We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopped here by chance. I consider myself lucky.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birreria Zanon

Birreria Zanon
Cannaregio 2735, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 1,132 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Cannaregio
Plymouth, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Stopped here by chance. I consider myself lucky.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I stopped in this place at random to avoid pouring rain. Good beer, wine, spirits, snacks, and free wifi. Total traveler win.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    19
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Adorable place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Lovely coctails. Tasty paninies. Place to be. And mostly the prices are cheap for Venice. Adorable atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place for spritz and cicchetti”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

What a nice place. After a week in Venice alone and never going in for any appetizers/drinks that Venice is famous for, when walking through the Ghetto the loud alternative rock blaring from this place drew me in. Small with just a few tables, they had a cool video shot from a drone of flying around Italy and over the Concordia ship wreck... and a mix of alternative rock from the US in the 90s playing. The spritz's were super cheap -- like 2 E or something -- and you could eat whatever cicchetti you wanted, plus they had slightly larger food items for about 2 or 3 E. The clientele were lots of local people, and as the sun slowly went down, the vibe was just tremendous. Lots of folks sat outside along the canal, drinking with their glass drinks, and returning them when done. Very different in Venice than the US, where you wouldn't be out with drinks in a glass on the street, but it's a quite different culture and experience there.

Anyway, I ended up becoming friends with one of the bartenders there, Nik, a Venetian living elsewhere in Europe who works there when home in Venice. What a wonderful guy. I found this place so welcoming, and the cicchetti super tasty. Little meat and cheese/sun-dried tomato sandwich things, other similar small food items, and a great vibe there. People sitting around drinking on the street in front, and lots of older local folks talking amongst themselves with smiles. I felt at home and had a nice conversation with a guy Saed, who was also very nice. It was one of the best experiences I had in Venice and here are a couple of photos, one of Nik and I there, and one of some art he did that is hanging on the wall there.
I highly suggest this place for value, vibe and location. It's authentic and where I met a true friend. Enjoy your time there if you're so very fortunate to be walking down that amazing street.
Aloha!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very nice neighbouthood bar!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Lovely bar, was full on a Sunday night. Interesting beers and well priced Prosecco. We really enjoyed the atmosphere and we were the only non-local people there. Well worth a visit!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Super Cichetti”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Looking for lunch on a Sunday after a walk around the Ghetto and found that our two recommendations there were closed.
Lucky for us then otherwise we wouldn't have encountered this little place.
We sat inside - for which the food costs a tad more - but sandwiches and cichetti were still a steal - and delicious. I can still taste the shrimp one if I try really hard.
We washed down with a cabernet franc and a spritzer.
Superb lunch stop for 17E.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birreria Zanon also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
 

Been to Birreria Zanon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birreria Zanon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.