyway offer to do regularly to give our guests the feeling to finally be on vacation from the moment they enter the hotel.

We hope to welcome you again in the future at Antica Casa Coppo and we recommend you to remind us before your arrival that you maybe could prefer a room on a lower floor.
Our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hotel is centrally located. Close to all major sights. But still far enough to be quiet. Only a 5 mn walk from the Rialto Alilaguna public taxi stop when arriving from the Marco Polo airport. And also very close to the San Marco Square.

The rooms are small but comfortable. Ask for a room on the ground floor if you have a problem with stairs.

The staff is very helpful and accommodating.

Breakfast is included in the price and is served 8.30-10 am. Not a hotel for of early birds. Breakfast was simple and the dining room was small, but we never had a problem being seated.

Wifi was free and worked very well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_ACC_Venice, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Antica Casa Coppo, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Pernilla,

thank you for your review.
We are really happy that you and your family had a good time in Venice and, especially, a good stay with us, therefore we hope to welcome you to Antica Casa Coppo again in the future.
Our best regards,

the staff of Antica Casa Coppo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Good place, centrally located, reasonably priced, staff helpful - pretty much sums it up! Not the lap of luxury but my stay was enjoyable and comfortable.

It was easy to find and walking distance from Rialto and Piazza San Marco. The staff were very helpful and accommodating.

Breakfast was simple and the dining room was small so we did have to wait on occasion for a free table, but that was hardly a complaint.

Also - dining tip, the restaurant beside the hotel (literally 30 second walk in a small square adjacent) - was amazing

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan - Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel is centrally located close to San Marco Square but on a quiet street. Also near at least two other nice small Squares with good restaurants. Rooms are somewhat small. First time in Venice so this might be standard. Staff is pleasant and very helpful. Cluadia walked us several blocks to the grocery store. One of the few places in Europe where we could get a bucket of ice for our room. Breakfast room is small but we never had a problem being seated. The only place on our month long trip where eggs were served. Wifi was free and actually worked. My only suggestion would be to have two chairs in the room so we could chill out between activities.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Very rude and unpleasant service, the place is tiny and the rooms are not even near what you see in the pictures, we were rushed to finish breakfast because there is not enough tables. And as a finalle, my daughter forgot a neckless on the table, came two hours later ( before anyone checked in) and it was gone, the cleaning lady ( the same rude one from breakast) decline that it was there...
Beware, a real tourist trap

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_ACC_Venice, Responsabile reception at Antica Casa Coppo, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear R.O.,

thank you for your prompt as well as unfair review: we were waiting for it indeed, as your attempt of having your holidays paied by our hotel failed. Unfortunately since TripAdvisor has become so popular we are not the first hotel threatened to receive a bad review if we don't pay this or that sum of money.
Let us only give our version of the story for the benefit of our future guests.
You came back to collect your luggage at about 4pm and mentioned to me (the receptionist, I'm not even similar to the lady serving breakfast that morning) that you had lost a necklace and that it could have been left into your room.
Since nobody, neither my boss, nor the maids, have left any necklace for me, something that they are used to do when guests forget their belongings in the room after check-out, I had to check the hotel system to verify who cleaned up your room that morning and it results that both our maids cleaned that room together (one of them has been working here since the hotel has opened and she found a lot of forgotten belongings, including pcs, Ipods, brand glasses, one of the first I-phone,...) . So I phoned to one of them and she confirmed me that they didn't find any necklace.
As you were not satisfied with the response, I let 2 of you enter the room, praying you not to touch or move anything since guests were supposed to check-in soon and maids at that time had already gone. The system shows we have been inside the room between 16:28 and 16:35 and I don't even need to say that I had to tide up the room by myself after your departure, since you walked everywhere, and moved the possible to search your necklace that, by the way at that point you were sure was left on the shelf in the bathroom.
I've been working in 3 to 5 stars hotels for years up to now and I cannot even say how many times I've heard this story about the forgotten necklace, but I didn't accept your requests of a refund. I instead propose you to check into the vacuum: small things could been aspirated indeed.
When you saw how seriously I was taking your matter, you decided that the necklace was not so important to check into a vacuum (still quite important to have a refund for it) and left.

Needless to say anything else I suppose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antica Casa Coppo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Casa Coppo

Address: San Marco, 4320, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Antica Casa Coppo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Casa Coppo Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Casa Coppo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.