We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best view in town.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birreria Rivo Alto

Birreria Rivo Alto
Venice, Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #512 of 1,197 restaurants in Venice
Description: Se trata del Bar / Restaurant ubicado al pie del puente de Rialto, del lado de San Marco, tiene mesas en la vereda y sobre el bosde del Gran Canal
Restaurant details
Description: Se trata del Bar / Restaurant ubicado al pie del puente de Rialto, del lado de San Marco, tiene mesas en la vereda y sobre el bosde del Gran Canal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best view in town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Having visited Venice three times in recent years we always seem to make our way back here. The location just cannot be beaten, a beautiful setting sitting under Rialto Bridge with a cold Prosecco. Made all the more enjoyable by the superb service provided by our favourite waiter Mohammed who we were excited to see again after a two year break. He was always happy to see us and greeted us with a big smile and handshake. It really was a wrench to leave on our last day, next summer can't come around quick enough.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    6
    3
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
420 reviews 420 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
657 helpful votes 657 helpful votes
“Over charge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

A nice venue, but we were charged different prices that was on the menu! The wine and bear selection was extensive, the food was limited. A good place to see the local Venetian relaxing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“As good as it gets in Venice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location underneath Rialto bridge ( easily missed as you're carried past by the massed crowds passing by to get to San Marco ).
Take a table by the Grand Canal, sit and watch the world go by and be pleasantly surprised by the prices for such a premium location.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Our number 1 stop on any Venice trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Ever since our first trip to Venice in May 2011 and every trip since then this is our favourite place. Angelo and the rest of the staff are so welcoming offering service that is second to non. Of course many tourists use it as it is a prime spot right next to the Rialto Bridge. During the day you can watch the traffic of the Grand Canal as tourists and locals alike use the same waterways and street. During the day it is very busy and sometimes you need to wait for a seat to become available, however at night it is quieter and becomes quite a romantic spot. This was also the place I chose the night before my wedding to have a few drinks with friends. Once again Angelo served us with a smile and a constant flow on some of the most delicious wine to be found in Venice.

Our last visit was for first wedding nniversay so I put this as a couples visit but also falls under friends and family spot.

As the main vapereto stop from the train station and bus station stops just to the left it is the best place to have your first refreshment stop before finding your hotel.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birreria Rivo Alto also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Birreria Rivo Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birreria Rivo Alto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.