We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Scandinavia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Scandinavia to your Saves list
Hotel Scandinavia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Campo Santa Maria Formosa, Castello 5240, 30100 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #161 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Sarasota, Florida, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel was close to what we needed and everywhere was walkable. Unfortunately, our window overlooked a walkway, so we heard a lot of noise. At 3:00 am it was quite disturbing. Our last day at the hotel, we inquired about the best way to get to the airport (since we came in via train). The hotel explained which water shuttle we should use and even offered to prepare a little breakfast for us (we were leaving well before breakfast time). This was especially nice of them since we were poised for a long travel day and food can be challenging to find that early in the morning.

Room Tip: request a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    177
    74
    25
    9
See reviews for
96
153
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Never having been to Venice before, we chose the Scandinavia because it looked quite well located (and the reviews were good). Well, we were right about the location, because it's pretty much perfect. The room and bathroom were spacious and a pleasure to use and it’s a friendly hotel too; the members of staff that we met were really helpful. The reason it doesn’t get five stars is that although the breakfast was perfectly good, the coffee came out of a machine and was undrinkable. Not to worry though, because if you like your coffee, there’s a nice little cafe/bar next door that does really nice coffee. We intend to visit Venice again and will certainly stay at the Scandinavia.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia City, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed in a large 4 bed room at this hotel overlooking the square. Fresh fruit stands are located right in front of the hotel. Beautiful Murano glass and mirrors everywhere with antique decor. Very clean and the staff was exceptionally friendly giving detailed maps for touring the island. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

No lift but staff eager to help with luggage. Hotel very clean new bathroom, no view from back rooms but rooms are very clean. The furnishings areole but they are suppose to be for the era. Beautiful Murano chandeliers everywhere. Staff happy to look after luggage if you arrive early and take it to your room. All on all I found my stay here very pleasant.

Room Tip: We took a private ferry to the hotel it was a short walk to the hotel but when we left were given he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed here in a triple room. Very nice location--close to everything yet on a little square away from all the crowds. You can hear the noise from the square, but it just added to the whole Venetian experience to us. Front desk people were all extremely helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The hotel itself is or should be a heritage building. The building is around 700 years old (that's what we were told). Though hotel is centuries old but it has been very nicely done up inside, with all the modern amenities (including wi-fi). The nearest station for taking water-cab or Vaporetto is Rialto (10 minutes walk from the hotel) from the hotel. St. Lucia railway station is 10 minutes from Rialto. The hotel is situated in a very nice square - Santa Maria Square. We had an excellent stay there. The staff was very helpful. There are lot of eating places around the hotel, with few excellent ones in the square itself. We had an excellent stay with just a minor hitch. Since we were staying on 4th floor, climbing stairs first time with the luggage was bit of a task. One should ask for help in carrying the luggage which we did while checking out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the balcony opening towards the square. You'll get an excellent view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

What a gem of a hotel - traditional venetian decor throughout - small rooms and no lift - but it made it more like being in Venice! Location was great close to the main square but away from all the noise. Staff at hotel so helpful and friendly. Loved the cold buffet breakfast and having coffee in front of the hotel watching the people walk by. Recommend this place for a romantic night in Venice.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Scandinavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scandinavia

Address: Campo Santa Maria Formosa, Castello 5240, 30100 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#124 Family Hotel in Venice
#162 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Scandinavia 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Scandinavia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandinavia Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Scandinavia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.