We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful gem in Venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corte Di Gabriela

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Corte Di Gabriela to your Saves list
Corte Di Gabriela
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Avvocati 3836 S. Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 380 Hotels in Venice
Maryland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Beautiful gem in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had a nice greeting and check-in, and experienced excellent service throughout our stay. The hotel is clean, spacious and modern. In addition, our family had two luxury and one deluxe room on the first floor so I got to experience three different room layouts. Each one was unique in its layout and design. On at least the first floor, the common area between the rooms was huge--like a lobby!

Breakfast was much better than average compared to most free Italian hotel breakfasts. And their private courtyard is a nice little place to eat breakfast or to just hangout in.

The hotel offers free use of an iPad in your room, and free wifi. I'm not a big fan of the electronic key entry system they use but this seems to be common in Italy and other European countries.

Of course this hotel costs a lot more than most so you would expect more spacious rooms, more and better amenities, and superior service!

The location was convenient to most attractions in the city but there is a short walk that includes a small bridge to traverse in order to get to the hotel from the closest Alilaguna/vaporetto/taxi stop at Sant' Angelo. So beware if you have a lot of luggage!

We will definitely be back to this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortedigabriela, Front Desk Officer at Corte Di Gabriela, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest
We wish to thank you for you beautiful words and your review.
It is indeed a pleasure knowing that our efforts in rendering your stay something to rememberer, were appreciated. We are really happy that our particular design ad style as well as our special breakfast did not pass unnoticed.
We look forward in greeting you once again in our hotel.
Cordially
Luisa
Corte Di Gabriela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    23
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
25
268
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel staffs were very friendly and welling to help. This lovely boutique hotel is located just 2mins walk from st angelo water bus sta which is quite convenience and only a few mins walk to the s.marco sq! Although the hotel could be a little tricky to find at first, just give the hotel reception a call, they are all very helpful! In addtion, the hotel is definitely worth the price especially in Venice, we'll stay here again if we ever come back to Venice!! The highlight of the hotel was the amazing breakfast!!!! They serve the fabulous homemade breakfast (buffet) from am8-11 so you have lots of time to enjoy the lovely breakfast! We had such a wonderful time here and will definitely recommend it to everyone!!!!!!
P.s. I forgot to ask the name of the lovely lady (morning shift staff) who was really kind and nice to us during the stay! Thank you!!
Moni Yao

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortedigabriela, front Desk Officer at Corte Di Gabriela, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you so much for your kind words!

We truly appreciate you positive review and hope to be able to welcome you again in our Hotel, at your next visit of our city.

Best Regards,

Luisa

Corte Di Gabriela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed with our three kids and had a wonderful stay. The designer decorated hotel and rooms give this boutique hotel a special feel, a place where you want to be. The breakfast is unique and simply wonderful. Gastronomy breakfast was invented here. Highly recommended for those who appreciate fine taste.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortedigabriela, Front Desk Officer at Corte Di Gabriela, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Guest And Family

We thank you from the heart your your review.
We are really happy you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that we helped you in creating wonderful memories for you all. We thank you for all your compliments especially for our breakfast and we hope to have you as our guest again.
Cordially
Luisa
Corte di Gabriela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I have been travelling to Venice on a regular basis for the past few years and have stayed at a number of hotels in the City. Corte di Gabriela is a romantic little hotel in what used to be a private home and offices. It is clean and comfortable and the staff is pleasant and efficient. It's not far from Rialto and San Marco and close to the Sant'Angelo vaporetto stop.

The room was not hugely spacious but comfortable. The bed was basically ok, but you could feel the springs go sproing on occasion. Also, the A/C was not functioning properly but was basically ok. Breakfast was ample and varied but the coffee was not up to what any Italian would consider acceptable. They need a new coffee machine! Also, the buffet was laid out nicely and seemed to appeal to the fruit flies very nicely.

All in all, this was not the nicest place I stayed at in Venice but was pretty good and I would not hesitate to recommend it for a couple looking for a romantic little spot in Venice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortedigabriela, Proprietario at Corte Di Gabriela, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear guest,
we thank you for your review. We are sorry that our hotel did not completely satisfied you. Referring to our beds we inform you that all our mattresses are made of latex and they do not have springs. Concerning the A/C we would have been glad to help you to set it if you just have informed the reception about it. For the breakfast we have 2 different kind of coffee, the one made with the traditional "moka" machine and the espresso made with Illy high quality capsules with a brand new machine. Anyway we thank you for your suggestions that will help us to improve our guest services. Hoping to welcome you here again we send our best regards
Gabriella Botter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking to stay in a hotel were you will be treated like family the corte di gabriela is the hotel for you. The rooms are beautifull and the breakfast is breath taking the only problem that i had was that i had to share a bed with mi sister, but besides that everything was perfect

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortedigabriela, Front Desk Officer at Corte Di Gabriela, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you from the heart for your review.
We are glad that you appreciated your stay at Corte di Gabriela.
Hoping to welcome you again!

Cordially
Luisa
Corte di Gabriela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I came to Venice for a much belated honeymoon trip, I booked the hotel after going through all the reviews on Tripadvisor, it was a bit steep, but then this was going to be a once in a lifetime trip to Venice. After the booking I received an email from the hotel whether we wanted a water taxi, their e was quoted as €110. We thought that it would be cheaper if we get the taxi from the airport itself, in the end it turned out the price was exactly the same...this was how our experience started. The room was great, it was a Jr. suite, nice balcony, overall location for this hotel is awesome...a few minutes (less than 10) walk to the key spots in Venice. Our flight landed late (after dark), Louisa recommended Acqua Pazza a restaurant next door for dinner, it was great, we ate there two nights, the third night we tried some other restaurant and we regretted it. Overall, this hotel deserves to be the #1 ranked in Venice. The breakfast is excellent, the service is impeccable and the overall experience amazing!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortedigabriela, front Desk Officer at Corte Di Gabriela, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.
We are glad that you appreciated your stay at Corte di Gabriela as well as our great breakfast.
Hoping to welcome you again!

Cordially
Luisa
Corte Di Gabriela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

It's really hard to find a hotel in Venice with modern interiors and clean lines. I'm not a big fan of the baroque wallpaper and thick carpets that most Venetian hotels seem to go for - aesthetics aside, I just feel that they trap a lot of dust and dirt, and I don't think they're properly cleaned! Corte di Gabriela is the answer if you want a luxurious experience minus the chintz. The decor is elegant and minimalist, and this translates right down into the bathroom fittings and other furniture. It seems a bit far from the centre of the action when seen on the map, but once you've figured out all the small alleys, it only takes about 7 - 10 minutes walk to get into St Mark's Square. I do like staying a little out from the tourist centre of Venice and the area where Corte is situated at is perfect: close enough to a campo for dining yet tucked away in a discreet alley so it's away from the noise when you want some peace and quiet. The only grumble I had was because it's in an alley, there isn't a lot of light coming into the room, and I tend to prefer light-flooded rooms. The air-conditioning was also a little too high-tech for me to figure out, and the temperature stayed a tad on the chilly side throughout my stay despite my repeated attempts to increase it. Otherwise, I had a lovely stay here, and was thoroughly spoilt at breakfast time with the wonderful choices available and the excellent coffee. Will be staying here from now on whenever I visit Venice!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortedigabriela, Front Desk Officer at Corte Di Gabriela, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for your review. We are glad that you appreciated your stay at Corte di Gabriela. Hoping to welcome you again!
best regards
Luisa
Corte di Gabriela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Corte Di Gabriela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corte Di Gabriela

Address: Calle Avvocati 3836 S. Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 380 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Corte Di Gabriela 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Corte Di Gabriela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corte Di Gabriela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.