We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel - location, service outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Moresco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Moresco to your Saves list
Hotel Moresco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sestiere Dorsoduro 3499, 30123 Venice, Italy (San Croce)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 380 Hotels in Venice
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel - location, service outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

From the moment we entered, we were warmly greeted (genuinely) at Check-In and offered a welcome drink. The staff at this hotel are outstanding and it really makes you feel welcome.

The location is excellent - walking distance to the train station and in a quiet part of Venice well away from the Grand Canal (but within walking distance).

The rooms are beautifully appointed and so clean - I was very impressed at the cleanliness of the room from check in to check out. The shower has fun colored lighting, and the bed is super comfortable. Excellent pillows.

A bottle of Prosecco, as requested, was on ice in the room upon arrival.

The breakfast is delicious; again the staff are the highlight - so courteous and happy to serve. The small bar area is fun for an evening drink - try the Aperol Spritz in order to keep your experience Italian! Staff recommendations for dinner on both nights were delicious.

Check out was simple, baggage storage never a problem. We had a great stay and if we return to Venice, this is absolutely a place we'd stay again. Thank you, Hotel Moresco.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms were very nice; don't be deterred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMorescoStaff, Direttore at Hotel Moresco, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear guest from New York,

thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we are pleased to know it was a wonderful one

Do not waste your time during check-in and check-out is one of our priorities because we know that you have made ​​a long journey and you do not see now explore our beautiful city.

Even the cleaning and breakfast are very important services for our guests and we lend much attention to them as to all the other services that we offer to our guests

When you want to return to Venice, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards
Bogdan Tanaskovic
Hotel Moresco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    57
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
55
507
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My husband booked this as a surprise get away. I was indeed surprised that he had actually splashed out on somewhere that looked so wonderful!
I read the reviews before going and I can just confirm these reviews.
This hotel is opulent in a tucked away position. The breakfasts were delicious as were the treats that were put out during happy hour.
The best thing about this hotel has got to be the staff. They were amazing. Always happy. Always eager to help. Friendly without being in your face.
All in all it made for a wonderful break in a magnificent city.
Book in, you'll not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMorescoStaff, Direttore at Hotel Moresco, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for the time you have spent to write your lovely review.

We are pleased that your husband, choosing our hotel Moresco,
managed to make a pleasant surprise to you.

Thank you again for the great review. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely
Bogdan Tanaskovic
Hotel Moresco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

There's not much to add to the extremely positive reviews of this hotel posted by others. Great location, lovely property, immaculately maintained etc. But above all, the service is superlative. The staff will do figurative back flips for their guests. In particular, we want to single out the sterling efforts of Lorenzo and Barbara. If we return to entice we will definitely stay at the Moresco again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMorescoStaff, Direttore at Hotel Moresco, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Judith,

thanks on behalf of all our staff including Barbara and Lorenzo.

We are very proud that we were able to meet your expectation.
I hope that in the future we can greet you again in Hotel Moresco.

Kind regards
Bogdan Tanaskovic
Hotel Moresco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I stayed here for one night. It is about 5 min walk from the bus station (and about 10 min walk from the train station.. train station is next to the bus station but separated but by a high bridge). I took the taxi from the airport and paid about Euro 75. I think it is better to take a bus (about 5 euro) as the taxi and bus stop at the same place. Its about 15 min ride from airport to the station by car (this is where all all cars and buses have to drop off passengers) After that it is a simple stroll along the river (cross one bridge). If you are carrying lots of luggage, you will need a porter.
Try to go Venice with minimal luggage. The taxi driver gave me direction to the hotel but he did not help me to the door (but it is easy to reach). I thought through other reviews the driver would help me to the door but it was not the case.
The hotel room felt new and very functional. I had my complimentary drink and the staff here were very helpful. They recommended good restaurants, and helped with restaurant bookings.
The best thing is the breakfast. I was up 7am and there was fresh ham, fresh fruits. The various bread tasted really nice as some were really fresh and warm.
We stayed on the ground floor room next to the garden so its very quiet.
Took us about 20 min stroll to the St Marco Rialto area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMorescoStaff, Direttore at Hotel Moresco, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear guest,

thanks for your review and for your nice words about our hotel.

Sorry for the little misunderstanding with the taxi driver, but from your description does not
I understand if the service with the machine was booked with us, or you took a regular taxi.
In any case, we apologize one oder time and we strive to improve the services offered
to our guest and information related to such services.

I hope that soon we will have the opportunity to personally greet you again in Venice.

Best regards
Bogdan Tanaskovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg, Norway
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Happy and excited we crossed the doorstep of Hotel Moresco, and immediately we received a warm and friendly welcome. Both receptionists gave us an exceptionally welcome, and followed it up with taking us out into the backyard where we were served a glass of prosecco to make the check inn prosess nice..:) The room with a canal view was beautiful and very well equipped. We really appreciate the coffee machine, which made the moring even better. Breakfast is served in a lovely little breakfast room. It is not sumptuous, but everyting are of the highest quality and you can ordering eggs at the table if you want. I loved to come down to the breakfast room where the brekfast host welcomed us with a big "Buongiorno". Everybody was more then helpful with recommending restaurants and planning our city tour. It also important to say that the location was perfect for us. We walked to see all the big sights on the other side of the canal but we were happy to get back to the more "quiet" and less crowded streets and canals. The area aroun Moresco is very beautiful an you can easily reach all the main attractions but still keep a bit of the authentic Venice..Thank you Moresco for wonderful days.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with canal view, but the view was not that spectacular so next time I think I wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMorescoStaff, Direttore at Hotel Moresco, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear KjerstiK,

We were delighted to have you as our guest and to be able to welcome you to Hotel Moresco for your recent stay in Venice and so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and its services.

We would be delighted for an opportunity to welcome you once again in our hotel.

Cordiali saluti
Bogdan Tanaskovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in April for my birthday. As soon as we arrived (2 mins from bus station), we were met by the friendly staff and offered a complimentary drink (nice, large red wine!) and nibbles in their beautiful little garden. This was one of the reasons we'd picked this hotel (apart from being number 1 on TA). Lovely little retreat and great choice. Rooms were lovely with wifi and up to date equipment. This combined with fab choice of breakfast (including bacon and eggs, prosecco and fresh honey) is only 15 mins stroll from St Marco, Rialto etc. There's also a nice buffet put on about 6pm and an endless supply of their own choc!
Great time, highly recommend this oasis of a hotel to anyone vising Venice for a few days.

Room Tip: Book a room with a canal room, well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMorescoStaff, Direttore at Hotel Moresco, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Debu,

thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel, Hotel Moresco, with the other users.

I hope to welcome you soon in our hotel again.

Yours sincerely
Bogdan Tanaskovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We chose this hotel because of its great reviews on Tripadvisor. We weren't disappointed. Not particularly central but that's the joy of it. I think we discovered more of Venice by walking through numerous alleyways than we would have if we were in the thick of it. The welcome you get every time you walk back into the hotel or when you're on the way out is wonderful. We stayed in the Junior Suite on the 3rd floor. No views but the room is HUGE along with the en suite and spa bath. Breakfast out in the garden is lovely along with the numerous glasses of Prosecco we had after a long day. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Venice. It truly is a fantastic hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMorescoStaff, Direttore at Hotel Moresco, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Nicky,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hotel Moresco, and thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.

We will be waiting for your next visit and will do all our best to offer you a new great experience

Sincerely
Bogdan Tanaskovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Moresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moresco

Address: Sestiere Dorsoduro 3499, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 380 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Moresco 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Moresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Moresco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.