We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gondola” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gondola Ride

Gondola Ride
San Marco 3613, Venice, Italy
041 5285075
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 126 Activities in Venice
Attraction details
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“gondola”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Knowledgeable Gondolia well worth the money. You can't go to Venice and not go on a Gondola.Boat ride approx 20 - 30 minutes but longer in the morning due to river traffic. St routes depending on where you pick up the boat.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    172
    74
    30
    20
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Kitchy and Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Was it pricy? Yes. Was it fun? Absolutely. There is a standard price for all Gondola rides, no matter how many people so since we had a family six adults it really wasn't so bad. I recommend finding one on the smaller side canals instead of on the Grand Canal or by St Marks. I saw people getting in there and they got rocked around more by the bigger boats and it's a lot more congested in those areas. Most of our tour was inside the smaller canals, though we did get into the Grand Canal long enough to get some good pictures of the Rialto Bridge.

It's fun to do once, so why not?

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A charming gondola ride in a picturesque city.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Before my family of four recently visited Venice, we were told that the gondola rides were extremely expensive, like $100 per person. When walking around this charming, surreal City, we started talking to some of the gondoliers (sp) and found there are set prices of 80 euros ($110) before 7pm and 100 euros ($135) after 7pm for the ride not per person. This included a 45 minute tour of the waterways and an exciting ride down the grand canal. Well worth it for four people. Venice is also a magnificent City that takes your breath away when seeing it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Scary and Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I was terrified the boat would tip over, as it kept rocking back and forth. Also, we had to lean waaay over to fit under some of the bridges. As the ride progressed, the gondolier shared interesting things about himself and the city and I became less anxious. However, once was enough for me!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Super Romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I absolutely loved this experience, I went for valentines day with my other half. We decided to leave the ride for the 14th of February because I just knew it would be prefect, it was!! More expensive but to be honest worth every penny. It was around €80/90 for two. We pick it up in San Mark Square (tariffs are more) the driver was called Ricado and what a fella, he helped us get on and off, he told us about certain house that had loads of history. He also sang and that was a plus!! Overall get on a gondola regardless of the price it's a must!! It has to be in the list of things to do before dying!! Happy holidays

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gondola Ride also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Gondola Ride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gondola Ride, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.