We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place just behind St.Marks. Not recommended in summer though.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Venice Hazel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added B&B Venice Hazel to your Saves list
B&B Venice Hazel
Castello 4977/A Fondamenta de l_Osmarin, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #162 of 433 Venice B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great place just behind St.Marks. Not recommended in summer though.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

It takes just 5 min to walk to St.Marks and a supermarket. We stayed in a private double room right next to the reception. There is no air conditioning though. It's late July in Venice so we really cannot sleep at night because of the heat. There is a small fan in the room but it doesn't help at all. At the end, we asked the host if we can borrow their one and only air conditioning machine at the reception. coz we really couldn't sleep at night. And they're so generous to lend us for free! We insist on paying some money though but it's really nice of them.
Bathrooms are clean and bright. Kitchen is fully equipped. We've made some noodles and spaghetti. Breakfast is basic. Free coffee and tea provided.
Despite the heat, it is a great great place to stay.

Room Tip: There are not any air conditioning in any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    27
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
38
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Location (behind St Mark square) is the only advantage for this property. Hotel was not so easy to locate though we had map. Breakfast was basic packed food. Double room was very small and though we requested a small table fan really couldn't sleep well (of course it was summer). 2 bathrooms were very clean though shared between 3/4 rooms.

Room Tip: beware before choosing double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed at Venice Hazel as part of a weekend trip to Venice. In spite of my flight being delayed by over an hour and a half, they waited up for us even though we arrived after "Last Check In" and were very friendly and accommodating. The guest house is located 5/10 mins stroll from Piazza San Marco and there's an array of little bars and cafes nearby. It makes an excellent "jumping off point" to explore the rest of the city and is really very reasonably priced in spite of this.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed at this wonderful B&B for 5 nights after 2 months of travelling. It'd recieved decent reviews, so was quietly hoping it would meet expectations as some had been disappointing before. To my surprise it did! The place is really secure - great news for a solo traveller and central, 5min from San Marco. Public transport to all major sights are accessible from here.
My double room was on the 3rd floor, spacious, with heater, single leather couch, coffee table, and tall windows facing the canals. Noise was minimal so you'll get a good nights sleep. Fully equipped kitchen, dining table for 4 - 6, microwave, toaster. There's 2 communal bathrooms which were always fresh and clean. Oh and wifi's decent. Everyone was pretty nice here and the team are wonderful - professional, hospitable, helpful. If you've the time, get to know them because they are genuinely lovely people.
I'd recommend this place for friends, small families and solo travellers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The location is near St. Mark Basilica. Can be difficult to find. You know every street in Venice looks almost the same. Advised to get a Google Map image before you go.

Puchased 24 hours ACTV boat tickets €20 at the booth in front of St Lucia station. You can take 1, 2, 4.1 or 5.2 to San Zaccaria station. 4.1 and 5.2 are faster because they don't travel along the grand canal. 5.2 is the fastest (30mins). Boats are frequent and operate till midnight.

Need to carry the luggage through a few narrow street. Luckily no bridge or stairs. Same as all B&B in Italy. Check in requires your passport photocopied and €2 city council tax. The owner gave us a nice, photocopied map of Venice which is very useful. He even explained and highlighted those attractions.

As stated in the website, €5 for bedsheet per bed. The towels are small. Yet, still the best deal I found after compared most B&B in Venice. Bathroom is shared but spacious and very clean.

Cooking is allowed in kitchen. Fully equipped with microwave, stove and traditional Italian coffee maker if you know how to use.

Decent room, spacious, clean. The double bed is actually combination of 2 single beds. Comfortable enough, maybe we are too tired. Free wifi included. Simple breakfast served at kitchen. Not very good.

Next to a high school. Quite noisy at daytime. We don't realise this until we came back to check out.

Overall, good value of money considering the location and come on, this is Venice ! Everything here is expensive. A double room cost €90 per night and €5 for bed sheet not including council tax €2 per person. Other decent B&B is at least €110 at this summer time.

Room Tip: Avoid facing north, there is a high school nearby. Can be very noisy during the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed at the B&B Venice Hazel for 3 nights altogether and really liked the place. The location was very convenient and the place is very clean. People were all really nice and the rooms are spacious. The wi-fi can be weak on the 3rd floor from time to time but that's not a big problem. Its too bad that they make you pay for linen though it does include towels. I was there right before they go into high season so line-up for bathroom wasn't a problem, but I can see when there are more people it might become an issue. I'm not a big breakfast person, but if you are, don't expect too much.
All in all a great stay and I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Venice!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My husband and I visited Venice and stayed at the B&B Venice Hazel for two nights. The place was easy to find, and was in a pretty good location. Upon arriving the male receptionist gave us a map that highlighted all the attractions in Venice, as well as showed us around the B&B. We were on the 2nd floor and had a shared bathroom with about three other rooms.

The shared bathroom itself was nice and spacious. The only issue was the shower window had a leak in it so no matter how you positioned the shower head water would leak outside and wet a portion of the rug on the floor. It's a minor issue and I'm sure they may have fixed it by now.

The room itself was pretty plain, but nice. There was a heater which was really helpful because when we were there it was quite cold, with highs of about 40F. Everything was very clean, from the room to the bathroom to the kitchen.

The lady attendant/receptionist was really nice. The breakfast consisted of a packaged croissant, and some other packaged biscuits/crackers.

The only 'strange' thing is they ask you to either bring your own bedsheets or pay 5-10 Euros (depending on what size bed you have) to borrow one of theirs.

All in all it was a good two night stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Venice Hazel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Venice Hazel

Address: Castello 4977/A Fondamenta de l_Osmarin, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Budget Places so you can book your B&B Venice Hazel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Venice Hazel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.