We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Great Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Moresco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Moresco to your Saves list
Hotel Moresco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sestiere Dorsoduro 3499, 30123 Venice, Italy (San Croce)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Prince Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Great Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Our two week journey came to an end in beautiful Venice, Italy staying at the Hotel Moresco. Elegant furnishings, an outstanding staff who were absolutely perfect. Where did we want to visit ?
What did we want to see ? How far did we want to go from our hotel ? Every question we had, ther was a friendly member of the hotel staff to help us out.....so don't be afraid to ask. The room was well furnished and comfortable. Even if we did spend most of our time walking thru little alley ways.
There were many little "Piazzas" and I think we saw all of them ! Wonderful food and drinks wherever we stopped, and the Lemoncella Gelato is fantastic . Our flight home was very early in the morning and required us to be awake and checking out by 7:00 am. which was well before the morning breakfast room opened for guests. As we checked out and reached for our luggage, the night desk clerk came into the hallway and handed us "the Great Surprise" of fresh muffins, crackers and jam, as well as bottles of orange juice and water for our homeward bound flight back to reality. My wife and I have already agreed that our next trip to Italy begins in Venice..........and probably stays in Venice. If you visit, you may just want to stay !

Room Tip: If the other rooms are as nice as ours was, any room will be fantastic. Ours was up one staircase a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    62
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
59
589
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Moresco is only two years old and has about 20 rooms. It is away from all the throngs of tourists and yet all the sights, restaurants are within easy walking distance. There is a lovely outdoor garden with comfortable tables and lounge chairs. ISpent several hours in this area just reading and enjoying the peace and quiet. There is a small bar that sponsors happy hour two hours each night with lots of complimentary nibbles. The inclusive breakfast is fresh and includes extensive buffet as well as special order eggs, etc.

The rooms are spacious and all the modern conve iences.

Not cheap but that is Venice. Very personalized service as you would expect in a boutique, claasy hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We selected this hotel from Trip Advisor reviews even though it was more expensive than many of the other hotels. We were very glad we did. From the impeccable decor and furnishings, to the warm welcoming and service from the excellent staff, our stay was a resounding success. Many reviewers have recommended a canal view room, which we requested and received. However, were we to stay there again, we would prefer the quietness of a garden view room. One of the best features of the hotel is the garden/dining area, which was always so peaceful and serene after a day of fighting the crowds. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Lovely, cool air conditioned rooms, garden and facilities excellent. Wonderful friendly service, staff couldn't be more helpful!
Sad to leave......
Book early, we tried to add an extra night and they were full

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando Valley
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Wonderful stay. Sad to leave after only 1 night.

Location:
Although a little further from main plazas, the area is very nice and quiet on a small canal. There are restaurants right across the way.
30 min walking from Plaza San Marco, 15 min walk from Rialto, 5 min walk from Campo Santa Margherita. Everything is reached by foot. Water Taxi's don't seen to take you anywhere important from here.

Hotel from Airport:
don't make the same mistake we did, we got the wrong instructions at the airport and took a water bus. It leaves you about 20 minutes from the hotel, you have to walk on uneven stone, hauling luggage in the unbearable humid heat (if it's July). No one we asked along the way knew the way to the hotel, so it took us a lot longer than 20 minutes. Take the bus!!! It drops you off across the way, apparently.

Rooms:
Clean, tastefully decorated, ample room, big closet to stow away luggage.

Service:
Exceptional!

Breakfast:
Complimentary breakfast. Nothing special but sufficient. Small Assortment of juices, 2 different kinds of cereal, croissants, bread, cold cuts, coffee, tea, eggs and bacon upon request.

General notes for Venice:
The windy walkways of Venice seem very confusing at first glance but after a bit if walking around you will get the hang of it. To look for the main plazas, once you are on the main walkways there will be random yellow signs that point you in the right direction.
Venice seemed very safe. Don't be afraid to walk around aimlessly. Most often you will wind up in a main plaza and on the way you will find beauty in each corner...canals, beautiful buildings, churches, etc.

Go St. Mark's Basilica first thing in the morning 9a when it opens (no line!) or after 2:30 for less of a line.

Bring Off for Mosquitos! We got eaten alive at night!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just had a fabulous stay at Hotel Moresco. Honestly, the staff there are the friendliest and kindest we've ever encountered during a hotel stay. Every interaction was wonderful, and Wladimir especially was such a tremendous help. He made a special breakfast for us to have for our early morning (4:30 a.m.) departure and was so thoughtful. We had a terrific time at this gorgeous hotel and will absolutely stay again should we ever have the opportunity to return to Venice!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed here for four nights and had a room with a canal view which was outstanding. The view was wonderful watching the water taxis and delivery boats and venetians taking their daily routine.The room was excellent lovely comfortable bed with toiletries...replaced every day, lovely towels, complimentary bath robes and slippers were an added bonus. The room had very quiet air conditioning and a nespresso coffee machine which were very welcome. The hotel doesn't provide evening meals but they provide a more than adequate selection of crisps, petit fours and other eats to go with a drink before we went out to many of the excellent resturants in just a 5 - 10 minute walk around the hotel. The staff were fantastic so helpful and friendly so important when you want to de stress!! Breakfast was great with a huge choice of prepared fruit, cereals, freshly squeezed juice, champagne, cold meats, lots of bread, fresh comb honey and croissants and sumptuous cakes and even eggs of your choice of prep and bacon cooked fresh to order. The coffee was great as was the tea with a mind boggling selection of teas. A highly recommended hotel

Room Tip: Canal View is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Moresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moresco

Address: Sestiere Dorsoduro 3499, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Moresco 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Moresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Moresco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.