We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amara for Vineria all'Amarone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vineria all'Amarone

Vineria all'Amarone
Calle dei Sbianchesini, 30125 Venice, Italy
+(39)0415231184
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 1,209 restaurants in Venice
Price range: $4 - $50
Cuisines: Wine Bar, Winery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Vineria all'Amarone is a wine bar in Venice city Center. It offers a fine selection of local wines from high end vinos such as the Amarone della Valpolicella to affordable high quality wines that you can also take away or ship back home. At Vineria all'Amarone you can also taste the delicious Venitian finger food, the "Cicchetti" and a sophisticated selection of cold cuts and cheeses.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amara for Vineria all'Amarone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We heard about this wonderful "wine bar with great food" from a good friend and also checked it out on Trip Advisor. We went after being disappointed with paying too much for poor foor in Venice and were not disappointed. We had fabulous Bruschetta, salad, chicken wings (I was so excited), lasagna and ravioli and it was all excellent along with a great selection of reasonably priced wines by the glass. We had one to start and then ordered a great bottle of Amarone (of course - what else in all'Amarone?). We left our tasting notes on the bottle that goes on the wall and feel there is now part of us left behind to mark this great experience. Highly recommended - do make a reservation as the place was packed and be prepared to chat to your neighbors as it is quite cozy. We had a wonderful time and found the staff very friendly and attentive despite being very busy. One tip on finding the location - go over the bridge away from San Marco, turn left, go down the grand canal to the end past the gondolas until you can't go further, turn right and walk until you get to a little square, stay to the left on the square and walk down the lane and you run right into it on your left. Well done, Vineria all'Amarone.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    153
    72
    17
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Although we only had a late afternoon snack of assorted cheeses and a few glasses of wine, we loved this place. The restaurant is located on a fairly quiet street, away from all the shopping tourists. we sat at one of the three outdoor tables and felt like what I'd always envisioned having lunch in Italy to be like!. Suggestions re: wines were made to us and we enjoyed them all. Unfortunately, our schedule did not allow us to return here a second time, but if we had the opportunity, we definitely would have. Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was our first night in Venice and a very authentic way to start on holiday, the crostini were excellent and the special of the day (gnocchi with ragu) was the same. The wine selection was good, a small place but very lively!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Well we enjoyed it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Although our iphone sat nav let us down and we circled the restaurant for about 10 minutes trying to find it, we were glad we did in the end. The menu and fare are so simple yet well presented, fresh and flavoursome. The bruschetta huge and the melon and parma ham an equally large portion. The lasagne not overly big yet full of flavour and a good choice. My tagliatteli with porcini was also a good choice and bottle of Valpolicello washed it down perfectly. The service is adequate but when they are busy you have to ask for things rather than waiting for them to be brought without asking but then the response is quick. It seems chaotic and it probably is but successful all the same. It is probably no better than other resturants and definitely no worse than others but it has made itself popular via this medium. Go if you don't mind booking, we did and were glad we had. Go if you like simple food well prepared. Don't expect the exotic or haute cuisine and you won't be disappointed. Good atmosphere but cosy in the extreme. Overall a positive experience but judge for yourselves!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Good food and wine, rounded out by excellent service and atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Arrived in Venice late-ish. Finally found hotel after walking past this restaurant 4 or 5 times. Was very busy and happy to sit outside. Specials recommended by the waiter were excellent as well was the wine. Started chatting with the owner, Alfredo, who introduced us to another couple from Australia with whom we had dessert and tiramisu. The other couple had been here 3 nights in a row. Continued drinking until almost close. Alfredo offered to show us his wine cellar next to the restaurant. Decided to eat somewhere else the next night to try something different, but after a mediocre meal/service elsewhere we returned to All'Amarone for wine and dessert. Alfredo immediately greeted us and offered to make us a 'Van Gogh' of an anti pasti platter with his own personal note written under it all. The anti pasti was amazing and as we were told by his son, Johann, who Alfredo introduced to us later, was actually not on the menu, simply the food that he liked to eat himself. Giosia also offered to choose all our wines for the night, which we happily accepted and they were all fantastic. We returned the next day again with welcome arms. The food here may not be flashy or extravagant it is simple tasty food with amazing service, hospitality and atmosphere. This is why this restaurant is number 1 and will be for a while.
Thankyou to Alfredo, his wife, son Johann, Giosia and all the other staff. Keep up the amazing work. And as promised, we will return to All'Amarone!!!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vineria all'Amarone also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Vineria all'Amarone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vineria all'Amarone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.