We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ice cream, go for self service option, otherwise it's expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gelateria Al Todaro

Gelateria Al Todaro
Piazza San Marco, 3, 30124 Venice, Italy
041 5285165
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #737 of 1,203 restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Ice Cream, Bar, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Scenic view
Description: Ice cream in Venice since 1948
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great ice cream, go for self service option, otherwise it's expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Nice location, right by the sea and San Marco square. The important thing is to decide, whether you want to order yourself or sit down and have a waiter take care of you. The second option is very pricey, compared to self service. If you want tasty ice cream for reasonable price, just go inside the store and make the order and payment by yourself. However, you are not allowed to sit down outside then, which is rather shame.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    8
    14
    4
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“DO NOT GO HERE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Prices in window said hot chocolate 3.5 euros and coffee 2.5 euros but it doesn't say that if you drink it outside you will have a bill of 27 euros !!! Their excuse was that it is due to waiter service but we ordered inside and went in to get the bill. Outrageous cost for three hot drinks and there was no attempt to meet us "half way" when we pointed this out. Really disappointed in their willingness to rip tourists off when this isn't made clear at all.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al-Todaro, Direttore at Gelateria Al Todaro, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Google Translation
Il nostro Caffè offre ai propri clienti dal 1948 un servizio separato con listini diversi al bar
all'interno del locale e all'esterno sui propri tavolini, esclusivamente con il servizio dei
camerieri, come richiesto dal regolamento comunale.
Il listino per il bar è esposto esclusivamente dentro il locale insieme a 6 cartelli in italiano, inglese francese e tedesco che avvisano che i tavolini esterni sono riservati al servizio camerieri.
All'esterno del locale, in prossimità dei tavolini, sono esposti due listini con i prezzi delle consumazioni al tavolo.
Proprio perchè sappiamo che i prezzi delle consumazioni sono allineati con quelli dei bar
della Piazza San Marco e quindi sono elevati, noi consegnamo ad ogni cliente che si siede al tavolo un menu, dove viene riportata tutta la nostra offerta con i relativi prezzi.
Non c'è nulla di nascosto ma è tutto molto molto chiaro.
Purtroppo se un cliente entra nel locale e guarda il listino al bar e quindi IGNORA tutti i
cartelli che spiegano che al tavolo viene effettuato il servizio camerieri, IGNORA il
personale che lo avvisa che al tavolo c'è il servizio camerieri, IGNORA i listini esposti in
prossimità dei tavolini e soprattutto IGNORA il menù che gli viene consegnato, siamo dispiaciuti ma riteniamo di aver fatto tutto quando in nostro potere per informare correttamente i clienti della nostra offerta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beware of hidden charges”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stopped there for a drink this April while waiting for our boat trip to Murano. I went up to the bar to order two hot chocolates and a coffee (advertised on their door as 3 euros). I was asked to take a seat and the waiter would bring it out to us. Had the drink then I went in to pay as we were in a hurry. Again, was asked to take a seat and the waiter would be right out with the bill. This came to 27.50 Euros!! We were astonished. When I went in to complain and point out that their sign said 3 euros for a coffee, I was told that I should have looked at the menu. I pointed out that they should clearly state it on their door/wall that there was an extortionate charge for the waiter service. Apparently, if you drink inside, there is no waiter charge. Again, this was not shown anywhere at all so be warned!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al-Todaro, Direttore at Gelateria Al Todaro, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Google Translation
Il nostro Caffè offre ai propri clienti dal 1948 un servizio separato con listini diversi al bar
all'interno del locale e all'esterno sui propri tavolini, esclusivamente con il servizio dei
camerieri, come richiesto dal regolamento comunale.
Il listino per il bar è esposto esclusivamente dentro il locale insieme a 6 cartelli in italiano, inglese francese e tedesco che avvisano che i tavolini esterni sono riservati al servizio camerieri.
All'esterno del locale, in prossimità dei tavolini, sono esposti due listini con i prezzi delle consumazioni al tavolo.
Proprio perchè sappiamo che i prezzi delle consumazioni sono allineati con quelli dei bar
della Piazza San Marco e quindi sono elevati, noi consegnamo ad ogni cliente che si siede al tavolo un menu, dove viene riportata tutta la nostra offerta con i relativi prezzi.
Non c'è nulla di nascosto ma è tutto molto molto chiaro.
Purtroppo se un cliente entra nel locale e guarda il listino al bar e quindi IGNORA tutti i
cartelli che spiegano che al tavolo viene effettuato il servizio camerieri, IGNORA il
personale che lo avvisa che al tavolo c'è il servizio camerieri, IGNORA i listini esposti in
prossimità dei tavolini e soprattutto IGNORA il menù che gli viene consegnato, siamo dispiaciuti ma riteniamo di aver fatto tutto quando in nostro potere per informare correttamente i clienti della nostra offerta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcallen
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

the food wasnt anything special but the location, being in the plaza san marcos, made it very special

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful ices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Well you just have to taste the icecream if you are in Italy-if the queues are too long there are other places where you can buy lovely ice-cream. Enjoy!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria Al Todaro also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Gelateria Al Todaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gelateria Al Todaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.