We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remarkable, Stupendous, Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Moresco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Moresco to your Saves list
Hotel Moresco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sestiere Dorsoduro 3499, 30123 Venice, Italy (Santa Croce)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 383 Hotels in Venice
GreenLeadersSilver level
Baltimore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Remarkable, Stupendous, Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I'm sorry to shout at you, but if you're traveling to Venice YOU MUST BOOK HOTEL MORESCO! There is good reason for this hotel to be rated so highly. It is simply excellent in every way. My husband and I travel quite a bit and tend to stay at 4-star hotels. In our opinion, this is closer to a 5-star property. We spent two wonderful weeks in Italy and when we arrived by train from Rome, we called the hotel because we were unsure whether to walk or take a water taxi. We learned that the hotel was in walking distance. Important note: we had to cross a rather large bridge to get to the hotel. Hire a porter for five euros a bag. Dragging a fifty-pound suitcase up and down the steps was not fun! When we arrived at the hotel, we were immediately impressed. The lobby is bright and airy and the person at the front desk was very welcoming. We stayed in room 108 (I've attached a photo from our bedroom window). The room was beautiful -- not large, but just what we needed. The bed was comfortable with very nice linens and bathrobes and slippers were provided. The bathroom was incredibly clean and beautiful. We could not have been more pleased. The breakfast was truly amazing. A lovely buffet that included eggs to order. There is also a nice little bar right off the lobby where we had after-dinner drinks with other hotel guests and shared stories of our adventures. The hotel is within walking distance (about 15-20 minutes) to Piazza San Marco. A big thank you goes to Mirco -- the best front desk employee we have ever encountered. Talk about helpful! He provided us information on everything -- from sights to restaurants and everything in between. Although the entire staff was first rate, he was exceptional! We loved just about everything in Venice (except perhaps the graffitii) and we will always remember our stay at Hotel Moresco. Thank you for the wonderful service! We hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 108. Although I was initially concerned about a first-floor room, we heard no nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMorescoStaff, Direttore at Hotel Moresco, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for the time you have spent to write your opinion about our hotel.

We are especially proud that we were able to meet your expectation.

Thanks also from Micro and all the staff, because your positive feedback
it's another reason to work even harder to meet the demands of our guests.

Sincerely
Bogdan Tanaskovic
Hotel Moresco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    910
    76
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
82
759
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

From the moment we entered, we were warmly greeted (genuinely) at Check-In and offered a welcome drink. The staff at this hotel are outstanding and it really makes you feel welcome.

The location is excellent - walking distance to the train station and in a quiet part of Venice well away from the Grand Canal (but within walking distance).

The rooms are beautifully appointed and so clean - I was very impressed at the cleanliness of the room from check in to check out. The shower has fun colored lighting, and the bed is super comfortable. Excellent pillows.

A bottle of Prosecco, as requested, was on ice in the room upon arrival.

The breakfast is delicious; again the staff are the highlight - so courteous and happy to serve. The small bar area is fun for an evening drink - try the Aperol Spritz in order to keep your experience Italian! Staff recommendations for dinner on both nights were delicious.

Check out was simple, baggage storage never a problem. We had a great stay and if we return to Venice, this is absolutely a place we'd stay again. Thank you, Hotel Moresco.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms were very nice; don't be deterred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMorescoStaff, Direttore at Hotel Moresco, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear guest from New York,

thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we are pleased to know it was a wonderful one

Do not waste your time during check-in and check-out is one of our priorities because we know that you have made ​​a long journey and you do not see now explore our beautiful city.

Even the cleaning and breakfast are very important services for our guests and we lend much attention to them as to all the other services that we offer to our guests

When you want to return to Venice, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards
Bogdan Tanaskovic
Hotel Moresco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My husband booked this as a surprise get away. I was indeed surprised that he had actually splashed out on somewhere that looked so wonderful!
I read the reviews before going and I can just confirm these reviews.
This hotel is opulent in a tucked away position. The breakfasts were delicious as were the treats that were put out during happy hour.
The best thing about this hotel has got to be the staff. They were amazing. Always happy. Always eager to help. Friendly without being in your face.
All in all it made for a wonderful break in a magnificent city.
Book in, you'll not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMorescoStaff, Direttore at Hotel Moresco, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for the time you have spent to write your lovely review.

We are pleased that your husband, choosing our hotel Moresco,
managed to make a pleasant surprise to you.

Thank you again for the great review. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely
Bogdan Tanaskovic
Hotel Moresco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

There's not much to add to the extremely positive reviews of this hotel posted by others. Great location, lovely property, immaculately maintained etc. But above all, the service is superlative. The staff will do figurative back flips for their guests. In particular, we want to single out the sterling efforts of Lorenzo and Barbara. If we return to entice we will definitely stay at the Moresco again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMorescoStaff, Direttore at Hotel Moresco, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Judith,

thanks on behalf of all our staff including Barbara and Lorenzo.

We are very proud that we were able to meet your expectation.
I hope that in the future we can greet you again in Hotel Moresco.

Kind regards
Bogdan Tanaskovic
Hotel Moresco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I stayed here for one night. It is about 5 min walk from the bus station (and about 10 min walk from the train station.. train station is next to the bus station but separated but by a high bridge). I took the taxi from the airport and paid about Euro 75. I think it is better to take a bus (about 5 euro) as the taxi and bus stop at the same place. Its about 15 min ride from airport to the station by car (this is where all all cars and buses have to drop off passengers) After that it is a simple stroll along the river (cross one bridge). If you are carrying lots of luggage, you will need a porter.
Try to go Venice with minimal luggage. The taxi driver gave me direction to the hotel but he did not help me to the door (but it is easy to reach). I thought through other reviews the driver would help me to the door but it was not the case.
The hotel room felt new and very functional. I had my complimentary drink and the staff here were very helpful. They recommended good restaurants, and helped with restaurant bookings.
The best thing is the breakfast. I was up 7am and there was fresh ham, fresh fruits. The various bread tasted really nice as some were really fresh and warm.
We stayed on the ground floor room next to the garden so its very quiet.
Took us about 20 min stroll to the St Marco Rialto area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMorescoStaff, Direttore at Hotel Moresco, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear guest,

thanks for your review and for your nice words about our hotel.

Sorry for the little misunderstanding with the taxi driver, but from your description does not
I understand if the service with the machine was booked with us, or you took a regular taxi.
In any case, we apologize one oder time and we strive to improve the services offered
to our guest and information related to such services.

I hope that soon we will have the opportunity to personally greet you again in Venice.

Best regards
Bogdan Tanaskovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Happy and excited we crossed the doorstep of Hotel Moresco, and immediately we received a warm and friendly welcome. Both receptionists gave us an exceptionally welcome, and followed it up with taking us out into the backyard where we were served a glass of prosecco to make the check inn prosess nice..:) The room with a canal view was beautiful and very well equipped. We really appreciate the coffee machine, which made the moring even better. Breakfast is served in a lovely little breakfast room. It is not sumptuous, but everyting are of the highest quality and you can ordering eggs at the table if you want. I loved to come down to the breakfast room where the brekfast host welcomed us with a big "Buongiorno". Everybody was more then helpful with recommending restaurants and planning our city tour. It also important to say that the location was perfect for us. We walked to see all the big sights on the other side of the canal but we were happy to get back to the more "quiet" and less crowded streets and canals. The area aroun Moresco is very beautiful an you can easily reach all the main attractions but still keep a bit of the authentic Venice..Thank you Moresco for wonderful days.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with canal view, but the view was not that spectacular so next time I think I wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMorescoStaff, Direttore at Hotel Moresco, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear KjerstiK,

We were delighted to have you as our guest and to be able to welcome you to Hotel Moresco for your recent stay in Venice and so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and its services.

We would be delighted for an opportunity to welcome you once again in our hotel.

Cordiali saluti
Bogdan Tanaskovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in April for my birthday. As soon as we arrived (2 mins from bus station), we were met by the friendly staff and offered a complimentary drink (nice, large red wine!) and nibbles in their beautiful little garden. This was one of the reasons we'd picked this hotel (apart from being number 1 on TA). Lovely little retreat and great choice. Rooms were lovely with wifi and up to date equipment. This combined with fab choice of breakfast (including bacon and eggs, prosecco and fresh honey) is only 15 mins stroll from St Marco, Rialto etc. There's also a nice buffet put on about 6pm and an endless supply of their own choc!
Great time, highly recommend this oasis of a hotel to anyone vising Venice for a few days.

Room Tip: Book a room with a canal room, well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMorescoStaff, Direttore at Hotel Moresco, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Debu,

thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel, Hotel Moresco, with the other users.

I hope to welcome you soon in our hotel again.

Yours sincerely
Bogdan Tanaskovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Moresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moresco

Address: Sestiere Dorsoduro 3499, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Moresco 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Moresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Moresco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.