We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay for sightseeing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Casa Coppo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Antica Casa Coppo to your Saves list
Antica Casa Coppo
San Marco, 4320, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #195 of 433 Venice B&B and Inns
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great place to stay for sightseeing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

A small and very convenient hotel in the heart of Venice - between San Marco and Rialto. Nicely furnished rooms, fast and free wifi and a tiny breakfast room, which gives you an authentic feeling.

You should be aware that booking some months in advance is necessary. You also should be prepared to find the location by asking for the way to walk from Rialto Vaporetto station, which is not more than 300 meters.

To be absolutely recommanded for sightseeing travellers who want to combine a convenient location with "sleeping facilities" at comparable very valuable prices.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    69
    18
    9
    16
See reviews for
29
87
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We went to Venice to see the Don Giovanni at La Fenice, so we looked on TA for a nearby room to stay overnight. Casa Coppo is 5 minutes away from the theatre, so it's perfectly located for the purpose. We stayed at Tintoretto room, wide (in Venice!!!) and in very nice design; the double bed was almost king size, comfy enough; very silent room (no noise from the narrow calle or nearby rooms, although occupied). The free wi-fi was at good speed for our purposes.
Breakfast was OK, breakfast lounge was a bit cramped but hey, it's Venice, so we can't expect a football ground to have our cappuccino and cornetto.
When we checked in, the young receptionist was very nice and smiling with us: good! Check-out the morning later was quick, we wanted to stroll around in Venice, so we leaved our luggage there until 2pm. Our visit was positive, so we would call again at Antica Casa Coppo when in Venice for the Opera.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

After receiving a detailed description of how to get to the hotel via e-mail with queries of arrival time, one would expect a delightful and charming stay. On the contrary, after winding through the streets of Venice to find the B&B, we rang the bell numerous times. No reply. After winding back our way through the paths to ensure we did not miss a turn, we came back to a helpful but unaware cleaning lady.
Placing our bags there we returned later in the day for the formal check in. The images on the site are somewhat misleading. The rooms can merely fit a bed in and every sound is heard of people walking through the B&B. We questioned whether there was another room, we were offered an alternative, and this left us with the echoes hotel staff squabbling with each other.
After a night stay with anything but sleep, in a bed that was not long enough, we queried about check out. The lady in charge was less than impressed. Upon finding our alternative accommodation, we decided that we would like to have the breakfast that we had just paid for. This was not greeted warmly. Nothing felt better than walking away that afternoon to our much better, not to mention, cheaper accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The room was a bit on the small side but clean and comfortable. Bathroom adequate and very clean. Rooms cleaned every day. Breakfast ample with a variety of food to choose from. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast room quite small. No bar but if you wanted a coffee when you got in, in the evening the receptionist would make one for us. It is within easy reach for both the Rialto Bridge and St Marks Square with plenty of shops, restaurants and bars around. I would definitely come again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Well, all I can say is, if John Cleese had suddenly appeared, I would have thought that this place made sense on a film script! Rooms small and dark. No lounge or bar. Breakfast is a complete fiasco. Lady in charge of breakfast is not a lady to argue with- She cant stand anyone in what is a minute dining area -until 8.30 am on the dot! Other qualms that I had was one night my room key did not work. This was around 10.00 pm. No one in reception to sort it out.Lucky for me that my friend stayed with me for 30 mins and it eventually worked. Big worry is that no one is on reception after 4.00 pm.until 8.00 am.for emergencies etc!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This place is more a bed and breakfast than an hotel, and even though the website shows a lounge, there isn't anywhere to sit other than in one's room. Claudia on reception is very helpful, and the location is central and quiet with nice restaurants and a useful general/ food store nearby. Rooms are adequate, with plenty hot water in the bathrooms.

However mornings are not good. Breakfasts are included in the price and are OK. However guests asking for even a hot drink before 8.30 a.m. (when breakfast is served), are sent away, despite there being a waitress and a coffee machine in the breakfast room. Also reception is not open until 8 a.m. This is too late for guests leaving Venice on morning flights.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slatington, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Enjoyed our two night stay very much. The room was everything I could've hoped for in Venice, lavishly decorated, clean and comfy. Nice European-style breakfast, but the space we ate in was kind of tight. Easy walk to the Piazza San Marco or the Rialto Bridge, also to lots of shops. The best thing to do in Venice is to just wander around and take in the beauty!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antica Casa Coppo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Casa Coppo

Address: San Marco, 4320, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Antica Casa Coppo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Casa Coppo Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Casa Coppo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.